We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much of a party hotel”
Review of W Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Scottsdale
Ranked #49 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Too much of a party hotel”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had such a good experience in San Francisco W hotel, we were very excited to stay at Scottsdale W Hotel! Well, the experience couldn’t be more different. Scottsdale W Hotel was girls gone wild! We could not go to the pool at all, because there was a college kids and wildness. The staff gave suggestions to restaurants and places to visit, all were horrible. We learned quickly that the staff wasn’t knowledgeable; they were too young and uncultured. Our room was incredible small, and did not have the Zen feel that SF did… We were disappointed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dannell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Dannell,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize that you did not have the experience you were expecting. All W Hotel’s encompass the vibe of the city they are in. Each is a little different, providing a unique experience for each city you visit. Being located in Old Town Scottsdale does put us in middle of the best attractions in the area. If there is ever anything we can do for you during your stay please call down to Whatever/Whenever and we will be happy to assist you. I hope to see you on your next visit to Scottsdale.

Best wishes,
Alexandra W. - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    231
    108
    59
    75
See reviews for
49
231
68
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided we needed to get away from cold weather where we live so we decided to visit AZ. This was our first time visiting Scottsdale. This hotel was exactly what we needed. It was clean, modern, and the staff was very friendly. We were a bit taken aback by the Friday & Saturday night DJ party at the pool but it didn't bother us as we are both music lovers and enjoyed the music, even from our room. The pool was quiet and relaxing during the weekdays and a lively party on the weekends. The staff was welcoming & accommodating. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool on the weekends can be a bit loud as they have a DJ party on the pool deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hello,

You picked the right place to warm up and unwind! Our Talent is committed to creating the best stay for each guest and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed everything from the décor to the service. I appreciate your compliments and will be sure to share them with the Talent.

We do have a very lively pool, especially on the weekends. The DJ’s create the perfect amount of energy for any music lover. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay!

Best,
Alexa W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent our wedding night there in one of the rooms overlooking the pool. The rooms were great and of a nice size, the beds very comfortable and the view perfect. Since it is a hotel with apparently the most vibrant club in Scottsdale, the level of noise was above the limit, but it did not bother us.
Upon check in a bottle of champagne and a bowl of strawberries were waiting for us in the room, along with a card from the GM. Very nice touch!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixMcGuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hi,

Congratulations! We are so grateful to have had you for such a special day! It was our pleasure to make your night a memorable one. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you again soon.

Best wishes,
Alexa W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

If your looking for a place right in the middle of the action, stay at this hotel! The location can't be beat; a few blocks from Fashion Square Mall, Waterfront area (if looking for a blow out, Primp and Blow is awesome!) and lots of bars and restaurants.

The pool is quite a scene on the weekends. We are in our mid thirties and didn't feel like we were surrounded by 20 somethings (all ages were at the pool, but I would not have my children there). Several famous football and basketball players were there the weekend we were (Larry Fitzgerald was hosting a charity event in the area). That doesn't really matter, but it was cool. The drinks and food (cobb salad and sushi!) at the pool were great and the waitresses were pretty good. It did get a little slow on Saturday when the pool was packed but no big deal.

The room itself was a little small but totally functional. Great shower and comfortable bed. Our room led out to a courtyard that had direct access to the pool. That was nice as we spent most of our time there.

Staff was great. Awesome concierge that nabbed us a great reservation at the last minute on a Friday night.

Cute little boutique in the lobby.

*helpful tip* If you are a guest of the hotel you can go around to the back entrance of the pool and NOT wait in the long line (in the lobby) for the nightclub in the evening. Just use your room key and go to the second floor, hang a left and go outside and follow the path to the gate.



  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATravelGirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello,

I have to agree with you that this is a fun hotel right in the middle of all the action! Old Town has so much to offer in terms of nightlife, dining and shopping so I’m glad you had a chance to take advantage of it all.

WET is a very popular place in the area for soaking up some sun, enjoying great music and grabbing a few cocktails. I am glad to hear that our Talent was so attentive while you lounged. They are all very dedicated to providing the best service.

Thank you for the kind words. I will be sure to pass them along to the Talent here. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

All the best,
Alexa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a fun and fabulous experience recently at the W Scottsdale! Luckily, I was upgraded to a spacious corner suite with a king size bed and an open layout. The room had a living room area, a big desk and a computer as well. I was so impressed with the beautiful, modern bathroom and walk-in shower with natural light - if only I could put it in my suitcase and take it home with me. Also, the hotel features some wonderful products directly from the Bliss spa downstairs in the lobby. (I had the opportunity to enjoy the spa -- it's small, but they offer a lot of great treatments). Location is great - it's an easy walk to downtown with all the shops and restaurants. The pool was really nice, but on the weekends it does have a "Vegas" vibe with really loud music and a lot of 20-somethings in bikinis and lot of drinking. It's party central. That's perfect if you are looking for a good time, but if you are seeking a quiet place to read a book, forget it! It's a see an be seen kind of place. Really, the only downside was that internet was not free in the rooms -- And it was expensive.
Also, don't miss Sushi Roku - a fabulous sushi restaurant in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room! Some rooms have balconies, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi,

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to upgrade you. Bliss Spa is a fantastic way to really unwind. It’s an added plus that we supply their products in our rooms too. The lemon sage scent is so refreshing. Our Old Town location puts us in the center of all the best dining, shopping and bars in the area so I am glad to hear that you had a chance to explore.

WET is very lively with DJ’s spinning and a great crowd. We always recommend that guests who are looking for a quiet place to read arrive early to enjoy the sun before the DJ starts. Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,
Alexa W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone over the age of 40 or without a lot of money to throw around. This is clearly a place for the young jet setter that wants to see and be seen. It is hard to navigate throughout the hotel even your own room because everything is dimly lit. The beds are too close to the floor making it hard to get in and out of. Because this hotel caters to a younger crowd, be prepared to be awaken from midnight to 3am from late night clubbers. Not all, but many of the front desk staff seemed disinterested in helping or engaging the older folks or those that were not chicly dressed. Be wary of the in room mini bar. Not only are items expensive but the added unpublished service charges will make your head spin. Finally it is one of the last hotels of this caliber that I have stayed in that charges you for in room internet access.

Room Tip: The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Scottsdale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. We are a very lively hotel due to our location in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale. There is often a lot happening from parties on the WET deck to concerts in the Living Room. We do our best to keep guests well informed of events on property during their stay. We also do our best to control the noise levels of guests returning from a night out. If you ever experience an issue, please just call and we will do all that we can to make a comfortable stay for everyone.

Our munchies box is very well stocked with favorites from chips to gummy bears. There is a note card located inside every munchies box detailing out the prices of each item. I apologize for the confusion.

All the best,
Alexandra W. - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We celebrated my girlfriends bachlorette party here and the hotel was perfect for this kind of weekend. The pool has DJ's spinning music all afternoon, and the atmosphere is a party all day and all night. The hotel staff were so incredible to us. They helped us organize our dinners and our nights out. Jilli, the manager there was such a sweetheart and went above and beyond to make sure we had the best of everything and her staff also regularly checked in with us to make sure we were happy. If you are travelling with kids or your family, maybe not the best choice, but for a fun weekend away, this is a great hotel. We had the best time here and could not have chosen a better property in Scottsdale to fit our needs. The pool could be a bit larger, but the new addition across the street, Maya, has a really large pool that you can also visit as a hotel guest. The gift shop has some really cute things for pretty reasonable, so be careful if you are a shopper, cause its hard to say no. The location was also great. Definitely an awesome spot for a party weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,638 reviews
Saguaro Scottsdale
#44 of 75 in Scottsdale
861 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Scottsdale
#62 of 75 in Scottsdale
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Scottsdale

Property: W Scottsdale
Address: 7277 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#38 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#45 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel is located in the heart of town offering a chic getaway in Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
w Hotels Scottsdale
w Hotel Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing