We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scottsdale Camelback Resort
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Exchanged a week through RCI. We stayed in a 2 bedroom and the unit was comfortable for 6 of us. The kids played mini golf and swam in the pool. We found that the sound of the heat coming on during the night was loud- so loud that it woke a few of us up multiple times each night. We were located in a unit at the back of the property and found it to be very quiet. One big negative involved the internet. You had to pay $5 a day for the wifi and after we did we found that it was only good for one device. In a time when everyone has devices that need wifi it could get a little pricey! My parents had stayed here 5 years ago and were surprised with all of the fees that had been introduced- wifi, movie admission, club card. Location was convenient to visiting the Phoenix area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank duchesssunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    243
    87
    22
    18
See reviews for
382
284
38
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were so pleased with this hotel. We had a two bedroom suite, and it was perfect. We loved having two full baths, perfect for our family of four, with two teenage boys. The staff was very friendly, and we had a great guide for the Camelback hike. Convenient location for exploring Scottsdale. Would definitely recommend this to anyone who needs more than just a hotel room!

Room Tip: We had an end unit. Very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Exchanged a week through RCI over Christmas week. Overall a very nice experience. Great location boarder of Scottsdale & Phoenix. Had the studio loft which had obviously been recently updated. Had everything we needed. Used the tennis courts almost every day. Hiked Camelback Mountain - very close to trailhead. Poolside restaurant very casual with good food. Pool area nice to lounge and read in the sun. Nice small gym. Did not use the spa. Staff very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed at the Scottsdale Camelback Resort on 3 seperate occasions, booking through our Royal Holiday vacation club. We have had a 2 bedroom once and a studio twice. Both rooms gave us plenty of room, furnished kitchens and comfortable accommodations. The rooms are in need of some updates, but overall, we find this to be a wonderful place to stay. The restaurant cooks up some delicious foods, the staff at bar and grille out by the pool are friendly. The front desk staff always greeted us with a smile and asked how we were enjoying our stay. We look forward to more vacations here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pbrookshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked our 7 night stay through our Royal Holiday vacation club. Our room was a Seville, (A14), which slept 6, but we only had 4 so we had plenty of room, especially with the 2 full baths. The kitchen was adequately furnished and guests could request a toaster oven, crock pot, electric fry pan, etc., if needed. The washer/dryer was wonderful, although it was a bit small. No big deal, just more loads. There is only one restaurant on the premises, which I found a bit disappointing, but we ate there a couple of times and it was decent and prices were reasonable. The heated pool was amazing! We took advantage of several morning aquatics classes, which were very good. There are also other activities available, such as mini golf, putting green, tennis courts, volleyball, corn hole, etc. There is also a kiddie pool. We did not use the spa services, so i cannot speak to those. The hot tub is huge and easily seats 10 to 12 people, but thankfully we never had that many. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The grounds are meticulously maintained. We would have no hesitation in returning to this resort in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the facility, away from Camelback Road, which can be very busy and noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GennasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern traveler
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Loved this place for a little quiet time. The room was just ok, dated and in need of renovation!
The staff at this hotel makes up for the dated room! Great front desk staff, extremely accommodating and pleasant! Restaurants were fantastic in every way. Breakfast buffet was excellent, as was the order off the menu meal and service was exceptional!!! Steak house was outstanding the first night, but service the second was not great. Peter was a little distracted by another party and appeared to forget we were there! Starbucks on site, very friendly and efficient. The valet staff could use a little attention, inattentive and a bit lazy it seemed. Overall the stay was excellent and will be our go to resort when in Scottsdale!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pamatchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This RCI "Extra" vacation was GREAT for 3 of us on an annual get-together, we each had our own bedroom, a great living area for watching DVD's on the flat panel TV, and the huge dining room table was well lit - perfect for games.

The downstairs bedroom had a small full bathroom to use, upstairs bedrooms shared a nice size "jack and jill" style bathroom with 2 sinks, separate tub/shower area and separate commode. A little plus that no one really made use of, the downstairs bedroom had a tiny LCD tv and the master upstairs a big tube TV.

A nice surprise - furniture, carpets, everything but the kitchen appliances looked practically new! Beds and bedding very comfortable. The decor fit the style of the units. This time of year (mid-October) we opened up all the windows after sunset for perfect temperature inside without the AC on. We had the ceiling fan in the living room, dining room and upstairs stair well on all the time. At night had to close the twin bedroom window due to being a light sleeper, but a huge stand up fan found in the downstairs coat closet provided air circulation.

The poolside bar service made this a real "resort" experience with reasonable prices for fun cocktails like mango colada and appetizers and food. Happy Hour specials 3 - 6.

The only negative about the week - the pool was closed for maintenance while they replaced the railings the last 2 days of our stay. On these days we visited the Phoenix Art Museum (free after 3 on Wednesday) and the Scottsdale Museum of Contemporary Art (free after noon on Thursday).

The resort location can't be beat, downtown Scottsdale is close and has lots of great restaurants with Happy Hour prices for small plates or sushi to make an inexpensive meal, check out RA and Stingray Sushi.

We all enjoyed the condo and had a great time in the pool area at the resort - wouldn't hesitate to come back with the ladies again!

Room Tip: 3 bedroom unit C19 was a good location, Invergordon is the street across from the unit's front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ttips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,464 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottsdale Camelback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Camelback Resort

Property: Scottsdale Camelback Resort
Address: 6302 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1997
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#27 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scottsdale Camelback Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scottsdale Camelback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Camelback Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing