We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extensive menu for food and drink”
Review of SOL Mexican Cocina

SOL Mexican Cocina
Ranked #104 of 1,256 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Extensive menu for food and drink”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We went for Sunday lunch and were seated immediately. Extensive menu of both food and drink, we enjoyed both. They also have a Sunday brunch menu featuring eggs. Very convenient to the 101 Loop, with both self parking in a covered garage and valet parking.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jisabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    90
    38
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mexican Cocina”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very fast service, good food, reasonable prices. What more could you want? Traditional Mexican fare with fresh ingredients, and served hot to the table. Easy to get seated, with fast service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Worldagent2starz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food in a great location”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stopped in for a business dinner, the venue was selected by a local person. Location was great. They are super busy which usually means the food is good, and it was. The taco's were amazing, one of the party ate the really hot taco which was good and spicy, not overly hot. I had the not as hot taco (Cant remember the name) but it was great. The other taco that sticks in my mind had 3 different meats, very good. I would go back here again.
They had live music which made it difficult to have a conversation but the music was really good.
The waitress left a great impression, she took orders for 6 people by memory and got it perfect!
I will go back again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichealH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
143 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The restaurant is in within a fashionable mall. The environment is trendy and upscale. We had a very helpful and kind server as well, who illustrated the menu. I got Cevice Sol and some tacos, while my friend had goat cheese and the steak. The food was outstanding. Some of the best tacos I had in my life. The dishes were well prepared, correctly spiced, good looking and of the right size. A great way to balance Mexican "comfort" food with some more refined choices.
It is a little on the expensive side, but it is well worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kipa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
212 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good tacos, OK drinks”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stopped in for happy hour and appetizers before an appointment in Scottsdale. I had seen SOL advertised and was anxious to try.

The happy hour beverages weren't anything special if you aren't a tequila or beer drinker. I was very disappointed in the Sangria, which is unusual for me. And I felt it was overpriced for happy hour.

We ordered tacos as an appetizer. I thought the portabella/poblano one was delicious! My husband had a big meat taco and said it was good but not the best he'd ever had. The nachos and bean dip were good.

It was a very popular place and packed at 5:30 on a Wednesday. We ended up having to sit with others at the bar on the patio (in July) The misters weren't quite working well but I can see that later in the evening it could be a nice place to hang with friends.

I would give it another try, but not sure my husband would. He felt it was overpriced and disappointed with the sangrias.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jchuran83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SOL Mexican Cocina also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to SOL Mexican Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing