We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Night Noms”
Review of AZ 88

AZ 88
Ranked #104 of 1,256 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Late Night Noms”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

After 10pm in Az, it's either this or some sketchy burrito place... Fortunately, AZ88 is pretty darn good. Yummy food, great hours, awesome patio.

(They also have giant fiberglass art bananas to keep you in the shade.)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    128
    27
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Loved It”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I loved AZ 88. I was in Phoenix on business and made it a point to visit this restaurant. I've been to it's sister restaurant, Bar 89, many, many, many, many times. It was located on 89 Mercer in SoHo, New York. Unfortunately, it's closed down. So, visiting AZ 88 was a must!

It is a fun restaurant. The drinks are great. The food is good. It's bar food (e.g. burgers, wings, etc.). It is delicious for what it is. I had a good time and it certainly brought back Bar 89 memories. If I'm ever back in Phoenix, I will make it a point to visit this restaurant again.

I'd recommend it for anyone looking for good bar food and excellent drinks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hopeful74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

AZ88 has a great modern vibe with seating outdoors and inside. This seems to be the place to be seen (or people watch). The bar is gorgeous. Our waiter Delany took such good care of us and made delicious recommendations. The coconut and expresso martini's were amazing! The restrooms are memorable for sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CopperBoyBJCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb and ... Real coffee too!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We, European couple, thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here tonight. Excellent tuna and chicken entrees, more than kind staff and true espresso coffee. We'll be back, likely tomorrow already!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArtbyJos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service, smokers allowed on the outside patio where they serve food”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We sat on the patio outside because it was first available -- bad move -- you can smoke on the patio. Was gross trying to eat dinner while a group of 21-somethings drank and smoked directly next to our table of 6. The server seemed annoyed to have to take our order and bring us drinks. The food was good. Not exceptional but not bad. Pricing was decent, on the cheaper side of Scottsdale.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AZ 88 also viewed

 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to AZ 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing