We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty!”
Review of Salt + Lime

Salt + Lime
Ranked #286 of 1,261 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Locals bar.
Restaurant details
Description: Locals bar.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We really enjoyed the food at salt and lime! We thought the salsas and chips were really good! The empanadas were delicious. We had the chicken and fish tacos and they were amazing. My favorite was the guacamole! We were brought complimentary churros for dessert and omg they melted in your mouth! Great new little addition to our other favorite Stone and Vine next door :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DawnP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pretty good -- service needs some work”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We enjoyed Salt & Lime but I think we will give it a little more time to work out the kinks before going back. We went there for dinner on a Friday evening. Knowing it was new and likely to be crowded, we got there at 5:30. Sure enough, it was quite full. The hostess told us it would be about 20 minutes to be seated. There is absolutely no place to wait inside (we had kids with us so didn't want to go to the bar) so we stood on the unshaded, hot patio outside. There was no seating unless you wanted to "borrow" a chair from Golden Spoon next door (we didn't, but saw others doing so).

One annoyance was that the hostess confirmed for me that they don't take reservations, yet they seemed to holding 2 tables open while we stood outside waiting. Another party came just after us and they went to the bar to wait. After about 20 minutes, the hostess came out and seated us at one of the tables that had been empty the whole time -- about 2 steps directly in front of the front door. About 5 minutes later, she seated the party that came after us at the much better booth toward the back that had also been open the whole time. Not sure why we didn't "rate" the better table or weren't at least given the option.

Then it took quite a while to get a server. We probably sat there for 10 minutes before someone came by to deliver menus, saying that someone else would be our waiter. Well, that someone else never appeared, so the original server ended up taking our table after another 10 minute wait. She was a good server but clearly a bit overwhelmed.

Once we finally got the, we enjoyed it. The fact that you could select from several salsas was a fun idea although the "house" salsa was not great. We enjoyed the guacamole and the tacos were good, as was the chicken enchilada. The frozen margaritas were yummy and interesting flavors like blackberry were available.

I agree with the other commenter that it is WAY too loud in there. It's a small, noisy space to begin with, the restaurant and the bar are all packed in together, so there's a lot of "people" noise. Then they have the music at a volume that could cause your eardrums to blister. I assume they are trying to create an energetic vibe, and loud music may be great for a bar, but it's no fun trying to sit and have dinner with your family or friends and not be able to hear what they are saying. Please turn the music down a bit!

In summary:

-the food was good although not exceptional or particularly creative
-service needs some work
-it's too loud
-there are so many good southwestern/Mexican restaurants in Scottsdale that I think we will continue to go elsewhere until things have settled out a bit at Salt & Lime. It's not really worth the hassle at the moment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DawnM160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Salt+lime = everything that was missing ....”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Visited this Urban/Mexican eatery last week with high expectation from the same people who brought Stone and vine to life, well, the place needs some "work"...here it goes : the menu is very nice and enticing, well constructed and within the tradition of Mexican food with some nice combinations...The only issue, and a fairly large one, is the fact that the food had no outstanding seasoning or spice or depth whatsoever...it was actually quite blend, good, good ingredients but without any tasting conviction. Almost prepared for a senior clientele, except they wont come because of the awfully loud music playing on a defective sound system (only one speaker working transferring mid range and treble to a new height of human perception and consequently truly painful to your ears)....don't take me wrong, this can be fixed quickly, and it should be done rather emergently ! The music was too loud on that crappy system ( and i go to Tool and Metallica concerts...) and i couldnt hear myself in the bar area...there is no need for that, it was obnoxious to play rock and roll so loud and a crime to play it on this s/system.. those are details but they will prevent a large portion of patrons to come or comeback, including me...The cocktail and bar is nicely stocked with one bad note, and most likely a misprint : Partido Tequila for $50 a shot ! i don't think so, let's say i hope it was a misprint... Again, nothing is written in stone, i can see a tremendous potential for this place, rather small in surface, but the food has to come to life with Passion, grace and fire like the Latino culture and the music has to be tone down and the speaker should get fixed...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irrawady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“5 days old”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have been waiting with great expectations! Our office is next door. Our first visit today was taco-centric. Pork belly and crane asada preceded by ceviche and margaritaville. Terrific combination of tastes.. We'll trained servers. Go and give it a try!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt + Lime also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Salt + Lime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing