We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tasty food, but pricey”

The Spotted Donkey Cantina
Reserve with OpenTable
The Spotted Donkey Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 1,250 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Carefree Hwy
Description: Fresh, lively and energetic, the Spotted Donkey Cantina at el Pedregal is a Scottsdale original. Offering the best drinks, unique food and a festive atmosphere are quickly earning Spotted Donkey Cantina at el Pedregal a reputation as the place to dine in North Scottsdale. The restaurant's North Scottsdale location provides a fabulous backdrop of 12-million-year-old rock formations and you can catch the Arizona sky creating a stunning atmosphere on our large outdoor patio. Best Happy Hour 2012 | AZ Centrals Readers Choice Awards Best Mexican Food 2013 | Arizona Foothills Magazine
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“tasty food, but pricey”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is a nice restaurant and their food is very tasty. It's very busy and pricey for a tex mex style restaurant. There are better mexican style restaurants to go to in the area. Not too many optons for vegetarians, other than asking them to make veggie fajitas for the same price as meat fajitas

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Travelingintime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersResort, Manager at The Spotted Donkey Cantina, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thank you very much for the review of the Spotted Donkey. We are most grateful for your valuable insight and have evaluated the pricing on our vegetable fajitas and are pleased to inform you the price has been reduced.

Once again thank you for your time and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    207
    89
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“simple fare”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

our room came with free breakfast here, it was ok. Bagels, cereal, eggs, nothing very fancy. It was perfect for the kids if they don't like to eat big. It was also convient to get something and go off on any planned day trips

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank goswett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's not the same as the other Spotted Donjey”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The good was below average. My Queso Fundido was plain and disnt resemble real Queso Fundido. The bread it was served with was burnt on one side. They chose to place the nicely browned side up. The server never asked if everything was satisfactory. He ignored our table once he spotted the burnt bread.
My husbands carne asada was not tasty.
Our sever Josh was not attentive to our table. He didn't ask if we wanted another drink. Very bad service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank METChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCarlin, General Manager at The Spotted Donkey Cantina, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
I am very disappointed to learn of your less than satisfactory experience with us. It is through the honest feedback from our guests like you that we gain the insight to improve our facilities and service levels. Please be assured that your comments have been taken seriously and steps have been taken to correct the shortcomings. It is certainly our goal to have our guests leave with a truly memorable experience and I regret that your experience was not a positive one. I hope you accept my sincere appologies and hope to see you back in our restaurant soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely welcoming setting; great margaritas!!!”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Try a time close to the sunset. You won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kristina062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
189 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Incredible Queso ... rest of the food was just OK”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The Queso was among the best I have ever had. It used real chees (not that processed cheese crud) and it was brimming with flavor. I wish everything else would have lived up to the Queso. Unfortunately, it was not. The rest of the food was just average. The drinks were good.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank travelinlight58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spotted Donkey Cantina also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Spotted Donkey Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing