We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so hotel at high rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed at the Courtyard for business. While convenient to Mayo Clinic, it doesn't seem worth the money. The beds are very uncomfortable, the breakfast is expensive yet plain, and the cost was fairly expensive ($140). I'll definitely try staying elsewhere on my next visit considering the price and what I could get elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

We appreciate your comments and want to let you know about our wonderful hotel make-over which was completed in October 2012! Our beds and furniture have been replaced with the new modern look and feel of comfort. You would enjoy the transformation of our meal options as well! Guess now enjoy a variety of choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner on an ala carte basis! The dishes range from simple to creative and all are delicious and priced competitively to area restaurants! We are very proud of our new look and options for our guests! I encourage you to stop in on another visit and see how the changes look and feel firsthand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 170 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

Hotel was ok but because it was beside the Mayo Clinic there was a lot of sick people there. I do have compassion for them, but it wasn't the hotel environment I hoped for on a vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IBrammer417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! While we do host many guests who are patients at the Mayo Clinic, many other guests recognize the hotel’s location in the beautiful Sonoran Desert as the perfect setting for their vacation. There are numerous outdoor activities year around such as hiking and biking trails, numerous exceptional golf courses throughout nearby Scottsdale and Phoenix as well as many Fountain Hills Arts Festivals. Should you crave a quiet, get-away-from-it-all vacation, please think of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I'm a long term fan of Marriott hotels and spa resorts. I stayed here because it was close to my conference. I loved my suite. The bedroom was separate from the kitchen and front living room. I had a queen bedroom. I stayed for 4 days and it was lovely. There was a full breakfast bar and the front desk staff was awesome!!!! Would definitely stay again. The hotel seemed fairly new..,not more then a year old so I was confused about the other reviews.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I paid $125 for my room- how did the lady below get one for $65- I thought Marriott Rewards members got the "best rate"- wrong. We stayed here last minute when the drive up to Prescott was having a major snowstorm. Much nicer than the Tucson Airport Courtyard!
A bit over priced but ok

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetoeatout25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed at this hotel after getting a room for $65 on priceline. I have to say we were very impressed. At check in my daugther was treated like a special guest and her choice of room was offered (after stating I didn't mind of course). The pool and spa were both heated and we were able to stay and play til 10:30 pm even with a few sprinkles, beause they are so warm. In the winter its nice to find a hotel with an outdoor pool comfortable for adults as well as kids. We had a fabulous weekend and the room was clean comfortable quiet and very well worth the amount we paid plus some!! With the location we enjoyed eating in Fountain Hills, Shopping in Scottsdale, and visiting family in Peoria.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariat167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

This hotel was as expected for a Courtyard. Room was very nice and staff was very helpful. We ended up staying here because of the excellent rate. Downside was the strange vibe caused by being right by the Mayo so most guests were patients.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LexKymom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I tried to like this hotel. Imagine checking in and enountering an irate customer yelling at the front desk. The other staffers are paralyzed in fear and check me in using whispers. No phone call to apologize for the scene I encountered. No attempt to take the argument private. Then add no towels at the pool and rooms that are obviously Courtyard rooms from the good old days. The pool area was also a mess. You can dress up the lobby but she's still old, poorly run and not worth the marriott name. Its just a hotel where if you have to stay due to its location near Mayo do it with cautioun. But if you can be flexible---find another place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MONYLINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
1.6 mi away
Inn at Eagle Mountain
Inn at Eagle Mountain
#1 of 5 in Fountain Hills
319 reviews
7.6 mi away
Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River
5.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Courtyard Scottsdale North
Courtyard Scottsdale North
#52 of 75 in Scottsdale
246 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix/Scottsdale on Shea Boulevard
7.2 mi away
Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic

Address: 13444 E Shea Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85259-5405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#44 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#46 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $142 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic Hotel Scottsdale
Courtyard Scottsdale Mayo Clinic
Scottsdale Marriott
Scottsdale Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing