We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a jewel anymore”

Jewel of the Crown, Cuisine of India
Ranked #338 of 1,241 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $11 - $18
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Description: Options: Lunch 5 days and Dinner 7 days. Lunch: Wed-Fri: 11:00 AM - 2:30 PM; Sat-Sun: 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM. Dinner: Sun-Thu: 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM; Fri-Sat: 5:00 PM - 10:30 PM. Price Range: $11 - $18.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
553 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Not a jewel anymore”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Tried this out since my wife loves Indian food. I will say this is the first time trip advisor was dead wrong. Not a #1 in its category. First the place and restrooms were dirty and no one was eating here which should have been my first clue.

Had vindaloo lamb and it was not fresh meat was tough and pre cooked then thrown in the sauce. Very small portion and not a quality item. Tandoori chicken which I have had many places was dry and served on a stale bed of veggies. Not really edible but I was hungry. Nan was good. Appetizer's had no taste and were previously frozen.

This is not a good place and will be out of business soon unless it improves. Even at the $17 per plate it was terrible. Skip this place. 1 star at best

Sorry but I did not like it compared to any other Indian places.

Will not try again not sure how anyone could rate above 2 or 3 star.

Strange trip advisor was wrong.. I did hear it was better int he 1980s.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k123-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place, excellent food.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We look for Indian food wherever we travel. This is great Indian food. They will let you select: mild, medium, spicy, or very spicy. Selections were true to taste. Food is served in stainless steel bowls with small candles in bottom to keep food hot while eating. Parking is not close, need to walk to get to location. But in a very nice mall.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirabbit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the food!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I really enjoyed the Indian food there. It really gave us a true Indian experience. The location was nice and the staff were friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“eating Indian”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

what a marvelous meal. flavors were very interesting and delicious. not easy to find but worth the effort.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice location in Old scottsdale town”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Food was okay. Their serving bowls looked so deep and big.. but don't go by that. They just look big. They fit food for 2 perfectly. The restaurant is located at the back of the main road in a mall building in Old Scottsdale Town. You can walk and reach this restaurant from the free parking garage as their is no direct parking. There's a small park and an outdoor water fountain area near to the restaurant to chill in the evening after dinner. There is outdoor seating with heaters for a cold day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank palpande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewel of the Crown, Cuisine of India also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Jewel of the Crown, Cuisine of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing