We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel could be great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town
Ranked #38 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Reviewed November 14, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank LJS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 836 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank JENNIFER S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank ROYCE M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Scottsdale for easy access to great bars, restaurants, shops, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank MATT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you so much for your review of the Howard Johnson Scottsdale. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank grobert8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights in October. I actually had a room booked elsewhere and after reading bad reviews on it I cancelled and found a comparably-priced room here. I'm so glad I did! From check-in to check-out, it was a great experience. Everyone was so friendly to us, from the women at the front desk, to the maintenance man, to the housekeepers. We stayed in a second floor room with a king bed. It was so clean! I wish I had thought to take photos because I know how helpful other travelers photos were to me on this site when I was researching. I must say that the motel's photos that they have provided are very realistic to what you get, unlike some other hotels in that price range.

The location is fantastic if you are looking to check out Old Town Scottsdale -- a very quick and easy walk. The mall is also pretty close if that's your thing.

Downsides: the pool was out of service. Not a big deal as we weren't traveling with kids and managed to keep ourselves busy with day trips, but a minor annoyance nonetheless. By the time the end of the week rolled around and we were exhausted, a dip in a pool would have been nice.

We had to hunt down more toiletries and extra cups. You would think when guests are staying for a week that the housekeeping staff would take a quick glance at those items to see if they need to be replaced, but no. Yes, it was easy enough to pop into the office for replacements, but this is the hospitality business we're talking about -- those little touches are so simple and appreciated, and the unfortunate absence of those little touches is noticed and remembered.

The shower sprays through the sheer shower curtain fabric. Not over. Not under. Not around. Through.

The breakfast leaves something to be desired. It's perfectly acceptable food, just very few selections. But that's just me nitpicking.

The fitted sheets need deeper pockets. It was annoying to wake up half on the mattress in the morning because the sheet had slipped off the corner of the bed during the night.

The pillows are way too fat and firm. Overall, the bed was nice and luxe and deliciously comfy, but the awkwardly large pillows aren't helpful.

Let's end this on a good note: overall, our stay was fantastic. I feel we really lucked out with a clean room, friendly staff, and awesome location for the price that we paid. My boyfriend commented multiple times during our stay and during our travels home that he was impressed with my find. My friend and her two young children stayed there for a couple nights at the beginning of our stay, and she too was impressed with her large two bed room for the price.

Bottom line: when we travel to Phoenix again, if the Scottsdale HoJo keeps doing what they're doing and the prices stay comparable, we will absolutely make that "our place" and we will continue to stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosaltonmytail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for the review of your stay. I am pleased to hear that overall your stay was a good one. The pool should be open again by mid November and available for guest use. Thank you for also bringing some of the housekeeping issues to my attention. Rest assured I address these with the staff and rectify them immediately. We hope that when you return to Scottsdale you will definetely make the Howard Johnson's "Your Place".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank KIMBERLY A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Comfort Suites Old Town
#56 of 75 in Scottsdale
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 Palms Hotel
#37 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,582 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town

Address: 7110 E Indian School Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $71 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Old Town Scottsdale, our Howard Johnson Scottsdale, AZ, hotel is just minutes from famed restaurants, nightlife, premiere shopping and casinos. Our 100% non-smoking, hotel is near Arizona State University as well as many major businesses and corporations. Sleep soundly in your comfortable hotel room, complete with a microwave, refrigerator, 37-inch flat-screen HD TV and free high-speed wireless Internet access, then wake to our complimentary continental breakfast and take a dip in our heated outdoor pool. Ask our friendly, about our two-room suites or deluxe king and two-double bed rooms. Kids 17 and under stay free at our Scottsdale hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Old Town Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Rodeway Inn Scottsdale
Scottsdale Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing