We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Stylish hotel, with outstanding service.”
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent, Stylish hotel, with outstanding service.”
Reviewed December 11, 2010

This is an historic hotel built in the 1950's and they have really stayed to true to the Mid-Century modern style, while upgrading all amenities. We had a business meeting there, and the staff could not have been more accommodating. Amazing food, amazing service, amazing rooms, and right int he heart of downtown...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    424
    86
    34
    27
See reviews for
187
504
91
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mpls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Worst hotel experience in my life. First night was great, on the second night, my girlfriend and I were awakened at 4:30am by a burglar digging through one of our bags at the end of our bed. The guy ran out the patio and jumped the 4ft wall, never to be seen again. Security came, said they circle the grounds twice per hour and documented our patio door at midnight. We asked why they didn't just call us to tell us the door was open since it was a big enough issue for them to document - they had no answer. The guy who checked us out was aware of the incident and said nothing about it until we mentioned it. He comped us a $30 lunch as an afterthought and said the director of security wanted to talk to us. The security director was confrontational, defensive, and aggressive to talk to, he actually got up in my face. He had nothing to say except - well, we cannot predict the future. It was bad enough waking up to a burglar in our room, but the way the hotel staff handled the situation was inexcusable. The hotel is unsafe and the customer service is absolutely atrocious. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValleyNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexjade, General Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
We are very sorry to hear about this incident and have attempted on multiple occasions via phone and email to contact this guest to address the situation. Our hotel as well as the local Scottsdale area is historically very safe so this incident was not the norm nor something we have ever experienced in the past. We do constant security patrols of the property for our guests safety as well as monitor the property via video surveillance. Guests regularly sleep with their patio doors open as Arizona has excellent weather and guests enjoy the fresh air. It’s an option everyone has as each of our guest rooms has a balcony or patio. Our security department do keep detailed logs of all their activities including notation of anything they encounter while on patrol and also so they can closely monitor issues that could be a concern.



We are very proud of our staff and the excellent customer service levels they provide to guests on a constant basis. We welcome this guest to contact the hotel to further discuss their concerns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

This is a fun, vibrant, happening hotel - if you enjoy having a band so close you can not only HEAR the music but FEEL it right in your room! When I returned to the hotel at 10 pm on a Friday night, I first couldn't park in the hotel parking lot (very hard to find) because the lot was being used only for "valet" for Trader Vics (What??? I'm a hotel guest!). But that wasn't the worst of it. My room was in building 3 - right across from Trader Vics which, you guessed it, hosts live cover bands every Friday and Saturday night. That means no rest for the weary until all hours. I had my room changed and asked the staff member who helped me what's up with that and he said very few people complain (seriously?). So they were very accommodating about moving me and moved me to building 6 - which fronts a very busy road. So I traded feeling the drums for hearing the traffic. Bring earplugs. After a restless night's sleep, I went in search of morning coffee and learned that there is NO complementary coffee (what???) so I had to purchase it from restaurant for $3.50 a cup. Then I settled in to the pool area to read and was asked to move by the staff member who was hosing down the chairs (hello???). The room itself was very cute as was the bathroom. And the hotel is indeed located right in the thick of things - walking distance to the arts district and lots of restaurants and a very quick ride to ASU and the airport. This is a great hotel for the early morning crowd. It is not a good hotel for those seeking rest and relaxation (PS - you need a map to find it but there is indeed well disguised self-parking - no signage at all). Rest and relaxation may be purchased (together with complimentary coffee) for better rates at nearby properties.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed for 4 night's during a 15 day road trip. Ideal location close to, the art district. Very friendly staff in the restaurants , we ate in both ZuZu and Trader Bob's enjoyed the meals at both. If we come that way again we will be staying, however we were also told that if we didn't use the valet parking we would have to park on the street, never mind it didn't spoil our visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandy Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Greatly enjoyed our stay. Walking distance to galleries and many fine restaurants. Took advantage of the spa - wonderful massage. Lovely hotel staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2010

A friend and I went to visit a mutual friend. We decided to stay at the Hotel Valley Ho as it looked "cool" on the web site. I have to tell we were both very disappointed. The hotel's architecture is interesting, but once you get past the glitz I found it very mediocre. Kind of like West Elm, it looks cool from a distance, but when you look closely it is kind of cheap. The mattress was fair at best, OK linens, bath products were excellent as was the bathroom, but for $250+ a night I expected something much better. The bar scene was busy and I guess if you are 20-30 that might be a draw. We are both in our 40's and like to have a good time, but there was a lot of noise (that sounded like high school girls) that went late into the night. They are very proud of their hotel, but I really did not share their enthusiasm. There are a few different buildings and our building felt kind of like a dorm. It did have a nice balcony, but it looked out over the parking lot. Maybe we are not the target consumer, but for me there are better choices than the Ho.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAWTEXAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2010

My boyfriend and I were here recently for a family wedding. While everything is pricey ($5 sodas!) it was all phenomanal. The rooms were gorgeous and modern with a retro touch. The food was amazing, especially the pool side burgers. Drinks were excellent and great bar service.
The grounds were beautiful and lush, unfortunately people don't pick up after thier dogs though.
It was also a beautiful location for a wedding. The reception was on the roof top and it had a stunning view.
It was very loud halloween night because they had a halloween party but I suppose that's to be expected.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nda_roxybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
5.0 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,438 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#29 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,807 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#18 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,152 reviews
10.6 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Property: Hotel Valley Ho
Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Self-parking and basic internet are complimentary, and you'll never pay a resort fee. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing