We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum”

La Torretta Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
La Torretta Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #222 of 1,267 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Paradise Valley
Cross street: Frank Lloyd Wright Blvd
Transit: Public transit stops East& West bound as well as North & South bound at the intersection.
Description: Voted the 'Best Italian Restaurant' by the readers of Scottsdale Magazine. La Torretta's combination of fine authentic Italian food, personalized service and congenial atmosphere amounts to the highest quality dining experience. The restaurant is elegantly decorated with Renaissance-era oil paintings and stained glass in the spirit of Italy. For a great outdoor dining experience, La Torretta features open air Patio Dining. Specialties include: Osso Buco, nightly Seafood Specials and homemade Pastas.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Not sure what to expect based on earlier very mixed reviews, but WOW! Great service, amazing entrees. My husband was thrilled by his eggplant parmesan (his standard for Italian). I had escolar with a lemon caper sauce, lobster ravioli, steamed veggies, all done to perfection. Definitely will be back

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieBax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    41
    14
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Twice nice”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is based on 2 visits to this family owned, kitschy homey real Italian restaurant. The space is filled with murals, tables nicely spaced and comfy booths mark the perimeter. The food is very generous and fresh. Bread and wonderfully seasoned oil start your palate. We enjoyed the field greens salad with cucumbers, cherry and carrots in a lovely white zinfandel vinaigrette. The servings are LARGE so share or watch the temptation to order multiple courses. Of course, you could just enjoy the leftovers! First visit was couples night and we enjoyed lasagne and veal piccata. I believe that veal is an excellent test of a true Italian restaurant and happily report that they passed with flying colors. Hence, the return visit with my daughter and son in law. The lasagna was again a success. The butternut squash ravioli was reported great by the vegetarian diner. My pork saltimbocca was not great...missing the salty bite of proscuitto that I look for. The Northern included veal rollatine and brown butter sage and porcini gnocchi went over well (including next day). The wine list is good and service great both times (Thanks Darius-sp?). Even mid week there is a loyal crowd.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank napalovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You HAVE to go there!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a groupon and it was a little out of our way, but I must say it was well worth it. My husband got the halibet and it was amazing. The service is outstanding. Our server was so funny we were still laughing when we got in the car. The food and the experience was more than we expected. We will be going there again!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4MONTHSAGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“WHO said Best Italian in Phoenix??? NO WAY!!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went here for the first time after having read several reviews stating it was voted the best Italian Restaurant in Phx for several years. What a joke! First, at 6pm on a Sat night, there were only 2 other tables with people sitting at them. Rolls arrived first, and while you could tell they were fresh, they were not the right consistency or texture (much too thick, heavy and dense) to be the kind to dip in balsamic vinaigrette, which is what was served with them. We shared a salad, which the server told us was their most popular; something with goat cheese, nuts, and dried fruit in it. While we typically love those ingredients in our salad, this one was very weak. Did not care for at all, and if that's their most popular, led us to wonder what the others were like? I ordered the eggplant parmesan which came with a side of penne pasta. Both items were tasteless, and needed much more seasoning. My husband ordered spaghetti bolognese, and said the meatballs and sausage were actually pretty good; but the spaghetti sauce and pasta in general left a lot to be desired; also tasteless and in need of more seasoning. Dessert was the best part of the meal; a chocolate sponge molten cake served with vanilla ice cream; although the ice cream was very skimpy. Also, prices were above average; more than we would have expected for the quality of the food we got. But what really turned us off to this place is that when we first arrived, I used the ladies room, and found that not one of their 4 soap dispensers had soap in them. I reported this immediately to the maitre'd, who said he'd take care of it right away. At the end of our meal I used the restroom again, only to find that they still had not put soap in any of the dispensers! I was disgusted, as this is the same restroom that their employees, who are cooking and serving our food, use! And they obviously could not wash with soap, either! Board of Health, take note. I can't understand how anyone could have possibly voted this Best Italian in Phoenix; there is no way!
We will not be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sherryshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
“Nice Ambiance, Pleasant Staff, Wonderful Italian Cuisine”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We celebrate family occasions at LaTorretta. Staff in the dining room greet each visitor as though they are old friends. Once you have visited twice, you become family! Our server, Chaz, was interesting and concerned about our food allergies and helped us to work around them with genuine interest. He remembered details from our past visits, and asks how absent family members are doing. He encourages us to ask questions about the menu and patiently explained all we needed to know to find the best and most delicious choices for every member of the family. La Torretta's Caesar and House salads are appropriately proportioned and very fresh. The antipasto plate was a very well presented feast. Their butternut squash ravioli is delicious, somewhat unusual and a meal we go back for time and again. Each of the entres ordered for our family were prepared meticulously and plated beautifully. Most entres featured delicious broccoli, carrots and cauliflower prepared slightly al dente. Sausage stuffed shells are delicious, handmade, the portion is probably large enough for two, and very popular with locals for good reason. The Chicken Genovese is one of our family favorites, generous in portion and is made with artichokes, capers and lemons. We have sampled many of the desserts on the menu over the years and have never been disappointed....Tiramisu, creme brulee, and raspberry sorbet bombe are our favorites out of a group of favorites. While La Torreta is a bit pricier than many of the restaurants in our area, as locals, we drive about 35 miles for truly celebratory meals as often as we can and frequently take guests. Ambiance at this restaurant is quiet and perfect for family or couples, and it is a good choice for impressing a new or prospective business client. There are interesting Architectural moldings and details which make the restaurant charming with characteristic art, white table cloths and linen napkins. Most patrons dress in office casual, however we have seen patrons in evening attire. The friendly yet sophisticated atmosphere is so different from the overwhelming arrogance often found in Scottsdale.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Torretta Ristorante also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to La Torretta Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing