We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly good New Orleans cuisine”
Review of Ocean Trail

Ocean Trail
Ranked #229 of 1,261 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Experience a taste of New Orleans in Scottsdale, just off the casino floor at Ocean Trail. The height of sophistication with its sleek, modern decor, Ocean Trail delights not only your taste buds with exceptional seafood, but your sense of style as well. This exclusive 19-seat Scottsdale seafood food bar is consistently given top reviews, and is the ultimate destination for New Orleans style dining in Scottsdale. Guests marvel at its fresh Creole offerings, a rarity among restaurants in the Phoenix area.Items on the delicious Ocean Trail menu include raw oysters, steamers, Cajun style boils, and of course delicious clam chowder. Each made to your taste on a spiciness level between 1 and 10, and freshly prepared in front of you at the restaurant's open cooking station. In addition to an amazing seafood menu, Ocean Trails offers specialty cocktails and great specials. Delicious lunch specials are available Monday through Friday as are happy hour specials Monday through Friday 4pm - 7pm.
Sedona, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Amazingly good New Orleans cuisine”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Be prepared to stand in line for up to an hour on certain nights to get a table. Get there by 5ish and you probably won't have to wait. Get there by 7 and take your chances. They don't take reservations and you can't put your name in to be called. You just stand in line. But, once you get a table it is worth the wait (am I really saying that?). Unless you are a very big eater most entrees are sharable. We had a crab appetizer that was plenty for two ($16). Then we shared the combo jambalaya with dirty rice ($19). It had shrimp, oysters, crab, okra and was excellent. We ordered a spice rating of 3 (out of 10) and it was plenty hot for us. So ask the waiter about this because it's a different level of hot! The service (sat at the bar) was excellent and the waiter very friendly. All seating is right by the casino so the guy that wrote about the booths and all that stuff wasn't at Ocean Trail. It's a very vibrant location and sitting at the bar was fun.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dps_Sedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    26
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great atmosphere and beautiful views. Décor is modern and tables are well spaced for privacy. The high back booths for two facing the glass are clever. Steak, cauliflower, brussel sprouts and peanut butter dessert were all above average. We were not a huge fan of the hotel but would eat in this restaurant again if in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joski69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint David, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cajun seafood”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had the Cajun shrimp appetizer which was great. They add heat to your specification. The waiter said 1-10 on heat. A 3 is a little tabasco and a 10 is really hot. We went for lucky number 7 and it was just right. Hot enough to get your attention but not so hot that you can't taste anything else.
For dinner we shared the Crawfish Etoffee with a heat index of 7. It was really tasty and came with dirty rice and homemade bread rolls both herb and plain with real butter.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Labrat85630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

very good would travel to hotel based solely on this place. Got the crawfish dish and was excellent just be careful when you pick spice level. Someone in my group wanted to try this place and we finally agreed the last day (don't like raw food which is how advertised to me) and wish we would have ate there every night. The prices weren't bad for seafood in the desert as well and service was the best I received any where in whole hotel or casino.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank girlfrommichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our friends turned us on to this restaurant. A step up from other Cajun restaurants. Since there are a limited number of seats around the bar and maybe 4 tables, it's first come first served.
We had the Cakebread, Crawfish/Crab Etouffe, a Crab pan roast and a full order of oysters with dirty rice and red beans. Washed that down with Bloody Mary with Shrimp and a glass of Pinot Noir.
Just watching the lady prepare our food made you salivate. All the food is steamed and when you get it, it's piping HOT. If you want HEAT tell the server your favorite number, from 1-10.
The food is oh so good you have to try it for your self.
The staff is excellent.
This restaurant is a MUSTfor everyone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimo17051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Trail also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Ocean Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing