We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for families”

Butterfly Wonderland
Ranked #8 of 162 things to do in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We went here with 6 adults and 2 kids (ages 5 and 2) and we all enjoyed out time there. The experience begins with a 3D film, which is educational and interesting. This is followed by the butterfly enclosure. The butterflies are diverse and beautiful. Personally, I would like to have had some information about the different species available, but it was still a neat experience. Following that, there is a room with honeybees, spiders, and an ant colony and then a small aquarium. The variety is nice and keeps the kids entertained.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mitchell20j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    301
    85
    19
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the size of this facility”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We would NOT recommend this place as it is very expensive and fairly small for the price. We do a lot of wildlife parks and nature areas and this one is definitely overpriced. There are not enough employees in the butterfly conservatory and there are way too many people. The butterflies are beautiful and the plant life is nice but fir the expense I would recommend an aquarium or Out Of Africa before this.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JenniferG117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Magical Experience at an Expensive Price”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

If it wasn't so expensive it would be amazing. It's a very informative and engaging interactive learning experience with movie, cocoons, and immersion in a wonderland of flight. Just not quite $50 worth for two parents and a kid. Great photo ops if you decide to go! Don't forget the camera and wear bright floral colors. A butterfly just might land on you if you're calm and slow in your exploration!

Helpful?
Thank enjoyingprocess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had not heard of this place from any friends, and it seems to be pretty new. Very standard butterfly room (albeit the largest in N. America), but very good 3-D movie on butterflies to open the display. Also, very cool rainforest mini-aquarium with stingray petting pool. Bee colony and ant colony were also good learning experiences. Great way to spend a half-day with the kids. Only downside was the price, which was a bit steep at $60 for a family of four with a 3 and 5 year old.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“An Expensive hour visit.”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The place is nicely done and the staff is very nice. The movie was 14 minutes and nicely done. Watching emerging butterflies is a bit like watching grass grow, a very slow process, but interesting. The atrium was very nice with many lovely butterflies. Why only a three? The entire visit, including the gift shop took an hour and 10 minutes. The cost was high for the amount of time spent in my opinion. I took two grandchildren and their rating was "it was ok".

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Wonderland also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Butterfly Wonderland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing