We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience from the minute we got there.”
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My girlfriend and I went for a girls trip to Scottsdale. We had such a wonderful experience while staying at the Valley Ho. The staff was very accommodating and the concierge, Judy was extremely helpful.
My friend had a very nice massage which was very reasonably priced.
It is perfectly situated near downtown so no car was necessary while downtown. They also have a trolley that goes locally.
I would like to go back there again with my husband.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pennyy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Isn't Judy great? We're lucky to have her! Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,015 - 1,021 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel is well located. It is close to an active area, with art galleries, commerce and restaurants. The expectations were high and the reality is that I did not find it such a high quality. When just entering the room, it smelled strongly chemical. Maybe some cleaning product. Furniture was not in very good shape, a chair that was not straight, a fridge with scratches on it. It did not give a nice image. In addition to that the room has a vintage look, that I do not find really nice (this is subjective oppinion). Food was good. It was nice that the room had a little terrace to step out but some people walking infront of it, in the garden. This is not preserving very much intimity. I think that there are better choices if you look at the cost.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Lluc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

I'm sorry that you did not like the hotel. No room should have a chemical smell, and we're always happy to relocate you to another room if possible, and would want to ensure the issue was corrected. We are in the process of replacing some guest room items to ensure they are in great condition, and are also replacing other items including lobby furniture. The hotel was built in 1956 and has a mid-century-modern style, which we restored when we bought the hotel in 2002. Guest room balconies on the second floor or higher will offer a bit more privacy since people cannot walk in front of them, though some people prefer the first-floor patios that open onto one of our courtyards. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel has a cute vibe, but I would not voluntarily pick this hotel to come back to. This was a business trip for me, and my room didn't have a real chair to sit in at the desk- instead having a small mushroom like stool to sit on (see picture). After trying to get some work done, I'm definitely not a fan of sitting on the mushroom stool. And in case you're wondering, the object next to my laptop is a vanity mirror (like you would use to put on makeup or horribly magnify your face). So I could conveniently check out my facial pores while sitting on the mushroom stool. There were also incredible slowness or non-connectivity issues with the internet throughout my stay. I couldn't connect initially, and one of their technicians was in my room for 20 minutes trying to connect my laptop to their internet network. I travel a lot with this computer and normally have no wireless problems. In fact, the internet died while I was writing this review, and my first attempt was lost. But I do have great things to say about the homemade cranberry walnut bread toast for breakfast- yum!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank gremlin_337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

I'm sorry that the room setup did not work for you. The majority of our room types do have a traditional chair with a back and a working area (including our standard rooms), so I think one of those would work better for you. The makeup mirror is movable, so you can place it where it is convenient for you to use. Regarding the Internet, I'm not sure what dates you stayed, but our Internet provider experienced problems this week and that affected the connection and speed at the hotel for a couple of hours. I apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. We appreciate your feedback and hope you'll consider another visit to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed here for a conference and found it delightful without being pretentious. Its 50s charm is evident in every aspect of the property from the architecture to the decor. The rooms are sweet and pools/poolside service enjoyable. Loved the balcony, bathroom, counter space, and bed (super comfortable beds). The service was great - helpful front desk, concierge, and bellmen.

Room Tip: One tip and one random comment: if you are in the 5000 building, get help with your bag if you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

We appreciate your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel that really gives the feeling that you are stepping back in time - retro design with modern touches. The staff was warm and welcoming and the hotel has a great vibe. The room was spacious and well laid out with a great balcony that overlooked a really cool pool that gets lit up at night. In the distance I could see Camelback mountain. Actually woke up early one morning and drove over there about 3-4 miles and took a short hike part way up and watched the sunrise. Beautiful! The location is great, walking distance from the art galleries and restaurants in Old Town Scottsdale. If you are there on Thursday night and like music and art, check out the Art Walk - music, wine, and art at the local galleries. This was the second time I've stayed at this hotel and I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpaydm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Isn't the view from Camelback Mountain great? Thanks for your review, and we hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We had an enjoyable stay at the Valley Ho in Jan 2014.

The pool was very nice, gym well equipped and the bar was fun.

The rooms were very comfortable.

The only downside was the ridiculously late check in time of 4pm!! I have travelled all my life and never experienced a check in this late.

Do not turn up to early! They were not helpful in this regard.

I would return.

Nick

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank NickAtherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! I'm sorry that the 4:00 p.m. check-in time was not ideal for you; this is a fairly common check-in time in the U.S. (usually 3:00-4:00). We are happy to accommodate early check-ins when possible, but when occupancy is high it's not always an option. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This Hotel was a treat. I was a little nervous when our travel agency booked me at this hotel, mainly scared by the name. I was definitely wrong... I had a room on the bottom floor which have little to no view but like I said I was there for work and I didn't mind. The restaurant was our first stop every morning and we loved everything on the menu. Hotel is close to everything in downtown Scottsdale and I would definitely come stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get in the larger rooms in the main building above reservations. They are HUGE suites with ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngmeckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

We appreciate your review. "Hotel Valley Ho" was the original name of the hotel when it opened in 1956. We're located in the "Valley" (Phoenix area) and our sister property at the time was the Westward Ho, so that's where the name comes from. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
5 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 76 in Scottsdale
1,556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saguaro Scottsdale
Saguaro Scottsdale
#46 of 76 in Scottsdale
892 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Andaz Scottsdale Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#50 of 76 in Scottsdale
19 reviews
4 mi away
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $187 - $845 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing