We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top upscale Mexican cuisine in AZ”
Review of SOL Mexican Cocina

SOL Mexican Cocina
Ranked #111 of 1,257 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
563 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Top upscale Mexican cuisine in AZ”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

First time visiting this restaurant in N. Scottsdale OFF scottsdale road. In shopping quarter. In a nice upscale setting and our food was top notch. Started with seasonal guacamole which changes weekly. This freshly made was with habinaros and blueberries and cheese with a brown sugar syrup mixed in so it was sweet and spicy ..very unique served with tostadas. We asked for fresh corn tortillas which we preferred since they were softer. Salsa and pure bean salsa dip was nice addition. Main course I had wild fish estcuste a fresh grouper extreamly good cooked perfect on a bed of roasted corn cut off the cobb with diced tomates and delicately seasoned . A perfect fish dish. I SHOULD knownfish growing up in BOSTON. Also to note the fish and the corn ragu was both served piping hot with toasted basil leaf. A large portion even for foodie.

Wife had half limone verdie chicken she said it was fantasic and fall off bone witj mexican dry rub flavor. Came with fresh and large salade with chunks of avacado with tomatoes and wild leaf greens. She could not finish. We also Enjoyed cucumber jalapeño margaritas. The sides were marvolus and so fresh cole slaw used with tortillas and fish very litr dressing but house made and quinoa tomato cranberry and pine nut cold side

This was best cold quinoa I ever had. Prices on the high side but for upscale mexican fare it was excellent. Better than some reseraunts on caba san lucas 5 star.

Deserves top 10 rank in Scottsdale. Top 3 for its category. No chain budget processed food here. FOODIES will love it.

Helpful?
1 Thank k123-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    90
    38
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Happy Hour!”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We got the guacamole and two orders each of the chicken and carnitas tacos. The food was great, the service was great, and we were seated immediately. The chips weren't the best. They were a little too thick and crunchy, but the salsa and bean dip were great. We would definitely go back and try out the dinner food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Brunch”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have just spent two weeks in Scottsdale and enjoyed the brunch so much we returned the following weekend. The menu is very comprehensive and contains some unusual items. We loved the chips and dips and the mimosas to accompany the brunch. The decor, ambiance and friendly staff all made for a fantastic experience. We shall definitely return on our next visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank candls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Trendy Mexican cuisine in an upscale space”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Sol has nice Baja-style Mexican food. While they dinner menu is very good, I enjoy coming here for brunch for Huevos Rancheros, ham and cheese quesadillas, etc. The ceviche is good, too.

Happy hour is great, here, if for no other reason than the type of people who come in. It's a nice, trendy atmosphere with plenty of good tequila and other libations.

For Mexican food, it's on the pricey side, but you're getting fresh, unique dishes in an upscale atmosphere, so it makes sense.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level Contributor
133 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to expectations”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I was so looking forward to dining at this restaurant after reading all the awesome reviews. We had reservations on a Friday night and I was surprised how many open tables there were. The hostess staff was very friendly, courteous and promptly seated us. The restaurant is beautiful so I'd give the atmosphere a definite thumbs up. Our waiter was nice and prompt too. I was a huge fan of the "chips" which were tostadas you break apart. The seasoning on them was fine for me but the rest of the family did not enjoy it. The salsas were fine but nothing to write home about. We ordered a variety of tacos and the pork carnitas. The tacos were good especially the shrimp, and filling. I would definitely skip ordering the rice and beans and just do the tacos alone. They are plenty filling and you won't miss the very average r&b. My only complaint with the tacos was the tortillas. One was fine, a second was a bit tough and the third dried out in places and tough so I just ate the filling. No excuse for serving a tortilla in that condition especially in a restaurant charging $6+ per taco. My DH said his pork carnitas were OK, not as good as Elote in Sedona but not bad, just a bit bland. DD ordered a kids quesadilla which was oozing with white cheese. I would have liked it but she doesn't like that much cheese. I cannot fault SOL for that though. Overall a decent dinner in a nice setting but I would not make the effort to go back. It just did not "wow" me like I expected or had hoped. If I could have given a "good" ratings I would have because there were definitely some pluses. So overall, food and service would be "good" because better than average but not quite "very good."

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akgirl51997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SOL Mexican Cocina also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to SOL Mexican Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing