We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch Italian”

Uncle Sal's Italian Ristoranti
Ranked #96 of 1,243 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edmonton
Level Contributor
99 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Top Notch Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Actually just stumbled across this restaurant by accident and thought we would try it for dinner. The menu was fairly extensive and very reasonably priced. 2 ordered rack of lamb Marsala, 1 cannelloni and 1 veal saltemboca (sp). The food was excellent, preceded by a generous house salad (or soup) and ample garlic toast. There servings were pretty large, before we entered we did notice several patrons leaving with "doggie bags" so go hungry. The service was excellent, very friendly waiter yet not overbearing, attentive bus boys. It is kind of an out of the way place, but it was jam packed tonight, I would recommend reservations on holiday's or weekends, but can't speak to the rest of the nights. It has a large outdoor patio (too cold for use tonight).

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian50Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    65
    22
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
92020
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Good Italian Restaurant with the Very Best Burgers in a Long Time - A+"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

My husband and I went to Uncle Sal's for burgers on January 11, 2010. We sat in the bar. Nice friendly atmosphere, three flat screen TVs big rectangular bar with tables lining the four walls. Friendly staff and friendly patrons. Both the host and bartender made you feel welcome and right at home. We both ordered diet sodas. Hubby ordered a burger, medium rare with cheddar cheese and a side of sweet potato fries. I ordered my burger medium rare with provolone and regular fries. Both burgers were hand-formed and came cooked to order, they each had: lettuce leaves, red onion slices, two slices of beefsteak tomato and a dill pickle. Ample portions of mayonnaise, catsup and mustard were served on the side. It's been a long time since we actually were able to have a burger cooked to order. Most places always overcook their burgers and then they're too dry. The owner of Overeasy (a breakfast place in Phoenix) told us about Uncle Sal's in Scottsdale, she said it was "the best place to get a really good hand-formed burger." Boy, was she right or what! The menu at Uncle Sal's was extensive, we can't wait to come back to the Phoenix area so we can come back again and try some of the many Italian cuisine choices too. Oh by the way, my husband really liked the decor, even in the men's room. There was a lot of sports memorabilia, etc.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToppingTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our favorite Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

We starting dining here about a year ago. Since then we return all the time. The food is GREAT! We are huge fans of their soups - really, they are amazing every time. Love the chicken dishes, and the pasta dishes are always great. The marina sauce is very good. Their bartenders certainly know what they're doing too. :) Could not recommend this place enough. For some reason though, I think people need to try it twice. I've had many friends not care too much for it the first time, then they try again and become die hards like us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“kind of a stinker”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

we've visited uncle sals 3 times. the last 2 times were just in case the first time was an off night. it wasn't. the food is cold and not cooked properly. the wait staff is less than sub-par. it's always busy here and for the life of me i couldn't tell you why. maybe it's just convenient for the neighborhood in which we live. i'd suggest pasta brioni if you're looking for a neighborhood style italian restaurant, which isn't far from this one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy_Shears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
1 review
“What a Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

If you don't mind waiting to eat while others arrive after you, eat and leave and you still are waiting for your dinner, then go there.

If you want to hear the managers defend their shortcoming go there.

If you want to leave after an hour and 10 mintues hungry go there.

I will never go there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fdielvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Sal's Italian Ristoranti also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Uncle Sal's Italian Ristoranti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing