We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Today in Tomorrowland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Today in Tomorrowland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just want to start out by saying that I VERY rarely would give any business all the stars because that would mean there is no room for improvement. There is always room for improvement.
This hotel is Space-Age hip. We expected to see the Jetsons maid jump out and do our room up. Great restoration of an established mid-century landmark. Room decor in tasteful modern vibe.The bed super comfortable. Very nice bar items for use in room. (Martini and wine glasses,etc). The bath products delicious. I REALLY appreciated the blue mood light available in the bathroom. How often do we stumble into the hotel lavatory in the middle of the night and have to turn on the most glaring bright light lest we stub our toe in the dark? Not the case here.
We had breakfast in the Zuzu that was sublime. Loved the Bloody Mary bar, oh yes on New Year's Day!
The only negatives for us were the building that we were in was quite a distance from the lobby area. We figured out after a day that it was better to self park where we could be closer to our room. In addition, the party goers in the next room sounded like they were in our bathroom. It was New Years Eve so that is to be expected.
Overall it was a very cool experience, not the ordinary vanilla hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meltedcupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review! While we are much smaller than many resort properties in the Valley (the hotel is on seven acres), the rooms in The Tower are perfect if you prefer to be right near the lobby and ZuZu. I'm sorry about the noise in the room next to yours. We do have a strict no-party policy for our rooms and our security team enforces that to ensure everyone can get a good night's sleep. New Year's Eve definitely tends to be livelier than other nights in the year. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    381
    79
    32
    27
See reviews for
165
447
88
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
219 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is my favorite hotel in midtown Scottsdale. Super cool place to stay. They've truly captured the midcentury theme and added a hipster twist. Great F&B and the staff is superb. They provide 4.5 diamond service at a four diamond hotel. It's a fun place to go and relax as well as it's not so over the top that you can't conduct business there.

The pool area is the best although don't expect the lux cabana experience that you get at some of the Scottsdale haunts. This is more about having fun and feeling cool while doing it. Note - on the weekends they have packed out pool parties. We enjoyed but make sure it's your thing before you stay then. It's a party. Midweek you will pretty much have the place to yourself.

Spa is a favorite. The steam room was the best for combatting the dryness of the Valley. They have custom-scented products that are used in the spa and throughout the hotel that I would like to have a mainline of. The most refreshing scent. Everytime I use the lotion it takes me back!

Nice rooms - electic yet well-appointed. Super comfy beds and quiet hallways make for a wonderful night's rest!

Room Tip: You can either opt for the pool view or the sunset view over the mountains depending on your prefere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review! I also love the spa and the "Icelandic Moonflower" scent that Red Flower created for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We knew little about this hotel on arrival for one night but quickly fell in love with its campy mid-century modernist decor and ambiance and wound up staying two more nights. Our room (4107) was double-sized, with a small patio and a blooming orange tree (in December) and hot tubs nearby. Very comfortable, great service and terrifically relaxing. We had both a frig and microwave in our room as well as robes. Mood blue bath tub lighting was funny. We had a pleasant light supper at ZuZu, their restaurant. Although rates overall are fair, one big irritant was the extra charges for things most hotels today provide for free: WIFI, coffee and parking. That's a part of their mid-century look-back they should abandon. Still, we will surely go back. It's in Old Town Scottsdale near the art scene and close to restaurants, shops and the town's "waterfront."

Room Tip: Our room was in the outer wing not the tower where some more expensive rooms are two-story suites; w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingman22664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We appreciate your comments! While there is a charge for coffee, Internet, and parking, we do have some complimentary self parking available. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here with two small kids, and this place was great. Good food, great accommodations, kid friendly, great great great service. Early check in and late check out was no problem.
Also, the best part is their bath products. Their signature scent is amazing, and feel great on your skin.
We had a double bed room in the wings, next time we will spring for the suite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittytect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review! I also love the smell of Red Flower products. Come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Most agree that "the locals" know the best places to go. Well as a local, I'm glad to say the Valley Ho is my favorite new place to stay in Scottsdale. Our agency chose the hotel to host our holiday getaway.

Thanks to top-notch service, ever-fab amenities and above all, wonderful hospitality, many of us extended our stay to four additional days beyond the original booking.

Now that's swell.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuxtaPalate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your review! We're glad we could host your holiday festivities. Stop by anytime - we have some great events in ZuZu like our weekly wine tasting and monthly Chef's Table!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I love this hotel....very Rat Pack Palm Springs feel. Built in 1956 and host to many Hollywood celebs, the hotel has been fantastically renovated with a swanky 1950s vibe. Beautiful grounds with orange trees and fountains, friendly and attentive service, cool bar and pool and an awesome spa and fitness center. In the heart old town Scottsdale, many dining and entertainment options are walkable. I stay here when on business in Phoenix, but would recommend it to anyone looking for something other than cookie cutter mass market box hotels for business or pleasure

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a great view so if you don't care to look at the parking lot, ask in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caymus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We appreciate your review and your business, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I went there with my Husband for his work holiday party (ClubMed). This charming renovated hotel is tucked away in old town Scottsdale off main street. As I was getting out of the car, the valet took my hand to help me and bowed. They ased our names, reason for visit, and escourted us through the beautifully clean modern retro decorated plaa and a very busy elegant bar area evevated and in a semi-circle. The architecture was clean, simple, open, each room integrated and complemented the other, a beauty. So we were escourted on the elevator to the roof where the party was held. Wow...... Everwhere you looked all you could see views of the entire city. The staff immediately started walking around with decant orderves, civichi, broche, various cheeses, breads, pot pie on small spoons, tea sandwishes, etc. Everything delectable. Staff overly attentive and pleasent. It was a romantic and magical evening I will never forget.

Room Tip: We went for a work holiday party, we did not stay in a room so I do not know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuciFierin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
I'm glad you had such a wonderful time at the hotel! You may want to visit us for New Year's Eve - we're hosting a four-course dinner in ZuZu, dancing, and a Champagne toast on the rooftop at midnight. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
5.0 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 76 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
1.2 mi away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#26 of 76 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
10.6 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Property: Hotel Valley Ho
Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Self-parking and basic internet are complimentary, and you'll never pay a resort fee. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing