We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming over 20 Years, and Still Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Coming over 20 Years, and Still Gorgeous”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is one of my favorite resort hotel properties. The first time we came was in 1993, and we have returned several times with this being our most recent stay. This hotel has always maintained its beauty and its service. There have been some changes over the years, but always for the betterment of the hotel. The grounds are very lush, and has an "oasis" feel in the middle of the desert. The new area for the Regency Club is fantastic (now located in a former restaurant), with indoor and outdoor seating. While we were in the club we met Henry who went out of his way to make sure that all was well, and that guests were accommodated. Henry is dedicated Hyatt employee who takes great interest in the guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your trip to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Gainey Ranch. I appreciate your compliments about our lush grounds, Regency Club and outstanding staff. Thank you for providing us with feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,722
    717
    219
    115
    61
See reviews for
882
742
106
704
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at the JW Marriott and then moved here to extend our vacation. Everyone in our family agrees that the Marriott is much better. The Hyatt is much smaller, feels more crowded, much smaller pool area, less relaxing vibe, fewer restaurants to choose from and not nearly the service.
The layout of the Hyatt is odd. Also the pool area is cramped, odd shaped and loud.
We have 2 rooms closer to the main stairs and also the ice machine. It's very loud.
Would not return here. Does not feel like a 4 1/2 star resort. Feels more like a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bhaej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am terribly disappointed to hear that you found our accommodations to be unsatisfactory. This feedback is quite valuable to my team and I, as we are continuously working to perfect the guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt for a long weekend in March 2014. I was w/my two sisters for a girls getaway weekend. Everything about the hotel was great! The service, the food, the pool, the setting was beautiful! Even the weather was perfect! I have nothing negative to say except that the extra fees/taxes per day were a bit of a surprise. They charged an extra $100+ per day in extra fees. That was a bit hard to take at check out, but still worth the trip. It was nice that the room had a refrigerator so we could keep some beverages in there and we had a rollaway bed which was comfortable. Our room was right off of the lobby (2215) and was a bit noisy at night, but again, it really was a wonderful trip, and I highly recommend staying here. We spent all of our time at the adult pool, but if you have kids, there is a great kids area w/a huge pool w/waterslide and even a beach entrance w/sand. It looked like there were lots of activities going on over there too, but we kept our distance and enjoyed the quiet. At night they had live music in the lobby/bar area. The location was great, about a 25 min drive from the airport and restaurants close enough to walk to outside of the hotel. I give it an A++!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room away from the lobby area.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have recycling bins in the rooms. Towel and linen re-use option. A/C goes off in room if door is left open. Environmentally aware resort hotel.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I certainly appreciate all of your feedback. I am happy you were pleased with our accommodations and enjoyed our water playground. Thank you again for the kind words. I hope to see you the next time you visit Scottsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We visited this resort in late March, 2014. It was a treat and we recommend it highly. Our travel party consisted of my husband and myself, and our children, a boy (14) and a girl (11). The property itself, is beautifully maintained..a wonderful mix of desert cacti and green lushness, with water features and fountains throughout. Plenty of wildlife in terms of birds and fish if you enjoy that sort of thing, which we do.
The pool area is enormous, with a towering {and fast} water slide, volley ball nets, a small sandy beach area, several heated pools, a hot tub area,as well as a pool exclusively for adults. Plenty of seating in sun or shade, complementary ice water station (very important!) as well as a grassy area containing a corn hole game. The poolside food/drink was tasty and readily available, however, just a bit pricey...ex. $6 for a virgin banana daquari/ $12 dark and stormy. That being said, it is vacation, in Scottsdale, so one may expect to pay up a little.
There are 3 golf courses in the resort, 2 of which we had the pleasure of playing. Gorgeous views, very fast greens, friendly staff, {shout out to Vince the golf co-ordinator..very helpful} coolers w/ice standard on each golf cart. Splendid 18 holes.
The restaurants were wonderful, our particular favorite being the South West Bistro {SWB} serving breakfast, lunch, late dinner and everything in between. Between the 4 of us, we sampled a wide variety of menu items..all of which were fabulous. There wasn't one item from one meal that we said we didn't enjoy. EVERYTHING we ordered was delicious. Young, professional, friendly staff.
Our "big night out" was at Alto..the tapas/Italian restaurant on site. Our only complaint there was that some of the dishes were almost trying a little too hard, with some of the ingredients competing with one another rather than melding. Would we eat there again? Certainly! Was it pricey? Definitely. Our recommendation is to keep it simple when ordering {cheeses/dry meats wonderful...bruschetta-almost too bold, chunky. just our personal opinion.} The eggplant appetizer was phenomenal...however be warned..it is an entire eggplant, breaded, fried and basking in a heavenly cheese sauce. A meal in itself. Order wisely.
Our room was just the right size for 4 people, with a lovely patio complete with lounge chairs and a table one could eat at, or set up a computer, or play cards around. We wish there was more dresser space as we like to completely unpack while on vacation, not live out of a suitcase. There were only 2 drawers in a closet dresser and a hanging divided fabric unit. Once we put some of our items in the desk drawers, we were satisfied, but would have truly rather have had a proper bureau. The bathroom was spacious, however, in our room, there was no exhaust fan, and my son didn't love the fact that the bathroom door didn't lock...it slid open and shut like a patio door.
On a side note...
my husband travels a lot for business and is a Hyatt Diamond member, so I don't know if we had a special room {with the deluxe patio} or if all of the rooms are as nice. I will encourage you, if you are a Diamond member, to utilize the Regency Club for breakfast. Appetizing array of cold cereals, baked goods, cheeses, meat, fruit, coffee, juice and typically, one hot cereal as well as scrambled egg of the day, which varied. Flavored syrup for the coffee and a fridge stocked with yogurt and canned/bottled soda or juice which you could help yourself to throughout the day. All complementary if you have Diamond {and possibly Platinum?} status. Check it out.
At the end of our vacations, we always do a postmortem amongst ourselves where all family members talk about the best and worst parts of the trip. We unanimously agreed that we would come back as well as recommend the Gainey ranch...all were hard pressed to find any negatives. {no exhaust fan in the bathroom and lack of unpacking space...I know, cry me a river how awful that must have been, right?} Aside from those two very manageable and minuscule drawbacks we would give Hyatt Gainey Ranch two very enthusiastic thumbs up.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lammie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement and thorough review! I am pleased to see you enjoyed our golf course and dinning at Alto and SWB. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I love the atmosphere at the Gainey Ranch Hyatt. From the sand at the pool to the upscale bar. The rooms are top of the line and very clean. The location is perfect for us it is a little ways from downtown bars but thats ok because it has its own secure feel sitting by itself at the gated gainey ranch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imshyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your trip to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Gainey Ranch. We are honored to be your favorite spot in Scottsdale. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

we visited in summer 2013 and were captivated! after initially having trouble reserving and speaking with a manager, we were offered a beautiful multi-room suite at a reduced rate to make up for the wasted time and difficulty. from the moment we pulled up to the beautiful entry way, we loved the spaciousness, modern décor, lush foliage, elegant touches, services; LOVED the fantastic pool setups, all night tennis, places to sit, lay, be alone or with people, wonderful rooms, amenities/toiletries, bathrooms; very helpful desk staff, wonderfully accommodating rec staff who helped us go for a great family bike ride; good location; beautiful local scenery and shops. would recommend and stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tropicana_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
I just love reading about your experience at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Gainey Ranch. Come visit as many times as you like, we don’t mind at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

A wonderful property, with things to do for all ages. The lagoons are filled with wildlife, there are adult, and children pools. The grounds are impressive, with native and annual plantings. There is even a Saguaro Cactus, in the middle of the grounds that must be 250 years old. Each evening has live entertainment in the lounge, with doors opening out onto the terraces, the views of the surrounding mountains is beautiful especially at sunset.
The poolside service is quick and even has a BBQ service for the family side of the pools.
They offer free bicycles to cruise around the bike paths, and complimentary Wild Bird and Reptile exhibits. We will definitely return with our family soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near lagoon
See more room tips
Green Features: In room recycling bins, option to change bedding or towels daily or not. Dermatologist approved bathing products.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cccruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for providing a review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed our wildlife exhibits, complimentary bicycles, water playground and all the details that make our resort so special. I hope your travels bring you back our way again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,466 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#21 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Property: Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Address: 7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst flowering cactus, breathtaking sunsets and framed against the majestic McDowell Mountains, Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa features a 2 1/2-acre "water playground", 27 holes of championship golf, world-class tennis, Spa, the Native American Learning and Environmental Center, an international art collection and four distinctively different restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Ranch
Hyatt Gainey Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing