We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I like Mexican food!”

The Spotted Donkey Cantina
Reserve with OpenTable
The Spotted Donkey Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 1,241 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Carefree Hwy
Description: Fresh, lively and energetic, the Spotted Donkey Cantina at el Pedregal is a Scottsdale original. Offering the best drinks, unique food and a festive atmosphere are quickly earning Spotted Donkey Cantina at el Pedregal a reputation as the place to dine in North Scottsdale. The restaurant's North Scottsdale location provides a fabulous backdrop of 12-million-year-old rock formations and you can catch the Arizona sky creating a stunning atmosphere on our large outdoor patio. Best Happy Hour 2012 | AZ Centrals Readers Choice Awards Best Mexican Food 2013 | Arizona Foothills Magazine
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I like Mexican food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is the best Mexican food I have ever tasted! NO TACO BELL HERE....THIS IS THE REAL DEAL! I suggest the Jalepena poppers first....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    205
    86
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reminded us of cantinas in Cancun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very good food, my husband loved the pork enchiladas, I had the chicken mole which was excellent. Service was awesome and ambience was just true to the theme of the place. It really transported us back to a restaurant we went to while vacationing in Cancun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
239 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I had the green chili ceasar and my husband had tacos. Both entrees were good. Service was excellent. The cocktails are really good too. I had the st. Germaine cocktail which was unbelievably good. The one draw back is you have to order chips and salsa (for like 8$) when most Mexican restaurants they are complimentary.

Helpful?
Thank Travel_moore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sensational sauces...an incredible Mexican dining experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is some of the most amazing and complex Mexican food that we have ever experienced! Kudos to Chef Esteban Colon...the ingredients used in preparation are so fresh and the food and sauces he prepares so amazing and unique, that we ended up eating three meals in a row at The Spotted Donkey because we just could not get enough!! Each item we ordered from the menu...just kept us wanting to try more! The donkey nachos, pork and beef enchiladas, chicken chimichanga, panko crusted calamari and Baja tacos were all AMAZING! I wish that we had even more time at The Boulders Resort so that we could have tried even more items on the menu!

We were served by Josh and Scott and we cannot say enough about their service and great personalities! They are truly committed to the restaurant and the Chef and want to ensure that your dining experience is amazing!

Thanks again...the next time we are in the Phoenix area...we will be back!!! :o)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved Happy Hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We enjoyed happy hour at the Spotted Donkey and had $5 margaritas and apps. Great value and delicious! Also the bartenders were personable and friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brit702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spotted Donkey Cantina also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Spotted Donkey Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing