We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Ocean Trail

Ocean Trail
Ranked #215 of 1,257 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Experience a taste of New Orleans in Scottsdale, just off the casino floor at Ocean Trail. The height of sophistication with its sleek, modern decor, Ocean Trail delights not only your taste buds with exceptional seafood, but your sense of style as well. This exclusive 19-seat Scottsdale seafood food bar is consistently given top reviews, and is the ultimate destination for New Orleans style dining in Scottsdale. Guests marvel at its fresh Creole offerings, a rarity among restaurants in the Phoenix area.Items on the delicious Ocean Trail menu include raw oysters, steamers, Cajun style boils, and of course delicious clam chowder. Each made to your taste on a spiciness level between 1 and 10, and freshly prepared in front of you at the restaurant's open cooking station. In addition to an amazing seafood menu, Ocean Trails offers specialty cocktails and great specials. Delicious lunch specials are available Monday through Friday as are happy hour specials Monday through Friday 4pm - 7pm.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Have tried most of their food and all of it is very good. A lot of it is creole which I think is wonderul. They ask what level of heat you want in your spice. Unless you want your head blown off, pick 5 which is still hot. Our favorites are the pan roast combo and the chilled seafood platter. Caesar salad is huge so you will want to share. Goes well with the steamed mussels or a shrimp/crab cocktail.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flag1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    26
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really great place!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Cajun seafood at its best. Just a little place in the back of the casino area with really great food. Nothing better than sitting there with a great "pan roast" combo, a glass of white wine and just people watching. Crazy stuff.

Anyway - you won't be disappointed. If you are brave - go for the oyster shooter!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“No Gambling Here”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is my favorite seafood place in the Phoenix area. I have been here about a dozen times and it never disappoints--especially the gumbo and seafood creole, which are fantastic. It's an odd little place, tucked away on the edge of a smokey casino (though not as smokey now than when I first started going there a couple of years ago). I have literally gone out of my way to get back there again and again. It has a few tables, but I prefer sitting at the bar and watching the dishes prepared right in front of me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbyBMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam USA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not a Restaurant!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a bar that serves food. Would have liked to have tried their food as the posted menu was intriguing but being located directly inside the very smoky casino I doubt if we could have expereinced the true taste of the food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MYSPIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
199 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Okay!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have eaten here 4 times. My husband likes it here. I did not enjoy myself as much because the smoke smell was bothering me. Caesar salad was fine. My husband likes the gumbo and the creole. I had the shrimp. Oysters were fine. Ocean hurricane drink was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diningprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Trail also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Ocean Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing