We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AIr conditioner had a continuous leak keeping the carpet...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town
Ranked #38 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Scottsdale
1 review
“AIr conditioner had a continuous leak keeping the carpet...”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

AIr conditioner had a continuous leak keeping the carpet damp for a two foot radius. Pool had no shading from the sun. Staff were great - very friendly & helpful. Room was good for the price (except the wet carpet).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Howard Johnson Scottsdale. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    314
    153
    59
    24
See reviews for
199
235
89
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed here for two nights, and was pleasantly surprised by some aspects. Those that I found less pleasing (with one exception) did not detract from my stay. First the hotel is in a great location, across the street from Old Town and down the street from the arts district and 5th Ave shopping district. In cooler weather it would be within walking distance of almost everything including many good restaurants, bars and shops. The room was attractively furnished albeit showing some signs of wear. The AC was efficient and the beds very comfortable. Not large but I was more than satisfied. The Manager Kristy is pleasant, helpful and professional but the Evening and night shift seemed bored and occasionally bordered on the unfriendly. When I complained about the wifi not working early in the AM the night clerk responded that it "worked in the office" Housekeeping was somewhat spotty and I did notice that the BR counter was not wiped down. All this said the rate was more than reasonable and I would consider staying there again. I was somewhat annoyed that the wifi was out most of my stay, but since this was the providers fault I can hardly blame the hotel. But it was a bummer.

Room Tip: I found my room, which was near the street quiet, but fussy travelers might want to ask for a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PARIS182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am so glad that your overall stay was a pleasant one. I do apologize about the problems incurred with our wifi during your time with us. The area had experienced a monsoon storm during that time that according to our provider had caused some outages to the surrounding area We look forward to your next stay with us..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

It's useful to be able to park your car right in front of your room, as is possible here, and the standard of the rooms is good, with free wi-fi and a pool at the back. The staff could at times have been more friendly and helpful, but otherwise the hotel is adequate if you are just passing through. It's handy both for Scottsdale and Phoenix and for Bernard's Bistro, which we recommend for an evening meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at HOJO Scottsdale. I am pleased to hear that the hotel was a convenient location to all your activities in Scottsdale. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Best Western Plus Sundial
#32 of 75 in Scottsdale
632 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town

Property: Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town
Address: 7110 E Indian School Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Old Town Scottsdale, our Howard Johnson Scottsdale, AZ, hotel is just minutes from famed restaurants, nightlife, premiere shopping and casinos. Our 100% non-smoking, recently renovated hotel is near Arizona State University as well as many major businesses and corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Old Town Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Rodeway Inn Scottsdale
Scottsdale Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing