We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great food”

ZuZu at Hotel Valley Ho
Reserve with OpenTable
ZuZu at Hotel Valley Ho is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 1,261 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Cross street: 69th Street and Indian School Road
Transit: The South West corner of 69th Street and Indian School
Description: ZuZu personifies what we love about Arizona: its rich sense of history, warm hospitality and all its gentle reminders that we should never take ourselves too seriously. Executive Chef Russell LaCasce serves up seasonal American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, featuring organic ingredients from local purveyors. Dine inside or on the shaded courtyard patio, with a wall of floor-to-ceiling glass that opens to let the outside in. The lounge is open until midnight or later daily, the perfect spot for happy hour, shared plates, crafty cocktails and classic martinis.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, great food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Chosen by my relatives as the venue for a family get together - perfect. Very attentive and helpful staff, good choice of food and drink - what's not to like? The setting particularly lends itself to evening dining (and remember, people start early here - 5:30 p.m. onwards) Would definitely put this restaurant on my list to visit again whilst in Phoenix.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at ZuZu at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
We appreciate your review! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    113
    32
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Relaxing retro brunch”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Valley Ho has a really retro feel to it, and it was maintained in a recent hotel-wide renovation. It's very present at ZuZu, their on-site restaurant, in a way that gives your meal a relaxed, sort of retro vibe. This extended to the unique stylings for some of the tableware, including the souffle/syrup cup and the butter cups that came with the bread basket.

We were seated indoors, but because of the great weather the glass walls were opened up to the outdoors. The service was prompt and friendly, and seemed to extend even beyond our meal, with offers to send us on our way with to-go beverage refills, scones from the bread basket that we failed to finish, and even extra coupons for the nearby culinary festival that another patron dropped at the hostess counter for others guests to use.

The food was fresh and the portions were perfect - not too much or too little. Two of us had omelettes, which were delicious. Substitutions were made happily and flexibly. Another ordered the fruit plate - beautifully presented with a wide variety of fresh fruit (strawberries, blackberries, raspberries, and melons) and cottage cheese. I mentioned the scones already... the berry scone was delicious (I wasn't, however, a fan of the chocolate scones).

We'll definitely return to ZuZu!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina5136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at ZuZu at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Retro with a flair”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We love to go to this restaurant since it is in the iconic Valley Ho in Scottsdale, a wonderfully restored mid century gem of architecture. Just going thru the lobby and you think you are in another, more slowly paced time. The food always pleases us. I had the Beef Stroganoff again, it seems to be my favorite, it is brought into this century by deconstructing it into basic elements. Freshly cooked noodles with a very rich mushroom/beef sauce over the noodles and a dallop of sour cream, you mix as you want. Service is very good, they do not hurry you, so you can enjoy the view of the gardens thru the expansive glass doors.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at ZuZu at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed the Beef Stroganoff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Soooooo Retro !”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

From the moment you arrive at the Valley Ho Hotel you begin to step back in time to the 50's and 60's. The decor is so "hotel version of House Beautiful". The restaurant ZuZu is open for indoor or outdoor dining complete with pool and fire pit. Even the food is a retro experience. Our favorite entree is their deconstructed version of Beef Stroganoff . The noodles were perfectly prepared and the beef and mushrooms in a delicious brown sauce were layered over with a large dollop sour cream. A great way to savor all the individual flavors.
The service was friendly and attentive. We can't wait to return and try other dishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at ZuZu at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
At one point we took the Beef Stroganoff off the menu, but had to bring it back due to popular demand! I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We sat outside and loved our total experience. The Chef at this restaurant is amazing. Food is so fresh. There is nothing we would change.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Texgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at ZuZu at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your review! I'm glad you had a great time at ZuZu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZuZu at Hotel Valley Ho also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to ZuZu at Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing