We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful long weekend trip for our anniversary”
Review of Orange Tree Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orange Tree Resort
Ranked #51 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We used a Groupon to spend a long weekend for our anniversary. Wonderful trip! Wonderful stay! We would go again and have recommended this resort to others.
Staff was very courteous, helpful and friendly. Couldn't ask for more from them.
We didn't take pictures to post because it looks like the pictures you already see on this site. Yes, its an old resort and is being readied to update units. But we had flat screen TV's, the unit was kept up well and very clean.
Lots of upscale touches--two sinks in the bathroom, large jetted tube in unit, quality windows with blinds in between the panes, granite counters, DVD player with DVD's available at desk, beds were VERY comfortable....
Yep the sofa was purple. Not a problem. It wasn't a glaring, glow in the dark color and added a splash of color to the unit. And it was very comfortable and clean--far more important than the color.
We read on other reviews that the parking is not close to units. Very true. We went knowing that. And at check in, we were asked if we wanted to be close to parking or to the pool. We asked for the pool and got a 1st floor unit between the pool and golf course. Our patio overlooked the golf course (NOT a parking lot!!) Yep it took 6 minutes to walk to the front desk--we got our exercise. Although honestly, we weren't there to visit the front desk! And at check in and check out, the bell desk shuttled us and our suitcases to & from our unit and car. We could also call for a shuttle if we didn't want to walk at other times--we did not do so.
The resort is in Scottsdale right on the edge of Paradise Valley--located in more of a residential area than business area--very nice area with shops and restaurants close by.
We used the pool and hot tub (one out by pool, not in our room). Was clean and comfortable temp.
Another reviewer asked for wine glasses. We had wine glasses in our unit. So the resort listens! (Or that one unit was missing the wine glasses)
We don't golf so can't comment on the golf course conditions. We did see quite a few people on the course though.
This is a vacation club resort. So they did invite us to a presentation. We decided to go as we are not familiar with Shell Vacations. We did not purchase. The salesman was of course hoping for a sale, but stayed professional, friendly and courteous. He did not get overly pushy. We appreciated that. His sales manager was rude and a bit of a jerk. But you don't have to go to the presentations when asked--though the gifts for attending are inviting.

Room Tip: ask for something away from parking and get a golf course view if you can--very peaceful and pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce H, Resort Manager at Orange Tree Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Barb M,

First, Happy Anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We really appreciated hearing all the kind things you had to say about our resort, especially our guest rooms. Yes, parking can be a challenge, but our Bell Services staff is available to assist our guests and we are happy to hear they were helpful to you when needed. We strive to exceed our guest expectations during every interaction, so we were disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience with our Sales Manager. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate staff.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 590 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

If anyone had something bad to say about this place I don't know how ...... I had an amazing stay in an amazing room.... Spacious .... Clean..... Over the top.... I just stayed in one of the nicer rooms in Cesar's palace in Las Vegas and it did not compare in the slightest to orange tree..... The staff from the front desk to the maids to the security and maintenance was above and beyond what I had expected..... I had an amazing stay with my girlfriend and we will be going back. More than worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce H, Resort Manager at Orange Tree Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Josh P,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are always happy to hear any feedback our guests provide us with, but especially enjoy those that really enjoyed their stay!

We look forward to having you visit again soon!

Sincerely,
Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff makes this resort! Everyone was very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The 1 bedroom condo was pleasantly decorated, the beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was large with separate shower and tub and double sinks - all very clean. Would like to have had some wine glasses! The patio area, we stayed in #205 right off the #1 green, was small and didn't have a light or ceiling fan so wasn't of much use to us. The walkway to our condo collected water after rain and didn't have proper drainage so we had to call the front desk and ask for a broom to sweep away - a person came and took care of the problem. The sidewalk areas were in need of sweeping the entire time we were there - the grounds didn't look clean like the inside of the condo. We were disappointed that there wasn't some type of small convenience store on property, only vending machines for soda/water. The only restaurant had very limited hours and appeared to only cater to the golfers at the resort. The pool area was a huge disappointment as it was just a big pool - it had no character and wasn't inviting.
I would not stay here again only because it just didn't offer a relaxing atmosphere. The staff are the glowing asset at this property.

Room Tip: Room #205 was on the #1 tee box, which we found to be fun watching everyone tee off in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaphillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce H, Resort Manager at Orange Tree Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear vaphillis,

Thank you for your review of our property. We sincerely appreciate your input and comments in regards to your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed some of the features of your guest suite and we are ecstatic to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations. However, we certainly regret that we didn’t meet your expectations in other areas. We apologize that the rain, while welcome in Arizona, brought unexpected complications. We pride ourselves on the appearance of our grounds, and it is disappointing that we fell short in this area during your visit. Plans are currently in place to improve some of the areas you mentioned, including the pool. We hope that friendly service and our pool renovation will bring you back and we'll become your favorite place for a relaxing getaway.

Warmest Regards,
Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for a quick overnight girls weekend. We arrived early and they promptly placed us in our room. Pool area was average, nice large space although the water was warm. Rooms are decent size, great bathroom and a nice if somewhat rundown patio. Beds were super comfy and the room space perfect for relaxing and eating in. Full sized fridge and nice kitchenette. Loved that they were okay with us bringing our cooler of drinks to the pool. Loved the garden and the sign to help yourself! Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ainofea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The first thing I noticed upon driving up to the resort is that the main lobby and adjacent out buildings desperately need updating, painting and repair. The grounds are well shaded but old with patches of dirt where grass or landscaping rock should be. Note that this is a Shell Vacation owned time share and not, strictly speaking a hotel. There is no hotel and no restaurant onsite but a limited service bar/golfer's clubhouse serving lite sandwiches and food during limited hours. No room service. No Pay Per View movies (they have a nice selection of free DVDs to borrow). Limited parking. No kitchen soap, paper towels, etc. Time share vacationers should be prepared to stock everything but dinner ware. "Hotel" visitors will be pleasantly surprised to have a functional kitchenette with dishes, full size fridge and microwave (no cooktop or oven).
Orange Tree is an older property and shows it's age everywhere but the room accomodations. The suites are tastefully decorated and very clean. The beds are of excellent qualiity. The bath is huge with double vanity and two person whirlpool tub with walk-in shower. For the price, one would be hard pressed to find nicer rooms.
Parking is more than an issue. It is a problem you should consider if walking distances is difficult for you or you have a lot of bags (walk can be as much as 1/4 to 1/3 mile). While the front desk will tell you that bellman and carts are available to drive one where they want, often the bellmen are busy and the wait interminable. To avoid having to schlep heavy bags long distances or hassle with long walks to the out buildings, ask for buildiing 1 or 2. To be close to the pool, ask for buildings 4 and 5. You must ask for a golf course view - delightful.
The pool area needs an upgrade. The lounge chairs are dated and uncomfortable. The cool decking appears to be old cement and is cracked. There is no bar or food service available or phone to use to call in an order. There is a ping pong table and towel service. This was disappointing for a property billing itself as a resort.
We did not golf but the course appeared to be in good shape. I noticed that $20 got one a round of golf and cart after 3 pm and a steak dinner in the clubhouse. Can't beat that.
For the price, the accommodations cannot be beat. Rooms are very large, front desk and staff helpful. Only staff problem was an exceedingly rude bar tender - easily ignored. Another nice bonus was the 12 pm late checkout - generous, and the ability to pay $10 an hour after checkout if one needs the room a bit longer.
I recommend The Orange Tree for an affordable golf getaway but extended stays may be complicated by parking logistics and an absence of non-golf activities. Not recommended for those with trouble walking or who have a lot of bags to carry.

Room Tip: Choose golf course view in buildings 1 and 2. Top floor to avoid thumping and noise below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clever7981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Our 2nd time staying. Very clean and rooms nicely decorated. The rooms are big. perfect for a family. The staff is so helpful and friendly. Very good value. We will be back the next time we are in Scottsdale.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay6954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at the Orange Tree for the first time for a night away. The rooms are spacious, though the furnishings in the bedroom are lacking (I understand they are redoing the rooms next year). The bed is very comfy. The location is very residential and quiet, but you are just a mile away from wonderful shops and restaurants. The service was great! Don't be mislead by the price....it is a great value!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,498 reviews
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#35 of 75 in Scottsdale
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Desert Oasis
#8 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,004 reviews
Scottsdale Links Resort
#53 of 75 in Scottsdale
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tree Resort

Address: 10601 N 56th St, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-4807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#43 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $121 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orange Tree Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in what was once an orange grove, the Orange Tree Resort is one of Arizona's finest luxury golf vacation destinations. Unwind in luxuriously appointed guest suites featuring Tempur-pedic Sleep System Beds and a two-person whirlpool tub to relax in. When you are ready to venture out in the Scottsdale area be ready to experience anything from great shopping, art museums and the Phoenix Zoo. Not to mention the majestic Grand Canyon is a mere day trip away. In a setting that combines the first class amenities of a fine golf resort and the ambiance of a country club, The Orange Tree Resort is the ideal destination for intimate getaways, family vacations, golf outings, and special events in Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Orange Tree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Tree Golf Hotel Scottsdale
Orange Tree Hotel
Orange Tree Golf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing