We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great family experience”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Attended a conference at the hotel and stayed there for 4 nights with my partner, 87 year old mother and small dog. What a great experience, the staff is very well trained, efficient and most accomodating. Room service was fast, friendly.
I highly recommend the spa - while it's a bit pricey, it's worth every penny because the staff is so good at what they do. Mom had a massage and hair appointment, my partner had a 90 minute massage. Mom has osteoporosis and her massage therapist was so good about asking her about her condition and making sure the massage was beneficial. Plus the spa facility is a wonderful place to just hang out and relax.
This is a pet friendly hotel, and for the extra cost of having a pet we got a food & water bowl, pet bed and a toy. Our small dog could go everywhere except where food is served and it was a great experience as a pet owner.
Check out the coffee shop which has great variety of foods, beverages and very friendly service. They serve Starbucks coffee.

Room Tip: I got an opportunity when I booked the room to choose what kind of upgrade I would be open to. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terwoerds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We are so pleased we had the opportunity to serve you, your partner, your mother and your dog while you attend a conference on property! Thank you so much for the compliments and thorough review of your stay. Our team at Spa Avania will be happy to hear your mother enjoyed her message. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,583
    660
    200
    108
    52
See reviews for
802
677
104
638
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west hempstead
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel offered great deals, the coffee shop has excellent starbucks coffee and free refills all day. The pools are fun and the hotel has nice entertainment. The concierge was so helpful. Great resort experience but a good regular hotel price.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Atara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We certainly appreciate all of your feedback. We are happy you were pleased with our accommodations and found our staff friendly and helpful! Thank you again for the kind words. We hope to see you the next time you visit Scottsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this property with some friends. Very mixed bag in terms of service. Upon check in our friends got offered the complimentary margarita, we got nothing and had the same exact reservation. When I asked for one they said sure, but none was offered. We got no directions other than to our room, and only later were we given a map of the resort but we needed to ask to get one. Rooms were fine, nothing spectacular, but fine, bathroom was small. We made our way out to the pool where we enjoyed great service and great food, that was a plus. That night we ate on property and the service in the southwestern restaurant was average at best. The second day we were at the pool for eight hours, and literally had to go up to get bar service every single time we wanted something, until the general manager came into the vicinity during the afternoon and then we had service fairly consistently. The pool wasn't even very busy, so there was really no excuse. Our final day at the pool the main attraction for kids, the water slide, was shut down for maintenance the entire day, so we were left without one major attraction. There really wasn't a whole lot to do other than swim, as all the grassy areas were blocked off due to yard maintenance, so we couldn't even through a ball around. When asked by a manager(Henry) how our stay was, I was honest about the lack of service provided from check in all the way through the wait staff, as well as the pool slide being closed, and Henry went out of his way to make our last day a memorable one. He gave us a cabana, drinks on him, and a resort credit which was more than generous. The thing is, I really want to LOVE this place, the grounds are simply beautiful and the indoor renovations are great. The adult pool area is spectacular, although we never got to experience the service over there as we were with kids. If everyone would have been working as hard as Henry to make the resort as great as it potentially could be, this place would bet the best in Scottsdale.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda111Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your thorough and honest feedback regarding your three night stay. We sincerely apologize for the average service you received at SWB, check-in and the pool. We are so pleased Henery was able to offer you a complimentary cabana, drinks and resort credit. We appreciate your review and will share it with the rest of our team so we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I could not sleep because the sheets were so rough and bed was so hard. they must wash them in a lot of bleach because they were incredibly rough. the bath towels were very cheap (like a low end hotel) and also incredibly rough. I spoke with housekeeping and they explained that they send them out to a service and don't know what they are washed in.

Also the hotel is like a maze. We literally had to walk down three different halls and two lobbies to get to our room.

We are very sorry we booked here. Wait staff in breakfast restaurant and lobby bar area were very slow and indifferent

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room close to the main lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyKAYPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our resort. We will follow up on the areas that you mentioned, including reaching out to see what changes might need to be made in our laundry service, as well as working with our restaurant team to ensure proper service standards. We hope that there will be an opportunity to welcome you once again, and share what is a more typical stay at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The best part of the hotel is the incredible pool area. It includes a sandy beach area and plenty of spots to relax. The rest of the pool area includes lots of small pools and a large hot tub. There is also a three story water slide for the kids.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MYE1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your five star review! We are so pleased you enjoyed our water playground!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency in October. The hotel grounds are beautiful. We stayed in the regency club and it is the quietest location outside of casitas. The breakfast and appetizers at night were great. it was pretty much the same fair everyday but there were a lot of choices. We very much enjoyed breakfast and appies in the comfortable regency club which includes nice outdoor patio near the lagoon.

Rooms - we stayed in a king room in main floor. The room was a little dark and on the smaller side but we were outside most of the day so it didnt matter. The bathroom was spacious with a stand up shower no bath. the room did seem a bit run down in places. The bed was a bit soft and pillows a bit lumpy. But we had pretty good sleep.

Pool - is amazing!!! we spent most of our days at the adult pool. It is really the feature of the property.

Food - the options at the property are all food.

Gondola rides - kind of neat, a bit short and there isnt a ton of signing.

Overall - great property for a quick getaway in the heat. This property holds a lot of corporate functions so it can be busy and loud. Avoid the terrace and lawn facing rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We certainly appreciate all of your feedback. We are happy you were pleased with our accommodations and our Regency Club! Thank you again for the kind words. We hope to see you the next time you visit Scottsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from 7 wonderful days at the Hyatt. The staff was incredible. I had called 5 days prior to our arrival to make sure we had a good room as we were celebrating our 25th anniversary. Not only did they do that but they also sent Champaign and chocolates to the room as a surprise. Thank you.

The room was very nice and so was the balcony. The pool was tremendously relaxing and getting chairs was not a problem. The water temp was fine.

The restaurants were very good as well and it was great that the Canyon market was open 24 x 7 for snacks and such. If you can arrange a Saturday night stay, the Sunday brunch is phenomenal. The Southwest Bistro was excellent. Whoever said before the selections were limited was not correct. The property is in such a great location that you are 10 minutes from dozens of fine restaurants as well.

The live music each night was also very enjoyable. Not to loud and made for a perfect backdrop for hanging out and just relaxing.

The grounds were immaculately maintained. The property was clean.

The Gondola ride is a must.

Comfortable bedding.

Self park is a must as it's only a short walk. Valets were not pushy which was nice.

But as always, there is room for improvement and I'm a bit picky so take it for what it's worth. The rooms probably could use a bit of updating as the lighting was not great. The air conditioning was ok but we never reported it. We shared a patio with a divider between the patios but there was no privacy. It would be nice that when they do remodel, they make the patios a bit more private. My wife ordered an ice tea at the pool and it took over 1/2 hour and then the person did not have sugar. That took another 15 minutes. They seem to be a bit short staffed at the pool. There always seemed to be an abundance of smokers outside in the evening and that was a drag...nice pun. Lastly, the resort fee is $25 per day. You know that going into it. But when you want to watch a movie, you have to pay an additional fee to upgrade for the movie package which is kind of a slap after paying a resort fee.

With all this said, we will go back to this property in the future and recommend it for you as well. The kids pool area was huge so if you are traveling with little ones, they will enjoy as well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dfeiwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We are so pleased we had the opportunity to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary with you! It was our pleasure to provide you with champagne and chocolates! Thank you for your compliments about SWB and the variety of entrees we serve. We appreciate your feedback regarding the wait time for service at our pool. We will certainly share your comments with the rest of our team so we can continue to improve. We look forward to helping you celebrate many more special occasions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,392 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#16 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,123 reviews
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Property: Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Address: 7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst flowering cactus, breathtaking sunsets and framed against the majestic McDowell Mountains, Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa features a 2 1/2-acre "water playground", 27 holes of championship golf, world-class tennis, Spa, the Native American Learning and Environmental Center, an international art collection and four distinctively different restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Ranch
Hyatt Gainey Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing