We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

Coming to the US for just a week & after 3 nights in Las Vegas we needed a bit of rest and thats exactly what we got.
We found everything about this resort fantastic the grounds and pools were really nice and the food and service in the restaurant was execptional.
The hotel was very quiet and the level of service was high.
Had a great room overlooking a lawned area facing the tennis courts / gym area.This room was a great location but i think there were lots of these "court" areas some overlooking ponds or lakes as well.Room had good facilities including good air con and a massive television.
A great break and i would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,594
    661
    202
    108
    52
See reviews for
804
683
104
641
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brutus
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

I stayed here a number of years ago and am just now updating a lot of my travels on TA. BUT this one stands out among my memories and I am sure the grounds MUST still be as lovely. Overall lovely hotel although I thought the room was rather small for this type of resort. The food was excellent as was the spa. The common areas of the hotel were beautiful and the gondola ride was fun. But the highlight was the pools with waterfalls and the amazing flowers and palms on the grounds. Truly paradise for a hotel not on an island somewhere.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcalmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New River, AZ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

I took my wife to the Hyatt Regency Scottsdale for her birthday last weekend where we shared the ultimate resort experience. Our accomodations were exceptional, our dinner at Alto was fantastic, and the service, nothing but four star. Our waiter Brandon was awesome, professional, and a pleasure. He presented my wife with a wonderful birthday cake which was homemade and delicious. What a treat!
The resort grounds are magnificent, the pool is great, and our room was awesome.
i would highly recommend staying at the Hyatt Regency Scottsdale if you are looking for the ultimate resort experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcibik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Stayed 6-nights in Aug, 4th trip to Scottsdale, first at the Hyatt.

The main reasons we chose this hotel was because of its location in the city and the fact that they’re completely done all their renovations. Here are some recommendations:

1. The Regency Club upgrade ($50 per night) is worth every penny. You get a solid breakfast, snacks and non-alcoholic drinks all day, an upgraded room location and full access to the spa. Your guest room has a fridge and the Regency Club has a microwave, so it’s great for reheating left-over’s for lunch.

2. The pool menu is limited, but the food is very good. Alto is very reasonably priced for a higher-end (Italian) restaurant and includes a gondola ride.

3. The guest rooms are small and drawer space is limited, but the bed, furnishings and bathroom amenities are very nice. Spotlessly clean.

4. If the sound of kids having fun bothers you, then stick to the adult pool; and if that’s not far enough, try the spa pool. Getting a lounge chair was not an issue during the low season, but I can imagine it getting competitive during peak times of the year.

5. The bike rentals are great (free), but before riding off, make sure your tires are full of air and seat is tight enough to stay in position during the whole ride.

6. There is a deli/restaurant/wine bar within walking distance (5 min) called “Kitchen” that is great for picking up food and drinks of all kinds. Don’t bother going in the Village Wine Cellar in the same plaza because they’re snobs in there and it’s all trophy wines anyway.

7. If you’re not from the area, no trip to Arizona is complete without a visit to Sedona (2-hour drive) and a hike around Cathedral Rock. I’d also recommend a stop in Jerome (revived ghost-town) along the way too.

Overall, we had a great time and will definitely consider returning on our next visit to Scottsdale.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheAnalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Hyatt. We loved everything about it. The service was top-knotch, the room accommodations were first class, food in both restaurants was excellent and the pool was amazing. We traveled to Arizona to celebrate our 3 year anniversary with our 1 year old. The sand beach pool was perfect for small kids, he played for hours in the water. The waitstaff at the restaurants were out of this world, Brenda our server was the best! The front desk takes great care of you and makes sure you have everything you need and more. I would highly recommend this location! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunandfun24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary during the weekend of August 8-9, 2009. The hotel service was excellent, the room was very clean and updated. We loved the fact that they have an adult only pool - and it was a good thing since the family pool was a zoo on Saturday! While at the adult only pool we ate lunch at the cabana bar near the pool. We got to talking with the bartender, and during the conversation mentioned that we were celebrating our anniversary. When we returned to our room later that afternoon, the bartender had some chocolates waiting in our room - nice touch! I only had 2 minor complaints during our stay: 1) The pools need to be renovated - not that big of a deal. 2) When we checked in we asked about the fitness room and if it was included in the price of the room. We were told that it was. Upon check out I realized there was a daily $20 resort fee added - apparently use of the fitness room wasn't free after all....Overall, the hotel is awesome and a great place to spend a romantic weekend!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cupcake3439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

My family just stayed a week at the Hyatt for some leisure time just before school starts, we thoroughly enjoyed the resort and the staff was very accomodating of our needs. We had (2) rooms and they were both clean and looked like they had been recently renovated.
My kids enjoyed the pool area especially the volleyball nets, basketball, they also liked that the pool area was kept open late so they could take a swim after dinner.
My wife and I dined at Alto the Italian restaurant at the resort, it was very good and Jay our server was excellent, we also enjoyed breakfast every morning at the SWB restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 71bronc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#16 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Property: Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Address: 7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst flowering cactus, breathtaking sunsets and framed against the majestic McDowell Mountains, Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa features a 2 1/2-acre "water playground", 27 holes of championship golf, world-class tennis, Spa, the Native American Learning and Environmental Center, an international art collection and four distinctively different restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Ranch
Hyatt Gainey Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing