We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place great service”
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 10, 2014

You can't beat the service at this place, from valet to room service everyone was top notch, as far as the vibe this is scottsdale relaxation at its finest. Tons of spa and shopping along with the bars and clubs nearby.....great place to visit and enjoy the pool.

Room Tip: Get the patio sweet and have your own party!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZJOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

On a recent business trip, I stayed at the Ho for nearly a week. I have stayed several times and the experiences was again exceptional. My only complaint was the rate should be lower for repeat customers. I especially want to thank the reservation, restaurant and bar staff, front desk and valet staff for doing a great job. Honestly, this hotel is one of the best experiences you can have in travel. The service is exceptional. The location to old town spots are great! The pool is awesome and guests share in many stories with each other on how special this place really is for guests. A special shout out to Chantel in the pool area....you Rock baby!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but I stayed in the tower overlooking the pool this time. I like the lower w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We LOVED the Valley Ho! Cool decor, helpful staff, fun, fun, fun vibe!!! Came for Spring Training (wooohooo, Go Giants :) and loved our four-night stay at the hotel! Our 5th floor room in the Tower was great; view overlooked the pool and a soon-to-be construction site (room 503). Had two dinners on-site, one in the restaurant and one at the bar while watching the Oscars. Food was great both times and servers were fabulous in both places. Counter service in the restaurant area was especially accommodating for us Oscar Zealots! And TRUST ME, have the bacon. If you eat nothing else at the hotel, ORDER THE BACON!!! (yeah, yeah, yeah, vegans are welcome also)

Room Tip: Tower, Tower, Tower. Our friends had a view of an intersection and we had a view of the pool. Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kajanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

What is that phrase...four pieces of bacon a day keep the doctor away? Thanks for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I just spent four nights at the Hotel Valley Ho on a Spring Training/Wedding Annv. trip and we are already planning a return trip. Let me start out by saying that we were not quite sure what to expect when we made the reservation. Our previous stays in Scottsdale were always at bigger resort complexes.

HOTEL. The Valley Ho is a mid century classic hotel that has been completely refurbished. I would call the design a combination of Rat Pack/Tiki Party/Jetsons - probably the coolest hotel we have ever stayed in. It is not overly large, which is a good thing. There are two pools. The grounds and the Hotel's public areas are immaculate. The Lobby and Bar are great places to hang out and relax with a drink.

ROOM. We booked a junior suite in the Tower and were upgraded to a full size suite. The rooms was nothing short of fantastic. Large bathroom. Walk-in closest. Cool furnishings. Huge floor to ceiling windows. Large terrace with two full size lounge chairs and two smaller chairs. Kitchen. Large flat screen TV. Very comfortable bed.

STAFF. The entire staff - from Valet, Front Desk, Bar, ZuZu's, Room Service, etc were all first rate and very friendly and helpful. I want to especially mention Judy the concierge.

ZuZu's. This is the hotel's restaurant and we enjoyed several meals there. I would call the look more of an very upscale coffee shop, with excellent food and inside or outside dining.

Room Service. Fast and good food from ZuZu's.

Location. The location is perfect for walking into Old Town Scottsdale. It sits at the west end of Main Street. Several nice eating places are less than a block away and the Arts district is one block from the hotel. Easy walk to shopping and bars. Walkable to Scottsdale stadium

Overall I give the Valley Ho 5 stars. We really enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

We appreciate your detailed review! I'm glad we were able to help make your spring training and anniversary stay special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

While sitting in the lobby, I could see The Rat Pack walking right through. The ownership team has done a fantastic job restoring this mid century modern property to it's glory days. Add in all the modern conveniences of 2014 and you have a comfortable, fun place to stay. We stayed in one on the cabana rooms off the pool and it was great. I loved the oversized lounge on our patio. We came down for Spring Training and almost didn't go to a game so we could spend more time around the really fun pool. We will certainly return!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for staying with us during spring training! We hope to see you again next March.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Just returned from 2 nights at the Valley Ho where we were attending travel industry meetings. Just loved it - our tower room had a balcony big enough to sit outside and watch the lights over Scottsdale. Beautiful beds, gorgeous bathroom and truly caring staff throughout.
Loved hearing Dean Martin in the lobby. Retro chic, lively bar. For those not wanting a sprawling estate-like resort, this is a great choice. No time to enjoy the pool or spa, but I'll be back - for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: Be sure to request tower room with pool and city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovemyjob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

We appreciate your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed for one night in February and were pleasantly surprised by the hip vibe and retro decor throughout the hotel. Although checkin isn't until 4pm, the staff was able to accommodate our early arrival (1pm) which was great. The gentleman at the front desk found out it was my birthday and had a plate of chocolate covered strawberries sent to the room within an hour of checking in! It was a great way to kick off a milestone birthday. We greatly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank gabbydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thanks for staying with us for your birthday! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Scott Resort & Spa
#31 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $166 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing