We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Ranked #12 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Service A ++
Management A ++
Rooms A
Property A++++
Restaurants/Bar A++

This hotel is very spread out. The interior of the hotel is beautiful. The rooms are in excellent shape and I think they have been remodeled recently. They have several views to choose from.
The Bell Staff is very friendly and accommate all of your needs with luggage, amenities etc. You definitely need a car rental in Phoenix/Scottsdale. The location of this hotel is nice because it is North of the Airport but no so far north that is far away from central phoenix. So, you are about 30 minutes away from many other areas of phoenix.

This is one of the better hotels in Scottsdale.

Room Tip: Look at the map of the property. I would choose a view of the pool area, terrace area or regent c...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlcmlc222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your review about your recent stay. We are thrilled you found our rooms updated and comfortable, and appreciate your comments about our staff, amenities and service! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,879)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,060 - 2,066 of 2,879 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt at Gainey Ranch in the middle of February. Check-in was a breeze, and our room was very nice. It was clean, although with a cot for the children it was crowded for luggage space. The beds were comfortable, and the kids liked to relax and hang out in the room very much. Unfortunately, the waterslide was broken the first day we were there, so the kids were very disappointed as that was the reason I chose the hotel over other hotels. The staff was great though, and gave us a discount on room costs and a free meal. We had to leave early the next day, so my kids decided to get up and do the waterslide a few times just before we had to go. They loved it! Check-out was easy as well, and the experience was a great one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your family's trip to Scottsdale. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the slide closure, but are pleased to read our staff was able to accommodate your meals and room accordingly. We're glad your children enjoyed the new waterside and are looking forward to seeing them whirl down it again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Here for work. Property is nice but its kind of in the middle of nowhere (I didn't get to explore too much). Rooms are nice. Bed is pretty plush but slightly firm. The food at the hotel is all around very good. The staff is very nice. Too cold to swim.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your review about our resort. We are pleased to read you enjoyed our staff and dining amenities! We hope you get the opportunity to explore Scottsdale more with our complimentary shuttle service during your next visit. Thank you again for choosing Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I feel bad it took me such a long time to write a review... Our long stay at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort was amazing! Our family spent total of 45 days on this property during my husband's detail in October and November. Everyone was really nice and helpful, even after a month of us being there. I have to say, we were treated like royalty. The manager on the front desk, Sichi, made sure we were happy the entire stay. Our room was great, the only hotel property where our kids did not have allergies on the skin. It was always fresh and clean inside the room. Couple of times we were surprised by the chocolate cookies and milk amenities in our room while we were gone, and an elegant charcuterie plate on the table.
We were able to experience the Regency Club, thanks to Sichi, and it was fabulous. They always had fresh fruits in the morning, a few choices of meat, warm eggs made in various styles each day, fresh squezzed orange and grapefruit juice and plenty of other things. Evening reception was great too, including jumbo shrimp salads and warm appetizers. The staff at the Club was very attentive to our needs and very friendly. Thank you, everyone.
We sure do miss being pampered like that!
There are plenty of things to do on the resort. We went on the bike rides a couple of times, played tennis, watched shows, listened to the music, fed the funniest ducks and the hungriest fish in the lake around the hotel! We got plenty of sunshine, enjoyed all the pools and the sand on the beach that is made just for kids. Resort provides lots of activites to do besides sunbathing and swimming in all the gorgeous clear-water pools. I hesitated to think we can have such a wonderful time away from the ocean. Needless to say, I did not miss it a bit. We even spent a Thanksgiving there and felt like part of the family.
Thank you for letting us experience a MIRACLE!

Room Tip: Rooms that are facing the lake are further away but quiter, rooms that are facing the fountain court...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LenaM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your detailed review! We are very pleased to read our staff was able to accommodate your family during your extended stay at the resort. We're glad you enjoyed our property, amenities and Regency Club. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Every bit of this property is superbly maintained. The service is everything you would expect from a resort of this caliber. The pools, spa, gondola ride,water slide ,golf course, and restaurants are all first class. If I have one negative statement I think the rooms are a little small. That said this resort is almost heaven.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your review and loyalty to Hyatt! We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Small room for what was paid. We had to call two different times after 3pm to ask to have our room cleaned. Room amenities (shampoo, etc) were never replenished during our 4 night stay.

The pool areas were packed on Friday but bar service was woefully understaffed. The staff available did their best, but they needed more help.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Kgchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed to read your comments and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. This is certainly not a normal occurrence at our resort, and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We hope to see you again soon for a much more typical stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a group of just over 100 people for a business conference here. Upon arrival, the doorman took my bags out of the car without asking when I was paying the cab driver then disappeared - I was able to find my bags on my own and proceed to check which was fast and efficient. I was unable to get any food before the restaurants in the place closed, but they do have a market that has sandwiches and the like that is open 24 hours which is nice. Upon checking into the room it looked like the carpets had not been vacuumed, same for hallways and it turns out same for one of our meeting rooms. I mentioned this to the woman in the market and she said she would relay my comments, a manager did follow up with a voice message to my room a couple days later to see if everything was all right. Otherwise the room seemed clean. Beds were comfortable. No pen or notepad in the room, no in-room minibar. Bottled water in the room was expensive and internet connection was not free and there are several internet up-sell options (higher bandwidth etc.). Fair amount of hallway noise transmitting into the room and I frequently heard chatter by the housekeeping staff in the mornings and afternoons when I was in my room to do some work. Fortunately our group was able to get the internet fee for the rooms waived, but this prevented the use of the in room on-TV checkout system since the internet charges appeared and had to be manually removed at the front desk. The weather was very cold at the time and the HVAC seemed to only be able to blow cold air. I mentioned this to the front desk, got no feedback on whether the problem was looked into and the cold air persisted. I am guessing they have heat pumps that just don't work very well when the weather is unseasonably cold and near freezing at night. The grounds are nice, but since it was raining on and off, most of the outside facilities were not very usable as all the furniture was wet since everything is out in the open.
The meeting rooms were nice and the break and lunch service was good as well. AV service was good too.
We had several people at the bar and they closed earlier than the stated time the first night, but wised up on the later days, however it seemed to me that they were a bit pushy making everyone leave at closing time.
The location is good to get away from things, but if you want to be able to walk to shops, restaurants, etc. a cab ride is necessary. They do have a complementary hotel shuttle but it was booked when I tried to use it.
Overall it is a nice place, many of the staff were very nice an helpful, but a lot of the attention to detail needs to be improved to make this a first class place in my book.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KL-XVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa, and for providing a detailed review about your stay. We are very pleased you enjoyed our meeting space and service. We are disappointment to read your comments about areas where you feel our resort could improve; however, we are grateful you sent them so we may address them with our team. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us; we look forward to showing you a much more typical and enjoyable stay with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,481 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#22 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Address: 7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $269 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst flowering cactus, breathtaking sunsets and framed against the majestic McDowell Mountains, Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa features a 2 1/2-acre "water playground", 27 holes of championship golf, world-class tennis, Spa, the Native American Learning and Environmental Center, an international art collection and four distinctively different restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Ranch
Hyatt Gainey Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing