We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W Scottsdale”
Review of W Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Scottsdale
Ranked #49 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I came into W Scottsdale at the end of a 12 city trip with an intense mix of business and pleasure. Having never really stayed outside of the airport in Phoenix, and never worked in the area, this brief trip in the area was full of firsts for me. Being an extremely loyal SPG Platinum member and big W brand fan, I made sure to book this hotel. The hotel lived up to the quality both SPG and the W brand have delivered at oter properties that I have stayed at. Valet and check-in were a breeze, and upon check in I was happy to find out that I was upgraded to room 232- an extraordinary spa suite with pool level access directly from my patio! The pool area was fabulous- delicious drinks and attentive staff, not to mention gorgeous residents scattered around on the pool chairs. At night, the bar area was vibrant, and instead of going out I decided to stay close and eat at the attached Sushi Roku. The sushi was fabulous and the price was better than expected. The front desk very graciously handled some business tasks that I had before check out, with perfect advice and direction. Before turning in the night before my flight, that sap tub in my suite was put to use- it made a 5 hour flight the next day less brutal. I completely enjoyed my stay here at W Scottsdale and highly recommend this location- I would think it certainly outshines other choices in the area!

Room Tip: Ask for the spa suite, or just book it directly- it is well worth it. Amazing square footage and to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotSpotJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 958 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

Hotel is very trendy. The accommodations were very nice, although not a lot of drawer space. I was attending a conference, and I must say they did a fabulous job of taking care of me especially since I have a few food allergies.
The only down side is the pool, during the day it is lovely, but in the evening it turns into a very trendy nightclub. The hotel lobby becomes the bouncer area for waiting club goers, making it a bit difficult to get back in and up to your room. This didn't annoy us the hotel accommodated us, the noise level wasn't disturbing based on where our room was located, but I didn't go out of my way to visit the pool in the evening, although it would have been nice to enjoy a quiet drink up there.

Room Tip: Great location central to everything. We took a fabulous walk up to Camelback, I ran the canal in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fouldstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I recently stayed here for work. The W Scottsdale is a nice hotel in a great are. There are many, many restaurants to choose from. And, there's a rather large mall nearby, within walking distance. The staff is very friendly. The hotel is very clean. The room layout, in my opinion, leaves much to be desired, however. The bed does not face the door. I know this seems insignificant, but it is a bit odd. The room is also very small. The sink is in the middle in between the shower and the bathroom stall in an open area. I, personally, did not love the room, hence the average rating.

I would stay again simply based on location and staff only.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopeful74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Hello,

Our location is great for enjoying everything Scottsdale has to offer. We are in the heart of the Entertainment District and within walking to distance to many restaurant and shopping options. If you need any recommendations, please reach out to our Insider Rachael. She would be more than happy to set up a few reservations for you. The floating bed and open floor plan is unique from other hotels. Most our guests love the design, but we recognize that it isn't for everyone.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Cheers,
Alexa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We are in our late 50s and recently stayed at the W in Scottsdale. It is in a good location, the staff are friendly and the bathroom amenities are excellent - Bliss products from the Bliss spa within the hotel. I probably would not stay there again for several reasons: I didn't like the room, too modern, platform type bed sleeping with back to door. It may sound odd but the logistics of the room put me off and I didn't sleep well on the platform bed. The pool which we would like to have visited was full of loud young party crowd so no quiet lounging there. If you are under 35 you may very well like this hotel a lot. Unfortunately it wasn't for us hence the lower rating.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a quiet room. We did and must admit didn't hear any of the partying going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broughton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Hello,

It's true that we aren't for everyone, but we do try to make all of our guests as comfortable as possible. If you are looking for a more relaxing stay we recommend one of our nearby sister hotels. They all have wonderful pools and spas. We are a little more quiet during mid-week if you are wanting to lounge poolside.

Best,
Alexa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel is located right in the middle of the action in Scottsdale and is a great place to stay for young adults (I would not really recommend it for families). During the day, the pool area is filled with people and you can rent a cabana for the day to enjoy food and drinks. At the night, the lobby and upstairs pool turn into a lounge and are a great place to hang out. The on site Japanese restaurant has some really good food, and some really cheap prices during happy hour!!

Our suite was spacious and had a modern look. Not sure if I am a huge fan of the open bathroom lay out but it looks really nice! The bed was comfortable. We had a mix up at the outset in respect of our room, and after some prodding, the hotel made things right.

The hotel is not cheap to stay at. But if you are looking for a nice stay right in the heart of things, I would recommend the W.

Room Tip: You can get a room on the same level of the pool so that you can literally step out into the pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToucanSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at this W hotel this past week. Like most W's they are catering to the 20-30's hipster set. I was there Thursday and Friday and both nights the pool and lobby bar were hopping and fun. I felt a bit old with all these young hipsters, but it was good people watching.

Now to the rooms. The room I had was 1) not inexpensive. 2) rather small. 3) a studio apartment like set up. I felt like I was back in my first apartment. I guess what got me was the layout and the fact that the sink was right in the room. The room felt small and I can not imagine if there were two people in there how crowded it would feel.
The whole set up does not work for the space.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hi Zander,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us! Our typical weekend guest is here for the lively atmosphere, but during the weekend we host a lot of corporate travelers. We dial it back during the week with acoustic performances in the Living Room, and turn it back up on the weekend with live DJ sets at WET. Our room size is in line with our sister W Hotels, but we change it up with our unique decor. The floating bed and open floor plan keeps it light. We have a few different room types to offer. Let us know what you're looking for and we'd be happy to accommodate.

Best,
Alexa W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Loved the room and decor. Hotel staff was beyond friendly. Unfortunately I was there for work so I didn't have time to hit the pool and enjoy the bar area which was nice and lively. Definitely a great place to stay for a fun week. Only negative was the toilet paper was awful! Literally it was like sandpaper. I actually went to Walgreens and bought TP as my day 2 i could take it anymore. So if staying I recommend bring some baby wipes.

Room Tip: if you are there for business ask to stay on the quiet side. It was great. Other areas in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneliesvdM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hi there!

You'll have to come back for a more leisurely stay! WET and The Living Room are great on the weekends with live DJ sets and performances. Plus, you can treat yourself to a spa day at Bliss. Their massages and facials are life changing!

See you soon,
Alexa W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Valley Ho
Hotel Valley Ho
#7 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saguaro Scottsdale
Saguaro Scottsdale
#47 of 75 in Scottsdale
886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aloft Scottsdale
Aloft Scottsdale
#62 of 75 in Scottsdale
48 reviews
1.8 mi away
Andaz Scottsdale Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Scottsdale

Address: 7277 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#38 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#45 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $309 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel is located in the heart of town offering a chic getaway in Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your W Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
w Hotels Scottsdale
w Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing