We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bay Area
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun place, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was my 4th stay at the "new" Hotel Valley Ho. I had stayed there for many years prior to the time it closed for the remodeling. We checked in on Thursday morning March 14 at 8:30am (very nice gals at the front desk) and left our bags with Mike the bellman (who was very helpful when we were able to get into our room). We had the first of two breakfasts at ZuZu, the restaurant on site, choosing to sit outside both times. The food was great (especially the spicy turkey sausage) but on the 2nd time (Sunday the 17th) the service was extremely slow. It was 20+ minutes before our order was taken and then another 20+ minutes before it was served. We weren't in a hurry so no problem, just making a note. We noticed that were 4 or 5 dirty tables around us that went unattended for a long period of time and also noticed thar our waitress was covering a very large area. Bottom line: understaffed in the restaurant area. We spent several days by the pool area: lots of lounge chairs, umbrellas, staff, nice, fluffy towels, music, food, drink. It's a really fun atmosphere and one of the main reasons we stay here each year when we go down to the desert for Spring Training. Our waitress, Callie was very attentive and always ready to take our order (both drink and food are available poolside). They also continually filled water glasses encouraging guests to "keep hydrated". Only negative about the pool area is the restroom - they need to service it more frequently - plan on going to your room, if you're near the pool. We requested the same area we've stayed in the last 3 years. Signature Guest Room (2 dbl beds), 2102 I think (front door facing the pool, balcony opens to a pretty courtyard, overlooking a greenbelt, fountain and other rooms/balconies). There is no elevator on this side of the building (only two stories) so if you have heavy luggage, be sure to have the bellman bring it up for you. The beds are really comfortable and we had a great night sleep each night. The walls are brick so you don't hear your neighbors. It's a great room for 3 or 4 to share because in addition to the bathroom mirror, it has a big mirror and long countertop in the room so everyone can get ready at the same time. Only caveat on having 4 people is one of the two beds is pushed up to the wall so in that bed you have to climb over the other person to get out if you're sharing. Rooms are serviced daily but more attention needs to be paid to details: the glasses we left dirty were removed, but not replaced, (they were put outside our door by the maidservice but weren't picked up until the following afternoon), there were two of us but only one robe, one bed seemed to have had the sheets changed but not the other. None of this was a big deal, but for $400/night, I expect more. The towels were dingey looking and extremely rough (unlike the ones at the pool) and I think it's time for them to cycle them out and get new ones. Each room with a balcony has a really nice, comfy lounge chair, table and chairs which was nice to relax on later in the afternoon before dinner. Tip: go to the Circle K right around the corner and get snacks and beverages so you can have happy hour on your deck. Also, the room has a stocked refrigerator but request a separate one from room service (no charge) for provisions. Oh thursday nights the spa does complimentary "samplings" of foot massage, back massage, eye treatment, hand massage, champagne and light snacks. We booked two massages (I recommend making them before you get there to ensure that you have a spot) and both of us had a good experience. Get there early to utilize the sauna before your treatment. There's also a nice "relaxation" waiting room. Centrally located in Old Town Scottsdale, if can't be beat if you're going to Spring Training games at Scottsdale Stadium as it's a leisurely 20 minute walk (they also have pedi-cabs, golf carts if it's too hot to walk) and you can save the extra expense of a rental car. There's tons of restaurants within a really short distance. Cost was $432/night with a AAA discount (including all the taxes etc). Overall, the hotel is beautiful, they play good music (50's inside and more current poolside without being obnoxious), the staff is extremely attentive and I've already booked our stay for 2014!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunlover962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We appreciate your review! I will share your comments with our restaurant staff, as ZuZu is not typically understaffed and we want to make sure our diners are being taken care of in a timely manner. I will also share your comments with our pool manager regarding the pool restroom to ensure our cleanliness standards are being met; this is important. I will also share all of your comments regarding the housekeeping issues, which need to be corrected. We are training some new staff and want to make sure everything is being taken care of properly. We have higher room rates in March due to the demand from Spring Training, with lower rates other times of the year. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    404
    82
    34
    27
See reviews for
177
482
90
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is a mid-century work of art. It's as if your childhood memories of a sweet family vacation spot were upgraded to the 21st century. Stayed 6 days while taking a workshop at the nearby Scottsdale Artists School. Walking distance to many art galleries and restaurants.

After a long day of being out in the heat and the elements, the Valley Ho was a refreshing oasis to come back to. The staff, particularly the guys at valet parking were amazing. I felt well cared for. The room was very spacious. I had tons of bags and supplies yet never felt crammed in. The room had a wonderful balcony to unwind watching the setting sun. The bed was perfect. The pillows were the real deal, firm yet soft. Large bathroom with a great shower. Not a fan of the modern raised bowl sinks, but that's a minor nit pick. Big soft towels and good linens. Breakfast outside was a treat. Real slow cooked oatmeal with berries. Good coffee. Definitely felt the environment transported me back to 1961.
I did feel that the Cafe Zuzu was not the greatest for dinner. Over sauced and not well prepared. Ate with a group and it was pretty unanimous that the place wasn't a cafe we would return to. However, on the day I left I read that Cafe Zuzu had hired a new executive chef. Funny!
All in, I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mineralman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We appreciate your review! I'm glad you liked your guest room. We'd love to learn more about your experience at ZuZu. We still have the same executive chef, but recently promoted a member of our team to chef de cuisine. He's been with us for a long time and does a great job in the restaurant. Our previous chef de cuisine had also been with us for many years and was very skilled. I hope that you addressed your comments with the server so that we could make things better for you. We'd love to know what went wrong so we can correct any issues. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed here for Spring Training with some buddies. I am very picky about not getting a loud or ground floor room, and they didn't disappoint. The reservation desk blocked a room for us two days in advance.
After a smooth check-in, service was prompt for newspaper, coffee, etc. delivered to the room. The valet service was also very prompt and professional, always a quick pick-up instead of waiting forever for your car.
Their restaurant is perfect compliment to the hotel; hip and full of tasty selections. The pool service great and fun scene.
The on-site spa is very professional...I look forward to trying it the next time I visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank modmodernist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review! Spring Training is always a great time to visit Arizona. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipita Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Hotel Valley Ho is an awesome place to stay. I was in Phoenix for business, but for once, coming back to the hotel at the end of the day was a great way to "get away from it all" The mid century restoration is extremely well done, and with some new contemporary touches, no details were overlooked. I lucked out with one of the rooms directly overlooking the pool on the ground level and it was difficult to pull myself away from the patio and go to work. I only had breakfast in the hotel once, but the service and food were great and the atmosphere on the patio is cool. the location is very close to old downtown Scottsdale and I was able to walk to dinner all three nights and meet friends without the hassle of trying to find parking. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We appreciate your review! It sounds like you made the most of being in Downtown Scottsdale. Come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

A very cool hotel built in the 50's, remodeled in the last decade. Similar to "W" style. Great pool scene and employees. Don't get a room on the road (west) side as you will hear traffic all morning.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalmandFlexible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We appreciate your review! Come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Loved the bathtub in the middle of the room! It was unexpected but fun. Best part was the patio (or balcony) with lounge chairs and all the counter space to put your stuff. Don't find too much of that anymore. Because the hotel is spread out you don't get that cramped hotel feeling. The grounds are nicely maintained and the service was good. I enjoyed my stay and plan on returning. The only negative comment is I found the TV a bit small. Such a big room could hold a bigger TV!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
It sounds like you stayed in one of our Studio Guest Rooms, with the open floorplan (we also have guest rooms with traditional-style bathrooms). We will examine some different options the next time we upgrade our televisions. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

The ValleyHo (built in the 50's) maintains it's mid-century modern coolness...if you're a wet rag this is not the place for you! During the summer months the hotel pool hosts live music on Saturdays with a hip pool scene. I would not recommend this hotel for families with young children. The hotel is located conventiently in the heart of old towne Scottsdale where the city comes to life at night...If you are looking for fun in sun or spring training pre/post parties this hotel is for you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! You may want to check out our monthly four-course Chef's Table at ZuZu. Great food paired with great beverages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
5.0 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#28 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
10.6 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Property: Hotel Valley Ho
Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Self-parking and basic internet are complimentary, and you'll never pay a resort fee. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing