We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property but miserable nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Advance, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful property but miserable nights sleep”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I could not sleep because the sheets were so rough and bed was so hard. they must wash them in a lot of bleach because they were incredibly rough. the bath towels were very cheap (like a low end hotel) and also incredibly rough. I spoke with housekeeping and they explained that they send them out to a service and don't know what they are washed in.

Also the hotel is like a maze. We literally had to walk down three different halls and two lobbies to get to our room.

We are very sorry we booked here. Wait staff in breakfast restaurant and lobby bar area were very slow and indifferent

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room close to the main lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyKAYPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our resort. We will follow up on the areas that you mentioned, including reaching out to see what changes might need to be made in our laundry service, as well as working with our restaurant team to ensure proper service standards. We hope that there will be an opportunity to welcome you once again, and share what is a more typical stay at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,688
    702
    213
    113
    59
See reviews for
857
727
105
692
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The best part of the hotel is the incredible pool area. It includes a sandy beach area and plenty of spots to relax. The rest of the pool area includes lots of small pools and a large hot tub. There is also a three story water slide for the kids.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MYE1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your five star review! We are so pleased you enjoyed our water playground!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency in October. The hotel grounds are beautiful. We stayed in the regency club and it is the quietest location outside of casitas. The breakfast and appetizers at night were great. it was pretty much the same fair everyday but there were a lot of choices. We very much enjoyed breakfast and appies in the comfortable regency club which includes nice outdoor patio near the lagoon.

Rooms - we stayed in a king room in main floor. The room was a little dark and on the smaller side but we were outside most of the day so it didnt matter. The bathroom was spacious with a stand up shower no bath. the room did seem a bit run down in places. The bed was a bit soft and pillows a bit lumpy. But we had pretty good sleep.

Pool - is amazing!!! we spent most of our days at the adult pool. It is really the feature of the property.

Food - the options at the property are all food.

Gondola rides - kind of neat, a bit short and there isnt a ton of signing.

Overall - great property for a quick getaway in the heat. This property holds a lot of corporate functions so it can be busy and loud. Avoid the terrace and lawn facing rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We certainly appreciate all of your feedback. We are happy you were pleased with our accommodations and our Regency Club! Thank you again for the kind words. We hope to see you the next time you visit Scottsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from 7 wonderful days at the Hyatt. The staff was incredible. I had called 5 days prior to our arrival to make sure we had a good room as we were celebrating our 25th anniversary. Not only did they do that but they also sent Champaign and chocolates to the room as a surprise. Thank you.

The room was very nice and so was the balcony. The pool was tremendously relaxing and getting chairs was not a problem. The water temp was fine.

The restaurants were very good as well and it was great that the Canyon market was open 24 x 7 for snacks and such. If you can arrange a Saturday night stay, the Sunday brunch is phenomenal. The Southwest Bistro was excellent. Whoever said before the selections were limited was not correct. The property is in such a great location that you are 10 minutes from dozens of fine restaurants as well.

The live music each night was also very enjoyable. Not to loud and made for a perfect backdrop for hanging out and just relaxing.

The grounds were immaculately maintained. The property was clean.

The Gondola ride is a must.

Comfortable bedding.

Self park is a must as it's only a short walk. Valets were not pushy which was nice.

But as always, there is room for improvement and I'm a bit picky so take it for what it's worth. The rooms probably could use a bit of updating as the lighting was not great. The air conditioning was ok but we never reported it. We shared a patio with a divider between the patios but there was no privacy. It would be nice that when they do remodel, they make the patios a bit more private. My wife ordered an ice tea at the pool and it took over 1/2 hour and then the person did not have sugar. That took another 15 minutes. They seem to be a bit short staffed at the pool. There always seemed to be an abundance of smokers outside in the evening and that was a drag...nice pun. Lastly, the resort fee is $25 per day. You know that going into it. But when you want to watch a movie, you have to pay an additional fee to upgrade for the movie package which is kind of a slap after paying a resort fee.

With all this said, we will go back to this property in the future and recommend it for you as well. The kids pool area was huge so if you are traveling with little ones, they will enjoy as well.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dfeiwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We are so pleased we had the opportunity to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary with you! It was our pleasure to provide you with champagne and chocolates! Thank you for your compliments about SWB and the variety of entrees we serve. We appreciate your feedback regarding the wait time for service at our pool. We will certainly share your comments with the rest of our team so we can continue to improve. We look forward to helping you celebrate many more special occasions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Clean, well kept-up.

Room slightly underlit despite a number of lights. Shower, no tub, and part of shower not working. Faucet mispositioned on sink.

Free basic internet now with potential to upgrade if desired.

Good restaurants, though somewhat costly.

But LOUD live music permeates the whole lobby and restaurant area in the evening.

Golfing paradise...when not too hot...

SLOOOOW getting bags up to room even when front desk told of time pressures. Understaffed?

.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We appreciate your honest and candid comments. Your feedback helps us improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I went to this resort because of a medical meeting for him. We opted for the standard guest room rather than an upgraded one at extra fees. When we checked in, the front desk personnel made no effort to orient us to the resort. We found the room to be large and thought that we would be very comfortable there. Unfortunately, we found an ant crawling on one of the double beds provided. The room was dark without enough lighting. There was a burned out light over the mirror in the bathroom. After we killed the solitary ant on the bed, we thought that we probably wouldn't see any more of its kind. The next morning, I found another ant under the covers of the bed I was using. I went to the front desk to complain and ask that the room be sprayed for ants. I was told that this could not be done while we were occupying the room. I was offered a room change which I turned down because we had already unpacked and my husband was attending the meeting. The front desk told me that there would be a thorough cleaning done to eradicate the ants. We thought the problem was solved as we did not see more ants the next day of our stay. However, the maid did not replenish the complimentary body lotion in the room which we found quite necessary in the hot desert atmosphere. I had to go in the hallway and find her to get it. The LED light over the bathroom sink remained burned out our entire stay in this room. The A/C unit never worked properly in this room. I never mentioned these other problems to the front desk because ants were uppermost in our minds! However, on the fourth day of our stay, ants were seen on the chair, both beds, and bathroom. We killed and kept the ants to show to the front desk. We were moved to an "upgraded room" that had two sloping uncomfortable beds for our last night in the resort. There were only two major restaurants in the resort. We went to the Southwest style restaurant on our first afternoon there. It was really terrible food and expensive! We would be very hesitant to return to this resort.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing the details of your stay with us. It is always helpful for us to know about the issues you are experiencing while you are with us. We are sorry that the housekeeping detailing did not fully solve your concerns and that the experience in our restaurant was not to your satisfaction. These experiences are not typical during a stay at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale and we would like to speak with you further about your concerns. If you would like to reach out to us directly, please contact our Guest Service Manager at colleen.connon@hyatt.com and we will work with you to ensure a positive return to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent 4 days at the Hyatt resort. Everything was wonderful. We were out traveling around much of the day, so we didn't avail ourselves of much of the amenities. But the Alto Restaurant on site was excellent and reasonably priced. On the other hand, and interestingly, the other main restaurant (not the fancy Alto restaurant) was a bit overpriced compared to the quality and price at Alto. (specific... We spent $110 for dinner for 2 at the "normal" restaurant, and $150 at Alto. The quality, ambience, service at Alto was excellent. At $150, this was very reasonable.)

If you want to eat off site, there are numerous places within 5 minute drive. But if your budget permits, have a meal at Alto. Quality of the food at breakfast was excellent the one day we ate on site.

This property is about 5 minute drive to Old Town Scottsdale.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dktenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We are so pleased to read you enjoyed dining at Alto. We appreciate your feedback and your comments regarding both of our restaurants. Thank you for providing us with a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#20 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Property: Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Address: 7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst flowering cactus, breathtaking sunsets and framed against the majestic McDowell Mountains, Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa features a 2 1/2-acre "water playground", 27 holes of championship golf, world-class tennis, Spa, the Native American Learning and Environmental Center, an international art collection and four distinctively different restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Ranch
Hyatt Gainey Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing