We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and historic”
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here in October and I loved the hotel. We went to the pool for happy hour which had some great specials. We ate breakfast at the hotel and all of the food is made in house even jams and breads. The breakfast was fantastic. I love the location as well. We walked to Old Town and to the mall area without a problem. There is a shuttle that stops by the hotel as well. We stayed in a Tower Suite which included a full kitchen. I loved the modern but 50's style decor, many of the items I would love to have in my house. I will be holding a large meeting at this hotel in April and I'm looking forward to coming back!

Room Tip: The tower or pool cabanas are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BD103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

It sounds like you took full advantage of being in Downtown Scottsdale. I also love our Tower Suites, especially those yellow cabinets in the kitchen! Thanks so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our first stay at Hotel VH and we were using points. This is a ultra-modern, updated and well-kept hotel that offers a friendly staff, good-size exercise room, and sparkling clean rooms with comfortable beds. It was quiet, relaxing and in a great location convenient to Old Town Scottsdale with great restaurants and the Fashion Square Mall. There is a lovely pool areas outside that we could not use due to the weather. Judy at the Concierge Desk was extremely helpful and informative and took pride in her job. The Spa is amazing and an absolute must as it is one of best as it offers the best services in Scottsdale. The Spa may not be as glamourous as some of the others in the area, but it is quiet and relaxing and the expertise, treatments and friendliness of the staff was fantastic. Our only complaint is the $14. per night valet parking fee. You can park down the block but with the pouring rain, it was not something we wanted to do. Just felt that using the points for the room, the parking should have been included. However, would still recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: a room in the Towers - high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tranquillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We appreciate your comments! I also love the treatments at VH Spa. We contract with a company for our valet services, and therefore cannot include free parking in any promotions with Stash Hotel Rewards. The $14 fee is for secured, underground parking and unlimited in-and-out privileges. We do offer limited self parking and there is some street parking as well. We hope you will visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel turned out to be a pleasant surprise delivered by a last-minute Hotwire request for a 4-star hotel that night (about $125) in Old Town Scottsdale. When my husband and I received the name of the hotel on my iPhone, we thought, "Valley Ho? Is this a joke?" It was no joke, but it was one fun hotel. Built in 1956 and renovated to the hilt in 2005, this hotel has something stylish to ogle around every corner, from the Madmen/Jetsons wide-open lobby and bar to the slash of neon blue lighting that encircles the curved seven-story hotel tower. We just loved it. It was a bit nippy in January for the pool, but it's beautifully surrounded by palm and orange trees. Our double room, which opened into a grassy area just down from the pool, was spacious, sleek and comfortable. A desk clerk recommended the hotel restaurant (well-reviewed) but when we said we wanted to take a walk through Old Town, she suggested House, a restaraurant just a block away; the hotel is at one end of Main Street. It turned out to be a fabulous find. The concierge, who was working after 5 p.m., nice to see, was helpful later in giving us info about Old Town. The hotel's motto is "The Evolution of Cool." That was true of the hotel and the staff too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pthomas156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your review! The name of the hotel actually came from a newspaper contest before it opened. Our sister property at the time was the Westward Ho in Downtown Phoenix; the name came from the expression about the migration of people to the West. "Hotel Valley Ho" showed the relation between the two properties and described the hotel's location in the "Valley" (the Phoenix area). We had a lot of days in January that were 70s and sunny, but we definitely had some days too chilly for hanging out by the pool. I'm glad you had a nice time in Old Town. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Celebrated New years in style at the Ho!

Room overlooking the pool was perfect and service was stellar as usual.

Room service breakfast saved our lives on new years morning, had one or two too many zuzu cocktails the night before! Dave at the bar makes a mean old fashioned.

Really can't say enough great things about our stay or the hotel.

With the hotel being so centrally located it's super easy and cheap to cab it all over old town and just a few mintues from PV so you cant be in a better spot.

Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

"Room service breakfast saved our lives"...you crack me up. I'm glad that you had such a fun time at our New Year's Eve bash. You might also want to check out our monthly Chef's Table events in ZuZu. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Came to the Valley Ho for a business meeting. It's a resort-style hotel build in the 1950's and recently remodeled to look like a hotel from the 1950's - go figure. The rooms were nice, the staff helpful and the location perfect. There were some folks by the pool - tag-alongs for folks with meetings maybe - who kept moving to stay in the sun

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug_Doodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

We appreciate your comments! Hopefully you were able to have some time for fun while you were here. Come and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Retuned after several year absence, amazing spa treatment. Service orientated, great atmosphere, food and location is perfect for shopping dining. Everyone is friendly, smiling and helpful. Reminds me of a place that The Rat Pack would have stated, a refreshing change in today's hurried world.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Spent one night here before flying out of Phoenix at end of vacation. The property has a 50s feel but has been updated. Cool lobby with fireplace. The bar was great, happy hour weekdays from 4-7. We had a few appetizers ($6)and didn't need dinner. Had a great breakfast in ZuZu. This being January the guests appeared to be people on business or couples close to our age(50). Think it could get busy in season and the pool might get loud.

Our room was on the ground floor behind the pool. Great sliding doors with a chaise lounge and table and chairs on semi-private patio. Open concept bathroom; separate WC but tub in centre of room, glass shower and sink area can be curtained off for privacy if needed. Room was large with a well-stocked bar and cocktail fixings (including a bottle of vodka) but no coffee maker. Nice extras, large make-up mirror, plenty of space to work. Not sure about wi-fi, used own hot spot.

Staff was friendly at front desk, bar and in restaurant. Nice walk to old Scottsdale; about a block to the art galleries and quite a few restaurants. It's not a resort with golf if that's what you're looking for in Scottsdale but it's definitely a good option for a hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool could be loud in season but there are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tohhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel! Each room actually does have a coffee maker; it is inside the cabinets near the minibar. I hope you'll visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,532 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
#50 of 75 in Scottsdale
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Scott Resort & Spa
#30 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $223 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing