We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Barbecue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bootleggers Modern American Smokehouse

Bootleggers Modern American Smokehouse
Ranked #62 of 1,239 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Bar, Barbecue, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Barbecue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

The barbecue here is second to none. We stopped into a boot store and asked if they had any southwestern barbecue around and the women pointed us to Bootleggers. The restaurant has only been open a few months and we need to make sure it stays open with great reviews. The food was fantastic and would highly recommend the pulled pork sandwich and add the fries to it. The fries are very good but have a nice little jalapeno kick to them. Service was very good but then we ate at 4:00pm so we were the only ones in the restaurant at this time. By the time we were done it was pretty crowded. My mouth is watering just writing this review.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cwmagli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    60
    17
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Smokehouse In Old Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were down at the farmers market Sat. morning in Old Town Scottsdale. which in itself is a great destination. One of the booths handing out samples was Bootleggers. We enjoyed the samples & were directed to the restaurant just around the corner. Having had a late breakfast we ordered lighter entrees, pulled pork & turkey breast. Each entrée came with slaw and two hot Tortillas. The servings were substantial, ended up taking some of both meals back home. The slaw was excellent, the meat was very moist & tasty. The pork takes the smoke flavour better than the turkey, but both were very good. The service was prompt & friendly, although it was early & the crowd was just starting to arrive. Its location is just off the main tourist street which doesn't help the popularity.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 28Huronshores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
334 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Excellent ribs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Had half rack St. Louis ribs, came with sides of slaw & 2 piping hot tortillas. They also have a lot of other sides for extra $, but I figured the basic order would be plenty and it was. The ribs were excellent, with a subtle smokey flavor and fortunately not slathered in sauce, a hallmark of mediocrity in many bbq joints in my opinion. The slaw was great too, not too sweet or bland and tasteless, which are the extremes I often encounter in lesser joints. Fast, efficient & friendly staff and a nice interior ambiance.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RPF49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent PB&J wings and bacon board!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

A fun, casual place with good comfort food. I crave their PB&J wings and the bacon bacon board was delicious. Service is inconsistent though so I haven't returned.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great BBQ restaurant in Old Town. Get the bacon board as an appetizer if you're with a group (It's a lot of bacon). Awesome drink menu with really interesting cocktails and a huge draft beef selection. Great atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scsn0wbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bootleggers Modern American Smokehouse also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Bootleggers Modern American Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing