We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Ambience”
Review of Sassi

Sassi
Reserve with OpenTable
Sassi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #103 of 1,268 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N Alma School Rd
Description: Sassi is Scottsdale's nationally known destination for fine Italian dining, wine and special events. Located at the base of Pinnacle Peak. Sassi offers rustic, artisan style cuisine inspired by small towns in southern Italy. Sassi's villa style architecture, comfortable surroundings and rustic elegance are the perfect setting for a romantic dinner for two or a company event or wedding for up to 150 guests. Dine in one of four main dining rooms or on the patio (weather permitting), or reserve the private wine cellar for up to 14. Sassi features more than reasonably priced 150 wines from Italy and California to complement Chef Peter's flavorful cuisine. We purchase from numerous small farmers, Niman Ranch and other organic and natural farmers and producers. Photos, menus, information and staff biographies on our web site
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Ambience”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated a good friend's birthday at Sassi's and were very impressed. The ambience was incredible plus the food & service were excellent. We can hardly wait to go again ....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    82
    37
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Thank you, Sassi, for an amazing birthday dinner!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a wonderful experience. From the food, to the wine, to the service, everything was perfect. I can't recommend Sassi highly enough, especially for special occasions. The summer three course menu is a phenomenal value and the wine list contains some of the best wines I know.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Our food was good”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Four of us went to Sassi (10455 E. Pinnacle Peak Pkwy., Scottsdale, AZ 85255, tel. 480-502-9095, www.sassi.biz). We shared one bottle of Renoir Pinot Noir ($60) that was good but not worth the money. We shared three startesrs: the fritti ($70, the grilled pulpo ($12) and the duck liver crostini ($8). We also ordered Roasted vegetables ($7) and had 2 orders of the Mediterranean fish Orata ($28 x 2). For dessert we had gelato ($8) and an order of ricotta fritters ($9). The total was $170 and Gary had a “preferred diner” discount for one entrée of $28. The adjusted total was $142 plus tax for a $157.75 total. The place is huge and the outside veranda was lovely. Our server was inattentive but otherwise the meal was very nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aledm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“terrific place”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

ambiance wonderful. service impeccable. food delicious. setting magnificent. what else could you ask for?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RayValle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arrogance unchained!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went to Sassi one year ago after making a reservation. The maitre'd informed us that they could not find our reservation and we would have to wait in the bar (the place was VERY sparsely attended) despite the many tables available. The staff was very rude and condescending about this, which did nothing for our appetites. After ONE HOUR, we were finally seated and procedded to have a meal which featured every course tasting like the chef was trying to break records for the amount of salt he could utilize. Of course, the staff just snorted when informed of the salt lick when we departed.
We decided to try Sassi again for our anniversary. Guess what?? When we arrived, we were AGAIN informed that our reservation could not be found. Another wait of 30 minutes ensued (I guess we are gluttons for punishment ).
The food was better than our last foray, but the lamb was undercooked and indeed, we were not asked as to our cooking preference.
My suggestion to Sassi is first to give all your staff customer service lessons, and invest in a better chef!!
We will NEVER darken their door again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary-Gary13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sassi also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sassi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing