We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Scottsdale!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best stay in Scottsdale!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

One of my favorite vacations. Hotel is beautiful and the service is top notch. Would definitely stay here again. My only complaint was no late check-out. Other than that one of the best hotels in Scottsdale.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDLL801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you very much for the review. We will be looking into ways of improving the check-out time of our resort, and apologize that we fell short in that aspect. I greatly appreciate the kind words and hope that you will choose to stay with us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,538
    649
    199
    106
    51
See reviews for
769
665
103
630
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Lots of contradictory things about this big hotel. As you arrive avoid valet parking it is expensive. The reception process was not very good with minimum info. given just as if the receptionist was on auto pilot and the onto the next person, you feel like a number not a person.
Our room was a long, long way from reception and what we saw on the way was not good. Outside doors were the remains of last nights room service dinners and it was now afternoon the next day. We arrived at our room to find an assortment of glasses and crockery outside, but worse inside. Our fridge had from a previous guest the remains of a not very fresh looking take away in it. A call to house keeping did not get the fridge cleared so I had a look around the corridors and found a room maid, but she could not understand English.
The hotel grounds are wonderful. We could not get near the swimming pool it was packed with beds so close that I had never seen before. The lobby bar and area good.
When you are paying $458 a night, incl. tax, this is not a great hotel.
p.s. The same meals were still in the corridors the evening after.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GEOFF P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed that our staff’s service did not meet your expectations. We will take your comments and share it with the rest of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Had a business meeting at this location. Fantastic scenery, great open area. Pricey rooms and food. Was able to walk to local restaurants and shopping. Pools were amazing, but too cold to get in the water in January. Staff was very friendly and helpful. No complaints with my room. Would recommend staying if you want to splurge and just relax.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Afv99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for providing your review. I am pleased to read that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you found our staff to be helpful! I hope you will come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I stay in a lot of 4 & 5 star hotels. These accommodations do not meet the norm. Ground are beautiful. Pools are great for the kids. What I didn't like was the lack of space. The rooms were too small for a family of 4. I have an 11 yr old sleeping on the floor because the king size room is too small to accommodate 2 roll away beds. To pay $400 for a room and have a preteen sleep on the floor is unheard of. Called to request a larger room but they said they couldn't accommodate my request. Again, unheard of. The pool/ chair accommodation area was too small for the amount of guest. We are all sitting like sardines. Would recommend but for a party of 2 or 3 per room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
I appreciate your review. I am sorry to hear that our rooms were not as spacious as you required for your family. We will take your feedback and look into improving the experience we offer in any way we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Would highly recommend the Hyatt for anyone visiting Scottsdale for the first time. Beautiful grounds, very friendly staff, and comfortable accommodations. Great location, close to restaurants and shopping and not far from Downtown Scottsdale.

Very relaxing and laid back, great for families with kids, and has private pool just for the adults.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GHartG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your endorsement. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, staff, and proximity to Downtown Scottsdale. We hope to see you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I took a trip to Arizona this month to celebrate our 5yr anniversary. We have never been there, so we decided to visit Sedona, the Grand Canyon, and Scottsdale. We ended our trip with 3 nights in Scottsdale -- we wanted relaxation, pool time, and good food. We got all three. :)

The resort itself was located just off North Scottsdale Rd, which appeared to be the main road that runs through Scottsdale. Tons of shopping and restaurants and other resorts are along this road, so it was very convenient. I loved that even though it was in the city, once you were on the property, you felt like you were out in the desert, overlooking the mountains.

The rooms were a bit pricey, but everything else comparable was as well. Food and drinks were quite high, but that's to be expected at a resort. I loved the giant open-air lobby/lounge area that overlooked a huge green space filled with cacti and beautiful flowers. TONS of seating/tables/cabanas for having a nice, quiet breakfast or a fun happy hour later in the day. They also have musicians playing nightly.

The only restaurant onsite that we tried was SWB -- we got lunch there 2 days. I had the southwestern salad w/chicken both days because it was that good. The little market was great for a quick, cheap-ish breakfast each morning, too. One thing to note -- they don't sell bottled water at the store, so you need to bring a refillable bottle... there are stations around the hotel to fill it up for free -- you can also take it out to the pool! And speaking of pools, there were tons to choose from! Kids area, a giant water slide (so fun, even for adults!), an adults-only pool area, etc. I would request, though, that all chairs receive the padding that the adult pool had... the chairs have an incredibly uncomfortable bar in the middle that make it almost impossible to sit in them comfortably without the padding. Just a suggestion!

The room we had -- 3301 -- was nice and spacious, but it was right next to the ice machine and looked out over the entrance/valet. It was pretty loud a couple nights between car loading/unloading and then some maintenance someone decided to do on the ice machine room at 10PM on Sunday night. Not sure why that was so urgent to do that late at night, but it was over fairly quickly.

We had a wonderful time at this resort and would highly recommend to anyone else going. It was a great end to a perfect trip for our 5-year anniversary!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Our staff and I greatly appreciate such a thorough review! I am more than happy to hear that Hyatt Regency Scottsdale was able to provide you and your husband with an experience you greatly enjoyed. We hope to see you again soon, and happy anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

The grounds, the pools, the service, the food, it was all top notch! The extensive landscaping/flowers are beautiful. The gondola ride in the lake was an expected pleasure. Super attentive staff! Great food at Alto. Great bar scene at the bar just off of the lobby.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for the review. Our gondola rides are a very acclaimed part of the Hyatt Regency experience, and I am happy that you enjoyed one. I hope you will choose to stay with us sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#17 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Property: Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Address: 7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst flowering cactus, breathtaking sunsets and framed against the majestic McDowell Mountains, Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa features a 2 1/2-acre "water playground", 27 holes of championship golf, world-class tennis, Spa, the Native American Learning and Environmental Center, an international art collection and four distinctively different restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Ranch
Hyatt Gainey Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing