We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bargain in Scottsdale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scottsdale Camelback Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scottsdale Camelback Resort
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
283 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A bargain in Scottsdale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is NOT the Phoenician...but for the price we had a very comfortable stay. Our room was a studio with a loft. The place is dated, but very clean. The accomodations had a comfortable bed with a refrigerator, stove, and microwave in the room. The pool was big enough and it had a bar, music, lots of towels and a lot of sunshine. The people that work at the front desk were all friendly and helpful. It is down the street from the highend Fashion Mall and within walking distance to a hike up Camelback. The property is all time shares, but we were only staying for a part of a week and the price was affordable for Spring Break in the Southwest.
Wish they would change the scent of the cleaning fluid they used in the rooms, otherwise a nice stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MamaG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, Manager at Scottsdale Camelback Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    189
    62
    19
    15
See reviews for
284
209
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for seven nights.

Although the resort looks dated we could not fault the cleanliness and amenities of the Apartments and Grounds.

The room are exceptionally spacious with all you need for an extended stay.

We really enjoyed the Pool and the Tennis courts.

The resort is only a couple of minutes drive from Down Town Scottsdale or walkable in 10 to 15 minutes.

Hopefully will be staying again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KiddyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie W, Manager at Scottsdale Camelback Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you liked the resorts amenities, and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
167 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This resort is in a perfect location for a vacation in Scottsdale. You will find the beds super comfy, and the staff extra friendly. Our favorite resort activity was a prickly pear margarita pool-side followed by relaxation in the hot tub. This is a perfect spot for families. You will find many activites on-site to entertain all. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been in all of the rooms. Everyone single one is roomy, well kept and well decorated, very cozy. From the front desk, to the pool, to the management everyone greats you with a smile and is very helpful. The grille serves great food, not to mention you can pretty much walk to all the excitement that Downtown Scottsdale has to offer. If you're looking to overpay for hype, this is not the place. If you want a great room with a great location and amenities, then go to Scottsdale Camelback Resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I booked through AA using AAdvantage miles; when it came time to check out they acted like I was paying with Confederate dollars. I showed the voucher when I checked in (late at night) so I assumed all was well. The real irritant was the desk didn't want to try and resolve the problem with AA, that was my problem. It got worked out, thanks to the helpful people at the AA travel desk but it highlights the lack of service this place offers overall.

The first place you need to go after you check in is a grocery store. There are no dining options other than the pool side grill, and it doesn't open until 8 AM. Not even coffee in the lobby. Also, the property is not located within walking distance of anything so you either bring it in the unit, or get in the car.

As the desk reminded me several times, this is a "time-share" and not a hotel. Thanks.

We had the studio which was well-built and comfortable. They combine the living area and the open king-bed area for TV purposes so if you like to watch TV in bed this doesn't work. Nice bathroom with whirlpool, well lit, water was hot and lighting was good. There is a queen bed in the loft area with a small wall mounted TV, but no bathroom.

Wifi was free but I could never get a strong enough signal in my unit to do any good.

As mentioned in other reviews, this is a nice place for what it is. Maybe its my fault for not doing my homework but the normal conveniences of the modern travel world have passed this place by. Not having a dining room is ok, but free breakfast, decent wifi and maybe a stocked mini-mart in the lobby are pretty much basic these days. This property is the Scottsdale of 30 years ago, not the one today with so many new resorts with all the bells and whistles, for about the same pricing.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get the 1 bedroom unit over the studio even if you are travleing solo or as a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank theWimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The resort is in a prime location!
It is near Old Town , restaurants and other attractions. If you don't want to leave the property, you can eat onsite at The Grille. There is the beautiful view of the mountain. For those that like to hike ... The trail is in walking distance. Sara and the rest of the front desk staff were great! Actually all the staff was friendly and helpful.
Gerry was wonderful (concierge )! They gave a welcome mtg to let you know about various tours and activities !
The size of the villas is wonderful! There is plenty of room for our family of 4 to spread out . We could spend time together or do our own thing and there was plenty of space for both. You definitely got the feel of Arizona from the decor. I would definitely recommend this to everyone! There is even a kokopelli trail on site to walk or run .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bootravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
300 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

On Camelback Road about 1/2 mile from Fashion Square and Old Town, great location for restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing.

We had a studio unit with a bit of an unusual layout. The kitchen, bathroom, living area, and a king bed sleeping area were on the main floor; the second floor had a sleeping area with two beds and a small balcony. The arrangement would work well for a family but might be a bit crowded for two couples. The kitchen was nicely appointed with a small refrigerator, cooking surface, microwave, coffee maker, and toaster. A small washer/dryer combo also. The living area is separated from the sleeping area by a pull drape, reminded me of a hospital suite. Wood burning fireplace, flat screen TV, and a small iPod compatible stereo.

Unit was clean when we arrived and maid service re-freshed on Wednesday. Tub is a Jacuzzi unit with one of those anemic water-saver shower heads.

Bed was very comfortable. Thermostat is upstairs which is a bit inconvenient and the a/c seems to turn on and off a lot. LIghting was good for reading in bed and was excellent in the bathroom for doing makeup.

Front desk staff was very helpful and all the staff were friendly and welcoming. We had a light bulb out in the kitchen and it was replaced within a half hour of my reporting it. Nice pool area with an adjacent grill and restaurant, full gym by the spa downstairs and neither seemed to be used much. There is a walking trail through the property; it's not very scenic but does allow you to walk off the main roads.

No resort fee but wi-fi in the room is $5 a day; free computer access in the lobby. The concierge was helpful and knowledgeable and our only issue was that one set of directions we were giiven was incorrect.

Room Tip: Our room was B29, directly across the drive from the pool, ice machine, and lobby. Very quiet and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 65oski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
4.5 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#2 of 79 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 79 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,351 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
10.0 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
1.3 mi away
FireSky Resort & Spa
FireSky Resort & Spa
#19 of 79 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottsdale Camelback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Camelback Resort

Property: Scottsdale Camelback Resort
Address: 6302 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1997
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#27 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scottsdale Camelback Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Groupon, Vacatia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scottsdale Camelback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Camelback Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing