We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort, great outdoor atmosphere, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orange Tree Golf Resort
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice resort, great outdoor atmosphere, good value”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've stayed for both business and pleasure at this resort and played golf. The outside atmosphere between the bar/restaurant and the golf course is attractive, lots of room to sit and meet and drink, but the bar closes at 7:30pm. The resort has struggled for a while with the food service/bar etc. and it appears unknown to locals completely which is a shame. The rooms - like small apartments are great, clean, big bathrooms with jacuzzi tub, beds are in a separate room with doors and the kitchenette is good. Depending on where you stay, it can be a 'haul' to your room but there are always guys/carts who will drive you to the room. The major downer is the lack of a social bar/restaurant. It primarily caters to the golfers so after dark it's not used much and thus closes at 7:30pm. I had great service this trip however, from the barman, personal service and alerted me to being able to stay in the bar after 7:30 as a place to sit and watch tv if I wished. Overall, will always recommend it.

Room Tip: The farther you walk, or get driven, to your room the less likely you are to have golfers getting re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanK0880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce H, Resort Manager at Orange Tree Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear JanK0880,

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on your recent visit with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here despite the limited food and beverage hours. I am happy to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations and provided you with the level of service we are known for.

We hope to see you again sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    188
    107
    36
    16
See reviews for
136
254
41
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

i stayed here for a wedding, and we had a good time. the room was very nice, with a whirl pool tub and fridge and microwave. only 2 issues, one is if your room is on the far end of the resort, you have a long walk ahead of you. but the hotel has a service that will come pick you up and drive you to your car or to the lobby, so that was really nice. lastly they did not turn on the ac till we got in the room, and its arizona so it was really hot. so maybe you can call ahead and ask them to crank up the ac, so it will be cool when you get there. Overall it a nice place, we had a good time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank politebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce H, General Manager at Orange Tree Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear politebat,

Thank you taking the time to share your review! I'm sorry to hear that the AC was not on upon your entrance to your suite. I will be sure to forward this to our staff, as this is not typical of our procedures. I'm glad to hear you had a good time during your stay, and hope we get a chance to welcome you back to Orange Tree soon.

Sincerely,
Bruce Hamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson,az
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed fir 5 nights. Upon arrival late Friday we were greeted by a very happy checkin. The bell hop was very friendly and loaded our stuff and took us to our room.
The room was very clean and the beds were so comfortable. We stayed in building #7 and it was very quiet. It is a short walk , 5 minutes to the parking, or call for bell hop. My husband walked every time I used the bell hop several times, which when you call will be there quickly.

The DVD player wouldn't open I called front desk, 5 minutes later they sent someone with replacement. I received a phone call to make sure it was working shortly after he left. We have stayed at star resorts in area and based on our stay Orange Tree was just as nice and much less.

We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay6954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce H, General Manager at Orange Tree Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Kay6954,

Thank you so much for your positive review! I'm pleased to hear you had a warm welcome by our staff and our rooms were comfortable. I can't wait to share your kind words to our staff. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Have a great day,
Bruce Hamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Parking is a big problem! We had to park somewhere near the check-in desk and hail a cab. Actually, they have a series of golf carts that will shuttle you back and forth. So it is a bit of an inconvenience.
The location is perfect! -Easy access to many of the freeways and close to several grocery stores.
The room was clean and comfortable, however the purple sofa was kind of a shock. Overall the room was sparse with furnishings. The room was fairly large, but only had Sofa and two small chairs around a small round table and could be much more comfortable with a few more chairs. It was clearly decorated on the cheap!
Bathroom was nice and clean with a full walk in shower and Jacuzzi tub.
Word of note….if you have lots of electronics (camera, phones, computers etc.), be sure to bring a power strip. We found that the number of outlets was seriously lacking. To use the iron, we had to unplug the toaster / coffee maker.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce H, General Manager at Orange Tree Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear djl79,

Thank you for sharing your review. I'm sorry to hear that you had challenges with our parking. However I'm excited to announce that we will be updgrading our furniture in our suites next year which will include a bigger dining table with 4 chairs, larger tvs and also bedside lamps with multiple outlets. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back at Orange Tree in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Bruce Hamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a Friday a d our room was not ready. This was no big deal at all. We went to the bar for "Happy Hour" to get some drinks. Draft beer was on special, however they did not have working taps. Not a problem, just got mixed drinks. Shortly after our room was ready. Parking is a HUGE problem here. We had to lug our luggage across the resort because the parking is nowhere close to the guest rooms. We unpacked and went to relax at the pool. There was no bar, no water, no food, nothing. So that was disappointing. If we wanted anything we had to return to our room or bring stuff with us. But, since its summer in Arizona, anything extra got too hot. So, we did not spend too much time at the pool. Which was what my husband and I wanted to do this weekend. The grounds are very pretty and the rooms are nice. We would not stay here again. Parking and lack of amenities really left us disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hethscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce H, General Manager at Orange Tree Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Hethscar,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I'm disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Our bell men are available for guests who need rides to their suites. As far as lack of food/drink service at our pool, we are working diligently on being able to provide those options for our guests. Hopefully you give us a second chance to impress you on your next visit.

With Gratitude,
Bruce Hamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just had a great stay at the Orange Tree Resort in Scottsdale. The one bedroom suite had a large living room, bedroom and the bathroom was very large also. My only wish was that there was a stove top and oven for preparing meals. There is a full size refrigerator and microwave. However, if you wanted to make a grilled cheese sandwich, there's no stove for such an endeavour. The staff is friendly though and gave me a couple bottled waters to beat the heat. We had a room overlooking the golf course, yet it was very quiet. Beautiful views of the green and nice waterfalls. The room was quiet, could not hear a thing except in the bathroom when someone in the next unit turn on the water but hey it's a hotel so that is to be expected.

The suite came with a Tempur-pedic bed and it was very comfortable. Nice robes in the bathroom along with a two person jacuzzi -- very nice indeed. There's an onsite restaurant, yet I did not try it, I went to a Shell Vacations time share spiel and received a free lunch and dinner. Shell owns the resort. The room, however, was very close to parking and there were plenty of spots even though it was the holiday weekend. I was in the very first building. Although I ran into a lady in for a family reunion who stated she had to walk five minutes to get the parking lot. As a side note, I didn't care for the Scottsdale area being so crowded over the holiday weekend. Drivers, drivers and more drivers. Geesh it looked like rush hour traffic most of the day until around 7:00pm at night even on a Sunday. I guess it is just a busy area. However, Orange Tree is in a great location away from traffic and I had a restful getaway, peaceful and tranquil. The staff and guests seemed genuinely friendly. The Orange Tree has class. Yes indeed, it is a very classy place to stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room near parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Epitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce H, General Manager at Orange Tree Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Epitrav,

Thank you very much for your positive and thorough review! I'm sorry to hear that our limited kitchen didn't meet your expecations. For future reference, we do have some portable skillets available upon request at our front desk. I'm pleased to hear you were happy with the location of your suite and our resort, and look forward to seeing you back here at Orange Tree in the near future.

With Gratitude,
Bruce Hamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were treated with exceptional hospitality. The room was very spacious and clean. Free wifi which was a nice bonus however it doesn't work at the pool.
Great location for all kinds of dining and shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ-Priddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce H, General Manager at Orange Tree Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear CJ-Priddis,

Thank you for your five star review! I'm pleased to hear that you were impressed by our exceptional service. Please come visit us again on your next visit to Scottsdale.

Sincerely,
Bruce Hamm
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
5.1 mi away
Scottsdale Links Resort
Scottsdale Links Resort
#54 of 75 in Scottsdale
481 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Sheraton Desert Oasis
#7 of 75 in Scottsdale
930 reviews
3.3 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#35 of 75 in Scottsdale
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Scottsdale Villa Mirage
Scottsdale Villa Mirage
#46 of 75 in Scottsdale
419 reviews
14.3 mi away
Legacy Golf Resort
Legacy Golf Resort
#49 of 174 in Phoenix
618 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tree Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tree Golf Resort

Property: Orange Tree Golf Resort
Address: 10601 N 56th St, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-4807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#43 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orange Tree Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in what was once an orange grove, the Orange Tree Golf Resort is one of Arizona's finest luxury golf vacation destinations. Unwind in luxuriously appointed guest suites featuring Tempur-pedic Sleep System Beds and a two-person whirlpool tub to relax in. When you are ready to venture out in the Scottsdale area be ready to experience anything from great shopping, art museums and the Phoenix Zoo. Not to mention the majestic Grand Canyon is a mere day trip away. In a setting that combines the first class amenities of a fine golf resort and the ambiance of a country club, The Orange Tree Golf Resort is the ideal destination for intimate getaways, family vacations, golf outings, and special events in Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Vacatia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orange Tree Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Tree Golf Hotel Scottsdale
Orange Tree Hotel
Orange Tree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing