We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Service!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
W Scottsdale
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
boulder
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Service!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

I was here for three nights in May for a little relaxation with a friend. We spent most of our time by the pool, and the staff out there was terrible. Half the time we couldn't find someone to get us a drink, and the other half of the time, they got it wrong when we did order! Bringing us the wrong drink or wrong amount of drinks was par for the course. Plus the pool food was very expensive for what you got - the cheese plate is dry cheese with old fruit. Would absolutely not stay here again! I'm willing to pay for a nice hotel, but this wasn't what I was expecting!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazeljla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    221
    106
    56
    70
See reviews for
48
220
67
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

Stayed here for one night only after we flew in from Maryland. Got an awesome upgrade to a Cool Corner Suite - being an SPG gold member has its benefits!! The room was ridiculous!!! It was completely W style, very modern. We had floor to ceiling widows and a balcony that overlooked the pool. Even though it was a Wednesday night the scene down at the pool was in full swing. We were extremely tired from our flight so we just ordered room service ( which promptly arrived within 25 minutes as promised) and sat on our balcony to enjoy it. As we went to bed, the music from the pool was loud and I thought it would impede my ability to fall asleep but it didn't. The bathroom was huge - very open so it wouldn't be ideal for sharing it with someone you don't want to. Overall, we loved it and can't wait to come back. Next time we'll definately stay longer and enjoy the pool - the cabanas looked like fun!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sginmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
288 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

Just came back from 2 nights at the W. First of all, kudos to the concierge who was able to book us a tour of the Grand Canyon leaving at 7am Saturday morning when I asked at 10pm.

The hotel is pure W - modern, hip, fun. This is not your standard hotel - you need to be open to things being done a bit differently if you're going to enjoy this place. First of all, the room looks more like a bedroom than a hotel room. The desk is attached to the head of the bed and there's not a ton of space to move around in the rest of the room (small complaint here, the bed is not as comfortable as other W hotels I have stayed in...and I liked those so much that I ended up buying the W bed). There's also no real seperation between bedroom and bathroom area (toilet area and shower areas are enclosed, but sink and vanity area are not -- although there's a sliding door you can use if you want).

Then there's the rest of the place. We had dinner at Sushi Roku - excellent food, nice ambiance and then went up for some drinks to the pool area. At first, I really disliked this pool/lounge scene - it felt very hyped up, very LA, MTV (as someone else mentioned below). In a short-sleeved, above-knee-length dress, I kind of felt like I was dressed waaayy too conservatively. But I warmed to the place after we sat down in one of the poolside cabanas and just watched the crowd.

The next day, the pool was just as much of a scene. Word to the wise, not a good idea to drink several sangrias (good as they are here) in 107 degree heat.

I highly recommend the Grand Canyon tour that the hotel arranged (the tour operator is called Detours) - at $140/person, it's not cheap. But it's a nice van ride (10 people max) up to Sedona and the Grand Canyon. We didn't plan on the helicopter ride but ended up going for it. My advice would be to take the cheaper heli ride - we took the more expensive one and felt that we would have been fine with the other one (the best part is flying over the rim, when the groud suddenly drops out from under you).

Anyway, the W is a lot of fun if you're up to it. If you're looking for a more relaxing experience and don't want to be around a lot of party types, this probably isn't for you.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunny77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

This was a wonderful place to stay! We loved it!! It is ultra modern, so if you weren't into modern and trendy, this wouldn't be the place to stay. But we like modern/trendy. It is extremely clean. The service is beyond fabulous. We were checking out and I mentioned to my husband that I needed to get a bottle of water - the front desk woman that was helping us radioed someone and within seconds a man walked up with two water bottles for us.

The pool area is great with very comfortable lounge chairs (see photos) and a sandy area. The only complaint that I had was that the water was too cold in the pool. But I am a wimp for cold water. I could only get in once.

We had a wonderful time and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelintuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

Ok, so here is the deal with the W Scottsdale, I travel alot. My wife and I usually stay in higher end places that offer great nightlife and a trendy atmosphere. The W Scottsdale is just that. If you are the type of person that complains about prices, dont go! If you dont like the 25-35 crowd, dont go! If you dont like noise, dont go! But the W offers exaclty what I wanted, a cool trendy place that we could have drinks by the pool during the day and have a nightclub experience at night. This is not a hotel for older people or children. It is for good looking young people with money. Its as simple as that. If you dont't fit that demographic then you should try one of the other scottsdale resorts. I live in Phoenix but still go to the resorts on the weekends to party, this hotel is made for that. As far as people saying bad things about the service, they are crazy. The service at the W is great, for example, I left some clothes at the fron desk when I checked in. I noticed this some timer later, when I called down to ask them if my clothes were still there they said they would look and call me back. They did not find my clothes there because I left them in my car, without even calling me back, they went to my car found my clothes and brought them to me. Great service. This is a great hotel for a certain type of traveler, so if you fit the mold, then you will have a great time!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewsliketotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed 2 nights. I'll start with the cons first. $23 a day parking (made me reluctant to tip valets). No tub in standard room only a shower. Mattress not the most comfortable. Standard view less than desireable, mostly parking garages and streets below. A better view can be upgraded for a fee. No hot tubs at pool area. Pricey. Now for the pros. New. Why should I pay the same for a refurbed hotel? Location second to none. One block from trolley cars (free) and newest malls. Room on the sixth floor very quite. Exceptionally friendly desk clerks and valets. Super clean rooms and facilities. Neat pool. I would be nervous with small children being for the fact that it is on the second floor with a hand rail up to the waist, much like a cruise ship I suppose. I might would stay there again, then again might look around. Overall not bad and new.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetzoom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

We were so impressed with the ambiance, amenities and design of Scottsdale's latest hot spot... but the hotel employees ruined it all. The customer service we received was nothing short of horrible... truly horrible. From the valet/bellman who expected us to transport our own bags upon arrival (we self-parked so apparently porterage service isn't available unless you register your car at the hotel), to the front desk who argued with us over the room type we reserved, to the concierge who informed us that the hotel does not have a supply of rollaway beds and that they must borrow them from other nearby hotels. Overall, the W Scottsdale staff treated us as if they were being inconvenienced by our presence. They acted as if they were doing us an undeserved favor by offering us any service at all. We were not made to feel welcome and our business was not appreciated in the slightest; with all of the other fun and trendy hotels in downtown Scottsdale we will take care to make a better selection for our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItsAllAboutService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Saguaro Scottsdale
#48 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Aloft Scottsdale
#62 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial
#40 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Scottsdale

Property: W Scottsdale
Address: 7277 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#38 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#45 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel is located in the heart of town offering a chic getaway in Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Starwood and Jetsetter so you can book your W Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
w Hotels Scottsdale
w Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing