We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak this side of Williamsburg, Brooklyn”
Review of Ben & Jack's Steakhouse - CLOSED

Ben & Jack's Steakhouse
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: East Indian School Road
Sedona, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best steak this side of Williamsburg, Brooklyn”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have been to many restaurants that were said to be "like Peter Luger's". Well, there is only one (actually two) Peter Luger's - Brooklyn & Great Neck. But these folks came the closest to a Peter Luger's steak experience that I have ever had. The Porterhouse for two was marvelous (Technically, PL's steak for 2 is a T-bone but why quibble). It was perfectly prepared and tender enough to cut with a spoon. The creamed spinach was out of this world. The "steak sauce" was authentic. The tomatoes and onions were just ok. One dark spot - my wife ordered a prime rib (Luger's only serves this at lunch) and it wasn't satisfactory. But they took it back graciously and made her a steak to her liking. So take your Lipitor, finish your stress test and then head over!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sedonadiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I had the pleasure of dining at this restaurant as part of a group. The food was wonderful- the calamari was fantastic and the steaks were cooked perfectly! The sides and desserts were yummy as well and served family style. The service was outstanding and the staff really catered to us! I would recommend this restaurant for a party.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellehcim472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorndale, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food, very pricey!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This restaurant had fantastic food, although the portions were HUGE, and very pricey. Service was excellent though.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimmieclarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not quite like Peter Luger but close enough”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Totally stumbled upon this place checking in late one afternoon. A friend and I were looking for a steakhouse and the hotel agent informed us that this one was right around the corner. As soon as she described it as similar to Peter Luger, that's all we had to hear.

So here's the deal: When you go to Peter Luger, there are certain things you should order (in fact, you're often scolded for veering away from the steak canon). And here, it's the same. You simply gotta stay simple. Order the porterhouse for two (between my buddy and me, we ordered a porterhouse for three) -- medium rare, of course -- and stay basic with beefsteak tomatoes and onions (with the house steak sauce poured over -- this sauce is best for vegetables and not the steaks themselves).

Service is great. We sat at the bar. It was a weeknight and wanted something less casual. The bartender suggested some great wines from their extensive list (of both bottles and glasses). When we identified ourselves as having dined at Peter Luger, the bartender knew exactly what to do. We had creamed spinach and some mashed potatoes to round out the meal. The steaks were just about perfect -- prime, dry-aged and with the type of char you only get from Peter Luger-style preparation. Don't be shocked that the porterhouse is cut when it comes out of the kitchen -- that's the Luger way.

We ended up eating the whole thing. We had numerous refills at the end. And even had a couple of complimentary glasses of red win to cap the night -- including, also, some shots of limoncello.

This was a tremendous dinner -- a pleasant surprise to enjoy a classic Peter Luger-style steak dinner in the middle of Scottsdale.

The rest of the menu is pricey (what decent steakhouse isn't?). But stick to the porterhouse and you will be very, very happy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis M, Guest Relations Manager at Ben & Jack's Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Bret F.,

Thank you for taking the time to review Ben & Jack's Steakhouse located in Old Town Scottsdale. We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience and look forward to dining with you again soon.

Best Regards,
Ben & Jack's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Service.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. The waitstaff was excellent. The food was Prime. The ambience was spot on. One in our party had dined at Peter Lugers in New York a week earlier and said this was much better. I am glad I read the reviews before hand. Three of us split the steak for 2 and still had plenty left over.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mskelleyTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis M, Guest Relations Manager at Ben & Jack's Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
mskelleyTulsa,

Thank you for taking the time to review Ben & Jack's Steakhouse located in Old Town Scottsdale. We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience and look forward to dining again with you soon.

Best Regards,
Ben & Jack's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben & Jack's Steakhouse also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing