We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good experience”
Review of Havana Patio Cafe - CLOSED

Havana Patio Cafe
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Cuban, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Paradise Valley
Gearhart, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Another good experience”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We had happy hour. As always, the food was good. We had appetizers only and all were good. I thought the mussels were best. My wife preferred the plantains. Wine was good and fairly cheap. We like this place and should go more often. Happy hour was a real treat but dinner and lunch are always good. Service was delightful too. We were talking and realize we have never had a complaint about this place. It is always good whenever we go

Helpful?
Thank jamesccasterline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    9
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Spicy in Scottsdale”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I'm a repeat customer at Havana Cafe, and think of them as the great neighborhood restaurant you can always count on for a tasty meal. The food is well seasoned (you have to be able to handle some spice, and that's right for this type of cuisine) and prepared, and the wait staff friendly and attentive. Guests from out of town have always been happy when brought here. Not too expensive at all, especially for Scottsdale. A cozy and tasty experience every time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffOnTheRoad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good food, but a little pricey”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I both had the snapper, which was excellent. Our friend had. The sailor paella which was quite good, but took some work to open the claws.

Service is nice, but a little slow,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent but not great”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Second time at this restaurant, with friends who used to live in the area, came here often, especially for the Sangria. Not being a drinker, hard for me to comment. Had different dishes each time (Poblano Relleno this time) and food the food decent, but nothing exceptional. One of my friends had mole which he didn't like at all. The other friend had 1/2 chicken which she said was ok, but again, not great. Having not had Cuban food elsewhere, hard to say whether I don't find Cuban food to my liking, or that this restaurant does just an average job of preparation (likely the former), but whatever, not likely to be on my "frequently return" list, especially as prices seem a bit on the high side.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DillonScottsdaleAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Sassy Food in a Strip Mall”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Approaching this Cuban cafe from Bell and pulling into the parking lot; it does not look promising. Once inside, there was quick seating (plastic patio chairs), prompt service and speedy lunch delivery to the table. The Havana Combo featured black beans + rice, veggie fingers, plaintains, a moist vegetable/beef bread wrapped in a husk and simply delicious cuban cabbage salad--everything was full of flavor. Balance this lunch with the house special mango iced tea. The lunch entree, Paradise Pulled Pork, needed more sauce but the pork was quality stuff, served with rice and beans. A variety of sauces are available for an upcharge. A pleasant, clean, service oriented eatery; we will return for another visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twogreynomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Patio Cafe also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing