We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool convenient hotel.”
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel design is so hip and cool. It's like walking back into the 1960s with all of the modern conveniences. The location is within walking distance to all of the neat restaurants and art galleries and shopping in downtown Scottsdale.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 6000 building on the ground floor with a nice patio overlooking green space and a f...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

We appreciate your review! Come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,660)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Valley Ho
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,152 - 1,158 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were looking for a nice suite to have my husband's 40th birthday party. We called the Vally Ho, and told them what we were looking for, and why. We were shown around to the different suites, and decided to reserve the executive suite for the party. My husband called the hotel to ask about renting heaters for the enormous patio. At least 2 different people knew that we were having a party there with about 30 guests. At the time of check in, we were told that there is a "no party policy" and we had to sign a paper stating the same thing. At this point (1 hour before the party was scheduled to start) it was too late to change plans, so we signed it and went to the suite anyway. After having dinner for 22 people in their restaurant, we returned to the suite. At 9:00 on the dot security showed up and told us that someone had compained and that the party was over. 9:00 on a Saturday? Doubtful someone complained that early, but whatever. They "encouraged" us to go to their bar (so we could spend more money at their place). We ended up going to old town and had a great time, but we will NEVER stay here again. If they had been up front with us in the first place, we never would have booked a room here. If anyone has seen their executive suite, the ONLY reason to book that room is for a party. This is the most corrupt hotel out there. All they wanted was our money and didn't care about what we had to say. They had several opportunities to tell us about their policy, but chose not to until it was too late. Shame on you Valley Ho. We will be writing reviews on all of your social media sites to encourage people to look elsewhere for places to stay. FYI, Talking Stick resort has great suites, and WON'T kick you out for having a party there. Stay there instead.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travellovers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We would like to address your comments. Several of our staff, including our director of guest operations, notified you in advance that we have a no-party policy for our guest rooms. These notifications were made as soon as we were notified that a party was planned for the room and outdoor heaters were being requested, outside of the 48-hour cancellation window - allowing time for you to cancel the reservation without penalty. We again alerted you to this policy at check-in. After receiving complaints and observing many guests come to the front desk asking where your room was, our security team alerted you to our no-party policy and suggested the lounge as an alternative. Our security team experienced unruly and abusive behavior from your guests, and many obscenities were spoken. After this, your group brought outside alcohol into the lounge. Our security team had to alert you that this is against Arizona liquor law. Many more obscenities were spoken by your group upon leaving the front entrance of the hotel. We notified you repeatedly of our policy, and offered options for you to correct the situation, but we simply cannot allow 34 guests in a room. We do offer facilities for private parties and are happy to accommodate birthday celebrations and other events, just not in our guest rooms. This is in consideration of our guests; our priority as a hotel is to ensure that all of our guests can stay and sleep comfortably.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for 9 days over the Christmas period and had an enjoyable relaxing time. This was our 3rd time in Scottsdale and the first time we stayed at this hotel.

Positives:
> Great room decor
> Comfortable beds
> Friendly staff - in the bar, restaurant, concierge
> Decent in room menu and restaurant (Zu Zus)
> Close to Scottsdale centre (especially the Fashion Mall if you walk along the Arizona Canal)
> Pool looked nice (though I didn't want to explore the water temperature in the middle of winter)
> Great, efficient maid service
> The ambient bathroom light/sunset scene

Could be improved...
> Sound insulation in the rooms - this wasn't a deal breaker but it was very apparent on New Year's Eve that if we'd had noisy neighbours throughout the stay then it might have got annoying

I would recommend this hotel to friends...

Room Tip: Those who want a quieter stay should request rooms away from the pool/bar area and an upstairs room...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCopies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your review! I also love the location of the hotel, near Fashion Square, the Waterfront, Southbridge, and Old Town Scottsdale. We do have a no-party policy with our guest rooms and handle any noise complaints, as we want all of our guests to get a good night's sleep. We hope you'll visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Was here for a conference. Not sure when they remodeled but they did a great job. Seems to be a "cool hip" place. Bar could use a bit of the same work they put into the rooms. Looking forward to coming back when I can enjoy the pool

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

The hotel was remodeled in 2005. We did re-do the carpet and furniture in the bar and restaurant in the spring/summer of 2011, so those areas have been updated since that time (along with guest room carpet, the lobby, and other areas). We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a Saturday night stay at the Valley Ho. I saw regular king suite rooms anf the tower king suite rooms an while both are fitted with fashionable, quality furnishings I noticed the tower suite rooms offered concrete floors and much higher levels of sound isolation from our neighbors

Room service meals were very good and the staff was very well trained and always impeccably courteous.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellogger411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

We appreciate your review! I also love the Tower Suites. We hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and find the hotel very nice. Older hotel but the amenities and services available are great. Front Desk, Housekeeping and Conceirge - excellent service. Not too fond of the bar. One night - I was trying to order a drink and two bartenders were too busy chatting. One of them looked at me twice but ignored me and continued chatting. There was a few more incidents during the week. Not sure if I will ever return because of the restaurant service.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toronto7_Traveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseThompson, Director of Sales at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Toronto7_Traveller70,
We are very happy that you chose to stay at Hotel Valley Ho when visiting Scottsdale. We are quite proud of our service departments and wanted to thank you for the kind comments regarding the service you received. However, we want to immediately rectify the challenge you noted in the bar area relative to innattentive customer service. If you recall, can you please let us know which evening you experienced a lack of service so we can address the issue with our team members and management to ensure this does not happen again? I want you to know that we value our guests and assure you this is not something that will go unresolved. We look forward to hearing from you and hope that you can return again in the future. If you would like to reply to me directly, please feel free to do so.
Jesse Thompson - Director, Sales + Marketing
jthompson@hotelvalleyho.com
480-248-2008

-Hotel Valley Ho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Valley Ho for a conference and everything was first class! The staff was attentive to all our needs, the rooms were clean, food was excellent, and the landscaping around the hotel was immaculate. Orange trees were all around and they were full of oranges as this seems to be the peak of the season for citrus. I'd definitely stay here again and wish I had time to enjoy more of the hotel amenities. Their pool area looked so inviting even though it barely reached 50 degrees during the day...unusually cold from what everyone said about Scottsdale in January.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank acethom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

I'm glad you had such a wonderful stay; thank you for your comments! A daytime temperature of 50 degrees is indeed cold for January; we've been having highs in the 70s the last few days now, which is more typical. If you ever make it back to the Phoenix area, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Scott Resort & Spa
#31 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $161 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing