We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort but needs a bit more attention to detail.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Resort but needs a bit more attention to detail.”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I used one of the blind booking agencies to get a great price here. The staff and facilities were great. But my room had several small unexpected things that didn't work - burned out light bulb and a bathrobe with no loops for the belt.

North Scottsdale is a bit off the beaten path which is fine for a destination resort. But works less well if you need to be in Scottsdale, close to the airport or have access to downtown.

Not sure what I got for the $25 resort fee as I didn't use any of the resort facilities.

So I give the Hyatt. B+

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anabasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and will utilize your comments during future planning. Thank you for reviewing your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,688
    702
    213
    113
    59
See reviews for
857
727
105
692
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Don't ruin your bowl game trip by choosing this hotel! Awful, awful. We were part of a large group, arrived at the hotel in buses from our charter plane at around 1:00 pm. No rooms were ready, since it was not guaranteed until 4:00. Everyone went to the restaurants and bars. UNDERSTAFFED, and took forever to get food or drink.

People were eventually sitting on chairs and sofas sleeping. We finally got our room close to 5:00. They said they even had mangers cleaning rooms, which, I guess, explained the lack of soap and shampoo.

Overall, it was mediocre. There were so many complaints, Hyatt donated like $25,000 to the scholarship fund. So for their bad service, Hyatt got a tax deduction and individuals got an ICE CREAM! That's what I said, when we finally got to our room, exhausted, they called, waking us up, to offer a free ice cream.

I suppose this is a great hotel with high rating the rest of the year, but don't go for the Fiesta Bowl.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are sorry that your arrival experience was disappointing when you were here last year. It was a unique occurrence in 2013 as we had the Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl team and alumni checking out on the same day that we had the Fiesta Bowl group arriving. Such a large volume of check outs and early arrivals does make for a challenging turn of guest rooms. This year, and most years, there will be a full day in between the bowl travel days, so there should be no concern regarding arrival delays. We look forward to hosting the fans for all of the teams that will be enjoying the weather and hospitality of the Valley of the Sun in December and January!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here in September and enjoyed every minute of it. The weather was perfect for spending lots of time in the amazing pool complex as well as playing comfortable golf at the many nearby courses.
On site restaurants were good value and service throughout the facility were top notch.
We had a ground floor room with walkout to a small patio overlooking the lagoon. Morning coffee on the patio often included several visiting ducks looking for treats. In the evenings, passing Gondola tour boats shared their opera inspired songs being sung by the boat captain.
First class resort and good value ... Strongly recommended !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
We admit golfing is one of our favorite activities as well! We are so pleased you enjoyed all Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa has to offer. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Hyatt at Gainey Ranch is a large complex and has a mix of people on vacation and those on business conferences. The look and feel of the hotel is very similar to many hotels across the US. The rooms are comfortable but nothing special and the size of the hotel means that you can have a long walk to your room. We booked a Regency Club room to access the benefits of the club facilities. I was very disappointed with the offerings by comparison to other clubs. The evening cocktails are not complimentary and the savouries are a very average selection. The fitness facilities are good, but with a large conference crowd, it gets very busy and expect to wait. Overall, I would rate it as a good hotel facility, but nothing out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: Dont spend the extra money for the Regency Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We certainly appreciate all of your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Here solo for a conference, and Scottsdale is one of my favorite places. I had not been at the Hyatt before, and it did not disappoint in any way. Like most of the resorts in Scottsdale, the property is huge, and if there is any mobility problem, that can be an issue. The resort is built low and the rooms are in wings, or pods, radiating out from the central lobby. The design makes full use of the outdoors, the intent is to make the hotel and the outdoors a continuum.
The room is great.....very large, wide entryway, large modern bath, marble shower with a rainfall head, as well as a hand held shower. The bed is comfortable, but they need to do something about their bed linens. The thread count must be very low, as the sheets are scratchy. Also, why do hotels so often put such small pillows on a king sized bed.....taking care of these two things would make sleeping so much more comfortable. KenetMD toiletries, which I had never heard of, but did not disappoint.

The conference facilities were great, on the lobby level, and the larger meeting rooms one floor down.

There are a couple of things about the place that I really liked a lot. The people go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. You get a hello from all of the staff, and there is typically a staff member standing near the front desk to help with way finding, which is appreciated as the property is so large. I needed something fixed in the room, and I waited till the morning. It was repaired promptly, and the engineer gave me his card (who knew they had cards), told me his hours, and told me that if my issue happened in the middle of the night again to call him. SERVICE!

To me, this hotel and the Westin Kierland are neck and neck. Two wonderful places. The only reason that I would give it to the Westin is the proximity of shopping and restaurants, but the pampering quotient is great in both!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rhapsodyinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We certainly appreciate all of your feedback. We are happy you were pleased with our accommodations and found our staff friendly and helpful! Thank you again for the kind words. We hope to see you the next time you visit Scottsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is the second time we have been here, as my husband has been on business and I was fortunate to enjoy the facilities. It is beautiful setting with a number of pool options. Several restaurant options as well. This is very relaxing and the service is very good. We keep this on the top of our list when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debrah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We just love hearing that you enjoyed our resort while your husband's business meetings bring you to Scottsdale. Come visit as many times as you like, we don’t mind at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this resort with the family. The customer service is excellent and we had a great time at the resort. The pool area is very nice and we tried to spend a good portion of every afternoon at the pool. The pool service was also excellent. The kids gave the place two thumbs up. They liked the chips and salsa at the pool each day. We ate breakfast(which was very nice) and had after dinner drinks at the bar area each day.

Though pricey, it is worth it! We will visit again....and again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are delighted that you an opportunity to visit Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa with your family. We are so pleased to read the pool and our restaurants. We appreciate your recognition of our great staff and hope a visit to the resort becomes a family tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#20 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Property: Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Address: 7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst flowering cactus, breathtaking sunsets and framed against the majestic McDowell Mountains, Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa features a 2 1/2-acre "water playground", 27 holes of championship golf, world-class tennis, Spa, the Native American Learning and Environmental Center, an international art collection and four distinctively different restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Ranch
Hyatt Gainey Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing