We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retro Girls Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Retro Girls Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed for the first time at the Hotel Valley Ho, Scottsdale. What a fun, unique, retro and charming location. From the time we arrived the bellman Mike was ready to assist with luggage. Marcos at the Front Desk was more than personable and took time to show us the two room options we had to choice from before we checked in. We stayed in the tower suites and it was a large apartment complete with a full kitchen. Decor was retro, urban and again I use the word fun.

Food at ZUZU was great, service good. They kicked off the summer pool hours Saturday of our stay which was also FUN. Drink specials, attentative pool staff, great pool side menu, and lots of people watching. There was a mix of families and older guests however average age of guests poolside at least seemed to be more of the mid 20's urban yuppy type crowd.

I loved the location and how close of a walk it was to Old Town main attaractions. Also the fact the Trolly stops right outside the hotel. Do take advantage of the discounted Spa Sunday package, which was worth our trip alone.

Great hotel. I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Tower Suites worth the money and location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAnnPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
I love our Tower Suites - nice choice! The Spa Party Package on Sundays is also splendid and a great deal; I'm glad you were able to take advantage of it. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    404
    82
    34
    27
See reviews for
177
482
90
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

I was traveling alone for a quick spring getaway and the hotel was perfect. The decor was fun and welcoming. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. I stayed in a cabana room that had a great patio for relaxing outside. The spa massage was great, and the food and drink in the hotel restaurant was excellent. I didn't have a car but old town Scottsdale was a quick walk away. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OMG0224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your Cabana Guest Room and massage at our spa. You definitely don't need a car to get around Old Town Scottsdale. Aside from walking, there is also the free downtown trolley, and we have bikes you can rent as well. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

I loved hanging out at the poolside bar, lazy afternoons turned into evenings - watching the games on tv and drinking cold beer.

The room itself was kind of small, but suitable. You don't come to a place like this to hang out in your room after all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
I'm glad you had fun at our OH Pool Bar! It's a great time of year to lounge there. While we do have the largest standard rooms in downtown (420 sq. ft. + 120 sq. ft. patio), I encourage you to check out our roomy Studio Guest Rooms and suites next time you are here! We hope to see you again. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

The Hotel Valley Ho is an affordable-chic resort that is totally designed (Mid-Cen-Mod for the post-Mad-Men age), perfectly landscaped (iconic palms, manicured lawns, large circular pool), extremely comfortable (spacious, well furnished, calming rooms), centrally located (near Scottsdale's Old Town and arts district), pampering (a serious spa and fully equipped fitness center) and pleasuring (the casual-hip Zuzu restaurant, patio dining, a buzzy bar and roots rock soundtrack). I can imagine a guest arriving and almost being put off by the "too cool for school" vibe but then succumbing to the hotel's seductive charms. The overall concept and attentive service offer both a holiday escape for fun-seeking vacationers or a distinctive lodging for business travellers. Finally it's less expensive than comparable resorts in South Beach or La Jolla and the parking is free.

Room Tip: A room in the non-pool-side wings would be quietest, but noise isn't really a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRS_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
I'm glad you like the mid-century style of the hotel! We really worked to restore the 1950s charm when we renovated the property in 2004-2005. Thank you for your review and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

My wife, 1 year old daughter, and I stayed at the Hotel Valley Ho for spring break. It turned out to be a great decision! We had picked the hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. We were pleasantly surprised to also find out that it is a 4 diamond AAA hotel as well.

We were most pleased with the location and the facilities. With a 1 year old we needed to be close to convenience shops, grocery, etc. and that was definitely the case. It was also great to be able to take walks in Old Town Scottsdale. We also were able to take the short 5 minute drive to Camelback Mountain for a hike.

We definitely wanted to experience all the hotel had to offer, and the pool, spa, and restaurant did not disappoint. The pool and hot tubs were at good temperatures. The poolside bar and service was nice and inexpensive. Our massages were also at a great price thanks to a weekday promotion. The restaurant also had a weekday happy hour which we took advantage of twice during our stay with $3 drinks and $5 appetizers that were delicious.

It seems that the hotel also draws a nice, diverse crowd. We saw couples, small families, larger families, and the facilities were not too crowded. We were nervous about the noise level with our little one, but that totally turned out to be a non-factor. She was able to get all of her naps in and sleep well through the night.

The room itself was fantastic! The bed was comfortable. The shower had great pressure and temperature. The lighting was perfect. The balcony was serene. We loved our room!

We really only had a few small complaints with our stay. Our breakfast room service came 30 minutes early one day. However, I did change it half way through the order, so I am sure they just wrote the first time down and forgot to change it. Also, one night I turned the A/C down to a cooler temp, and I don't know if that caused it, but we had a wet spot on the carpet underneath the A/C the next morning. Actually, the most annoying thing was that all of the in-room refrigerators were taken and we had to continually get ice to keep milk for our baby cold.

Overall, we loved our stay at the Hotel Valley Ho, and would love to go back! It is definitely recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_abg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your spring training stay with us! I also love hiking Camelback; it has lovely views of the city. With more information about your visit, we'd be happy to address your room service timing issue with our in-room dining team, and the wet spot on the carpet with our engineering staff. We definitely want to make sure everything is running smoothly! I'm sorry we were all out of in-room refrigerators; we have a limited number available, aside from the mini fridges in each room that have the mini bar items. Thank you for your comments, and come back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE, AZ
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

I stayed here for work and someone else made the reservation. Upon seeing the outside I thought it would not be a good stay, older architecture right in Old Town, Scottsdale. I was pleasantly surprised to find a top notch hotel with the best of everything. The staff was exceptional and the room was fantastic. My room was large and very comfortable. The common areas were always clean. The convenient location was an added plus as Old Town is just down the street and there are plenty of shopping and eating spots in walking distance.

Room Tip: The King Suite is great for one or two guests and the bathtub will surprise you. The doubles are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ind_sub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for your review! I'm glad you were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. I also like the convenient downtown location; there's lots to do in this part of Scottsdale. We hope we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Valley Ho this past weekend for our Annual Girl's Trip to Spring Training. We all loved the 50's inspired theme and decor, as well as the pool cabana that we rented for the day. We found ourselves hanging out at the bar almost every night before and after we went out in Old Town, as it was a really fun bar with a great friendly crowd. I would say my only somewhat negative is more of a warning: If you are planning on sleeping 4 people in a double room, prepare to get cozy! The beds were super comfortable, but they were really small for 4 girls, We managed just fine though and would definitely stay at the Valley Ho again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaliescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
I'm glad that you and your girlfriends had fun at the hotel during spring training! Our double rooms all have two double beds (our single rooms have one king bed). Most hotels feature this bed type, although some also offer larger beds as an additional option. We kept all the original 1956 buildings of the hotel when we restored it, and had to work within that space. We do have some roomier suites, as well. Thank you for your review, and we hope you will be checking in again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
5.0 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#28 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
10.6 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Property: Hotel Valley Ho
Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Self-parking and basic internet are complimentary, and you'll never pay a resort fee. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing