We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and good lunch deals!”
Review of Carlos O'briens - CLOSED

Carlos O'briens
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Paradise Valley
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food and good lunch deals!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I really liked the food here. They have lunch deals from $5-9 and have options if you are in a hurry. They also offer lunch drinks (mugs of margaritas and smaller beers) that are a little smaller than the standard drinks. That's nice if you just want a small drink at lunch time. The service wasn't great but the food made up for that.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    33
    29
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Snowflake, Arizona
2 reviews
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This Carlos O'briens has been open for many years. Not only do they serve excellent mexican food they also offer healthy menu options such as salmon with mango sauce and grilled vegetables. Very well managed establishment, Excellent food and service!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

When our family celebrates a birthday, the birthday person gets to select the restaurant. The choice for this weekend? Carlos O'Briens in Scottsdale! So we head from Tucson primarily for a birthday lunch and was not at all disappointed. This was our 2nd time at this restaurant. Delicious food. Good size portions. And a waiter that stayed on top of our needs.

Go get some awesome Mexican food!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gearhart, Oregon
Level Contributor
468 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Good lunch decent service”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This is always a safe place to go. Food reasonably priced and well prepared. Nothing fancy to be sure. Margaritas always reasonably priced and reasonably good. Chips not as good as I remembered. Good service today.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamesccasterline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not worth your time”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Is this an Irish pub? Or a Mexican restaurant? I'm not sure the owners have figured that out for themselves because the decor and theme does not work. I stopped in only because I wanted to drink some margaritas and walk back to my hotel, but once I was seated and reviewed the menu I had lost all interest in drinks. The menu is your standard Americanized Mexican fare, but they did have a significant list of healthier options complete with nutrition information. The food was lackluster. Tostitos would have been preferable to the chips they provided, and the salsa was clearly straight out of a jar (and not the good kind). My chimichanga arrived quickly, but was a mixture of pretty good (the beef inside) and kinda gross (the sauce and rice). Yes, the portions are big, but how much mediocre food do you really want? One big plus - the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos O'briens also viewed

 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing