We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! Lacking service”

The Spotted Donkey Cantina
Reserve with OpenTable
The Spotted Donkey Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 1,261 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Carefree Hwy
Description: Fresh, lively and energetic, the Spotted Donkey Cantina at el Pedregal is a Scottsdale original. Offering the best drinks, unique food and a festive atmosphere are quickly earning Spotted Donkey Cantina at el Pedregal a reputation as the place to dine in North Scottsdale. The restaurant's North Scottsdale location provides a fabulous backdrop of 12-million-year-old rock formations and you can catch the Arizona sky creating a stunning atmosphere on our large outdoor patio. Best Happy Hour 2012 | AZ Centrals Readers Choice Awards Best Mexican Food 2013 | Arizona Foothills Magazine
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“Great food! Lacking service”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place came highly recommended to me buy a co worker and I was really excited to dine here, the food was amazing. My wife and I both had enchiladas and margaritas, and were extremely satisfied. However, our server josh made us feel rushed and uncomfortable throughout our dining experience. We will return again however we will definitely be dining at the bar area

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    210
    90
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Mexican food along with excellent service. Top choices of our group was the meatloaf, stuffed peppers and nacho appetizer. The chirizo gravy on the meatloaf was unique yet very tasty. The stuffed peppers were very good. The nachos had a lot of meat and cheese and could easily be a meal if so desired. We also had sopapillas and this choice should be split between at least two parties. You get 6 sopapillas, some ice cream and whipped cream----excellent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jweaver21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Baja fish tacos and margaritas”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

In Scottsdale it is hard to distinguish between all the Mexican style restaurants. Spotted Donkey is not the only place the serves a Mexican menu but so far it is the best Baja fish taco I ever had. Better than fish tacos that I ate in Mexico. They make me dream of Cabo and sunshine and cold margaritas...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nthirion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I loved this place. Informal, low key, middle price range, Mexican cantina around 30 min drive North of Phoenix. Certainly worth the drive. The drive itself gives fantastic views of the surrounding rugged mountainous landscape. It's easy to miss, and is set in a fairly non-descript mall. Entering the restaurant though, there is a busy, buzzing atmosphere. Many Mexican cantina's have fairly standard menus, but this menu was very inventive - while still being distinctly Mexican. The cocktail menu also had their own twists on a few classics. We had a selection of starters, and my duck Quesedilla special was a great choice.... although I think I would have been delighted with whatever I ordered, given how good everything looked. The servers were very adept at catering to the large group too. My group included quite a few locals, who rate it very highly. All of that combined with the reasonable prices, make this place a must visit....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food!!! but get reservations!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had dinner last night here, and just loved it! Everything we ordered from the appetizers to the drinks was really "Amazing" you won't go wrong here! Just a heads up......Try the Jalapeno poppers in shot glasses and or the Shrimp tempura....You will be the hit at the table for these 2 orders:)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ezzie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spotted Donkey Cantina also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Spotted Donkey Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing