We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummmmy!!!”

The Spotted Donkey Cantina
Reserve with OpenTable
The Spotted Donkey Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 1,268 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Carefree Hwy
Description: Fresh, lively and energetic, the Spotted Donkey Cantina at el Pedregal is a Scottsdale original. Offering the best drinks, unique food and a festive atmosphere are quickly earning Spotted Donkey Cantina at el Pedregal a reputation as the place to dine in North Scottsdale. The restaurant's North Scottsdale location provides a fabulous backdrop of 12-million-year-old rock formations and you can catch the Arizona sky creating a stunning atmosphere on our large outdoor patio. Best Happy Hour 2012 | AZ Centrals Readers Choice Awards Best Mexican Food 2013 | Arizona Foothills Magazine
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummmmy!!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I don't think you can go very wrong with anything really but.....the medallions with mac n cheese (which isnt regular mac n cheese AT ALL) is to die for!!!! So so so good, save your appetite! I also love hot n spicy so tried these jalapeno poppers which are actually real jalapeno peppers. I was told they'd be hot hot hot...BUT it depends on the pepper you get, I actually got them to give me a half order so only 1/3 was kinda hot. But still very good and wayyyyy coooool the way they serve them in shooter glasses filled with ranch :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeekingGREATfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    212
    91
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great food!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Fun ambience, friendly and terrific food. Nice outside area as well. had pan fried Tilapia with shrimp, superb tomato soup!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank soccersenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I say find because that is what you do...this is not easily seen from the road. It is tucked back into the el Pedregal shopping area. From the outside it all looks like a very dark building. Once inside the area you will find stores and restaurants.

We opted for the Spotted Donkey and were so glad we did. Southwest cuisine with a New Mexican twist. If you like New Mexico Green Chile this is one of the few spots I have found in the Phoenix / Scottsdale area that serves it.

Chips and Salsa for $7 is a bit pricy but you do get 3 salsa and dips to sample with it. The house margarita is made with tequila specifically made for this restaurant. They are delicious!

Fajitas were the item of choice for our table. Chicken and beef with sausage. All very good. Fresh food, great flavor. I had the cheese enchiladas with both red and green chile (Christmas style!)

We had a party of 6 and waited about 20 minutes so if you have more than 2 I would recommend reservations.

The staff was all very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeGolf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The spotted donkey provides a great atmosphere that we enjoy often and are sure to take out of town guests who want a local taste. The chef is excellent, the atmosphere is great. Terrific pride in the restaurant and great staff.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank robswagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solebury, pa
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit for lunch.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very nice place to have a late lunch. Sit outside and have Apps. Very good food which has a mexican flare. I have been ther several times and have found the food consistantly good. Will return again and have the Ceveichie with homemade chips.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank norman r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spotted Donkey Cantina also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Spotted Donkey Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing