We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mid-Century dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mid-Century dream”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Recently visited Valley Ho for a short birthday trip. I will absolutely stay here again. I love the mid-century modern decor. The pools are fab. The staff was excellent. Walking distance to old town Scottsdale restaurants. I stayed in the Cabana room which was cool and I would stay in again. Next time I'll probably spring for the Terrace suite just because it looked amazing. Don't think I'll stay anywhere else in Scottsdale.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimee_peck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
I'm glad you had such a lovely stay here! You might also want to check out our fun, open Studio Guest Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    406
    83
    34
    27
See reviews for
180
486
92
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was a great hotel. We stayed for a week in March/14. It`s location was within walking distance to many art galleries, Old Town, shopping and restaurants.The hotel was clean and the food at the hotel restaurant was great-many choices and very good.

Room Tip: we had a room on the ground floor with a walkout and close to one of the pools and the restaurant- v...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is very environmentally friendly and this showed from the food to recycling to the spa.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna_klukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Girlfriend and I stayed for 5 days the first week of May. Definitely the best location if you want to be in the heart of Old Town. We walked or rode Golf Cart Shuttles everywhere. The hotel has a cool 50's vibe with turquoise/yellow/orange decor throughout. The pool is the place to be on Fridays and Saturdays with live bands or djs playing good music. Food from the pool kitchen was the best...mixed drinks from the pool bar were overpriced for the amount of liquor(if any) in them. Stick with beer if you have an option. Ask for a tower suite with a pool view. Service was great our entire stay. Will be back!

Room Tip: If you like music, a tower suite overlooking pool...if you want to be secluded a room over by the sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feetinthewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. I’m sorry you didn’t like the drinks at the pool; we normally get great feedback on them. I have relayed your comments to our pool manager. We do offer a variety of $6 cocktail specials as well. Have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We went for a girls weekend and we could not have picked a better spot. Rooms, hotel, staff, pools were all amazing. Food at ZaZa was great and they have tons of Gluten free options if you are like me and allergic to Gluten you will be in heaven.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thanks for staying with us! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Was having a bad day and wanted to stay at a hotel for the day, saw they were on hotels tonight and signed up ! Got a good rate on there because i used promo code pbartal and worked! Got to the room and was just a sanctuary. Was great food with room service and had a trader vics, which is a favorite to most people. All in all great place too get away!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelfeen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! Trader Vic's actually closed in 2011 and has been turned into Sands, a private event venue. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We just returned from our trip to Scottsdale, AZ on Saturday after staying at the Hotel Valley Ho for about 4 days. We absolutely loved the resort. The staff was SUPER helpful and very friendly. The restaurant ZuZu, on property, is fantastic! We ate there for a lunch, as well as a dinner -- try the twice baked fries, there's something pretty phenomenal about them! :-) My favorite thing about this resort is it's location! I felt foolish to have rented a car for the week because we truly didn't even need it! You are RIGHT around the corner from Old Town Scottsdale which hosts all of the cool restaurants, bars and shops. My one complaint would be that the beds at this hotel are truly one of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever experienced in my life. They are on a platform, so that aspect is already working against them, but also, the mattress just seems to be poor quality and entirely too firm. Also, when booking, keep in mind that not all rooms feature the layout that is shown in the popular "room view" photo on their website. The room we were assigned had a bathtub, but it was not the luxurious deep soaking tub featured sitting in the middle of the floor in the photo, it is just a regular size tub inside of the bathroom itself. I had purchased some Lush bath bombs FOR this vacation because I anticipated having a really cool tub in our room. It was functional, but not what was advertised. Minor setbacks aside, I would definitely stay here again, and would highly recommend it to others!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the new OH pool! The view is GORGEOUS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! I'm sorry that the bed was not comfortable for you; our mattresses are high-quality Simmons and are made in Arizona. We are in the process of replacing a few of them to ensure they are in great shape. The room with the bathtub in the middle is called our Studio Guest Room; it sounds like you may have booked a Signature Guest Room (though desired a Studio Guest Room). I'm not sure what you mean by "popular room view photo", but each room type has photos and virtual tours that you can check out on our website. We never advertise the Studio Guest Room as a standard (Signature) room; it's one option among eleven room types. We're happy to answer any questions for you to assure that you get the room type you prefer. Please note that the new lap pool is actually called the OHasis Pool; the OH Pool is the main pool that has a full bar, kitchen, and cabanas. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
275 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed at the "Ho" on my latest trip to Scottsdale. It is a very retro designed place that is almost a throwback to old Palm Springs or old time Vegas. The vibe is super cool without being pretentious.
My room in the tower was incredibly spacious with every amenity you could think of. It had a full kitchen and a washer and dryer, not that I needed either but still nice to have if you had to stay awhile. The decor was modern and sort of kitschy but in a cool way. It also had a big balcony, though it was a little too toasty to sit outside. I did not use the spa but the gym was nice, not too big but clean. The pool is not large by resort standards but the pool scene was very energetic.
The bar area is small but adequate and the outside patio is very cozy, especially at night when they light the fire pit. All of the staff are very friendly and professional. One of the best features of this hotel is it's location in Old Scottsdale. You can walk to great shops and restaurants.
Our party had a lot of fun and I would go back on my next trip.

Room Tip: The tower room s with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I hope you were able to enjoy some of the great restaurants and galleries in Downtown Scottsdale, there are so many. We appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
5.0 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,392 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Saguaro Scottsdale
Saguaro Scottsdale
#47 of 75 in Scottsdale
821 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
1.2 mi away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#28 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Property: Hotel Valley Ho
Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Self-parking and basic internet are complimentary, and you'll never pay a resort fee. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing