We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic
Ranked #42 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I chose this hotel because I needed to be in the area. I normally stay on Mill Avenue when I am in Phoenix, but this was a fantastic decision. This may be the single cleanest and most quiet hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was roomy and comfortable, and if there was anyone else staying in the hotel- and I presume there was given by all the cars in the lot- I was completely unaware of them. Right next to the hotel is a nature path that winds between the hotel and the Mayo Clinic, and it was great to be out there during the day and also under the full moon. I got two great nights of unbelievably good, uninterrupted sleep. This is a great place to stay. The various restaurants at Shea and the 101 are really close by, so don't listen to all the people below who mention the hotel being remote. It is a rare hotel that is not beside a freeway. Take advantage of that.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper story room with a balcony. Mine had a great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hgelfand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
What a wonderful review for others to learn how great our Marriott hotel is! It is like a jewel of the desert with amazing views of the sunset and great walks along the nearby paths. Our intention for every guest is to have them enjoy a great night's sleep! It sounds like we succeeded with you! Our team is pleased you found the hotel exceptionally clean as well! Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience! Please return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    57
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
35
21
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
183 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Nice facility,beautiful pool area with hot tub, convenient location,shuttle service to Mayo, reasonable rates...the only negative is that breakfast is NOT included and the offerings for sale were sparse in their cafe...

Room Tip: Our room offered us easy access to the courtyard and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for letting others know how you liked your visit to our hotel while you were visiting the Mayo Clinic! We are pleased with our close proximity and enjoy a great relationship with them. Guest do appreciate the shuttle to and from the clinic as that relieves them from the need to drive. Our Courtyardbrand now features the Bistro as well as Starbucks coffee drinks and beverages. I am sorry to learn you were not pleased with what was available. Should you ever find that to be the case at a Courtyard, please ask to speak to a Manager to express what is missing so we can pass it on to our corporate leaders. We do value your comments and hope that will not keep you from choosing our hotel or another Courtyard in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in the beginning of June for a week while having some tests done at the Mayo Clinic. This hotel is very clean, and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. There is an on-demand shuttle to and from Mayo Clinic, and if one feels like walking in the heat, it's only a 5-min walk. The property is well maintained and is spotless. The is a swimming pool, a small gym with treadmills, elliptical, cycle machine and free weights, and a coin-operated laundry center. There is a "market" for snacks, and the Bistro for meals, but food is not included in the rate. The location is pretty much on the border of Scottsdale, so a rental car is necessary if one wants to explore Scottsdale or have a meal outside of the hotel.

I am a clean freak so when I say the place is clean, it is really clean. Every staff member is courteous and accommodating. Even the housekeeper remembers you - she saw me once in the beginning of the week, and in mid week I had the "Do Not Disturb" sign out as I had an early test in the clinic because my boyfriend was still asleep, when I got back around noon and bumped into her in the hallway, she asked me if I needed anything in my room since I had the sign up (I wasn't even near my room yet). That is good care and service!

The laundry center has two sets of washer/dryer. Each wash or dry is $2, and if you go to the front desk to get change, they will provide the detergent for free. It is convenient for guests who stay for a longer period due to the visit to Mayo Clinic.

The food from the Bistro is decent. They do have healthy choices for people who need to watch their diet. For guests who stay for a longer duration, it could get expensive and boring to have meals at the Bistro everyday.

I had a very lovely stay at this particular Courtyard. For the people who have wheels, this location has a good rate and is quiet and away from everything, so it could be a good place to stay. For the people who are visiting Scottsdale because of Mayo Clinic, this location is perfect and has everything you need for a short stay in one location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmazingScotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We do appreciate you informative review of our hotel to assist others in finding a clean and comfortable place to stay, especially if they are visiting the Mayo Clinic. Our team is proud to take special care of each room and happy you found the hotel and grounds to be "really clean". Beyond our clinic guests, those who like to be in beauty of nature will find our location in the Sonoran desert amazing. The sunsets take your breath away! Most people do have a rental car when they stay and find it is a short drive into Scottsdale for many venues and exceptional restaurants. This location is perfect for many types of guest. Please visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed at the Courtyard Marriott on Shea Blvd. next to Mayo Clinic. The hotel was clean, the staff was very welcoming and friendly. Use the hotel's shuttle to come back from a procedure and the driver was very accomodating. I would recommend this hotel if you will be at the Shea Blvd. Mayo Clinic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 49Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for your review and we do appreciate your noticing how caring our team is! We pride ourselves on an exceptionally clean hotel with a team that cares about each guest. We welcome our clinic guests and our vacationers as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a typical Res Inn, clean, great hospitality, decent value. It's actually fairly close to a large mall, but where it actually sits its in the middle of the desert. Breakfast was a little above average for a Res Inn, the pool was average, they have the typical fire pits that are awesome on a chilly desert night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last month with my daughter, as I was having tests done at the Mayo Clinic. It was so nice to have the Clinic walking distance but also the option of their free, on-demand shuttle. We felt welcome from the moment we stepped in the hotel and were greeted by Penny and Roxy at the front desk. They could not have been more welcoming and accommodating! We had a very early morning flight and they were happy to get us situated in a room although check-in was not for several more hours. It was so nice to see the familiar faces of Penny and Roxy each day and they were truly interested in how our stay was going. The general manager even went out of her way to speak with us. The rooms were clean and bright. I can't say enough about the wonderful staff at this hotel! The entire hotel was very clean and bright and had a warm and inviting atmosphere. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Our team is pleased to know they made a difference to you and your daughter everyday of your stay by providing a clean and bright environment. Both Penny and Roxyare valued associates of Marriott and they care about the well-being of all of our guests. Thank you for recognizing them! On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for staying at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on April 6th. Downside--when I walked into my room, it was still dirty--dirty ice bucket, dirty coffee table w/a dirty washcloth on it, smudged pillowcases. UPSIDE--bathroom was spotless! So, i called the front desk about it, and they immediately upgraded me to a suite. The suite they gave me was perfectly clean. :)
Another downside--no room service. They have a small cafe, with a limited menu. However---I had breakfast there in Sunday morning, and the food was great. Cafe staff was also very professional and accomodating.
BIGGEST UPSIDE: the staff couldn't bend over backwards enough to make me happy. They were genuinely embarrassed by the dirty room, and really made an effort to accomodate me. They were friendly., professional, and so very accomodating. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for you response, I agree with you the staff is great!!! I am sorry about your room because we pride ourselves in making sure everything looks the way your bathroom did. We do offer to go service in the Bistro along with an extended menu called the Bistro Plus that offers salmon, chicken, N.Y strip steak and rigatoni. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
1.7 mi away
Inn at Eagle Mountain
Inn at Eagle Mountain
#1 of 5 in Fountain Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Fountain Hills - Scottsdale
4.4 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Suites - Fountain Hills / North Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Scottsdale
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Scottsdale North - Airpark
5.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Scottsdale
TownePlace Suites Scottsdale
#59 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic

Property: Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic
Address: 13444 E Shea Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85259-5405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#44 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#46 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic Hotel Scottsdale
Courtyard Scottsdale Mayo Clinic
Scottsdale Marriott
Scottsdale Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing