We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tasty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pita Jungle

Pita Jungle
Ranked #187 of 1,240 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pita Jungle “The Art of Eating Healthy”® is one of Arizona’s most original restaurants. The menu is based on offering a healthful and natural cuisine abounding with vegetarian and vegan options, crafted within the principles of the Mediterranean diet, and using only the freshest ingredients. The menu includes salads, seafood, seasonal specials, pitas, pizzas, healthy burgers as well as a healthy kids menu. Pita Jungle is also a healthy option for your Catering events. Open daily for lunch, dinner, Happy Hour and Reverse Happy hour.
Level Contributor
161 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had the three different type of hummus and all of them were great, we all had different dishes and everybody was happy with their meals. The only thing I have to say is that if you are watching your weight….. this is not the place to go,it may sound healthy but the amount of calories that their dishes have are scary. However, I would go back…. once every blue moon is ok :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oswelia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    43
    14
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
453 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stopped in with a friend for a evening snack. Ended up with much more.
She wanted pizza and while they told us it would be large enough for two, I decided I might not like her choices, so I ordered a portabella burger.

This gave us an opportunity to experience a bit more off the menu. Even at 8PM, the place was crowded. It's close to a large movie theater complex so that could have helped. But they stand alone on their quality and don't need the theater crowd to fill the place up.

My friend ordered the chipotle chicken pizza, which is served on lavosh with feta cheese. It could have fed two, and she took some home. Lavosh looks exactly like a large flat saltine cracker, but it turns out to be the perfect pizza crust as it is bland by itself, yet stays crispy and is flat enough to build the pizza on. The result is that one tastes the pizza toppings not the bread. This is a delightful change from cheese filled crusts and mediocre flavorless toppings.
She enjoyed her pizza very much. The chicken was crispy and served in large enough chunks so it was evident that it was there. The chipotle, tomatoes, spinach, and feta complimented it nicely.
I had the aforementioned portabella burger. It's called a burger, but there is no meat in it. Instead it's served on a wheat bun and consists of a large slice of red pepper, sliced from the side of the pepper so it's whole, and then a large thick slice of portabella mushroom, topped with the cheese of your choice. Its served with diced fried potatoes. Since I am allergic to wheat, they served mine with a warm soft flour tortilla on the side. Real food...
This would have been more than enough food for dinner, but since we had already eaten, it was a generous and tasty snack.
The Wait person, Steven, was friendly and attentive to our requests. He took time to explain things that she had questions about.
The restaurant is clean and decorated pleasantly, like a Mediterranean hideaway. There is a large outdoor sidewalk dining area, but on this chilly night it was empty. People preferred to be inside near the fireplace.
The restrooms were also clean and stocked. In this flu season, it is important to note this.
Parking is free, close up, and generous. Do watch out for plaza construction going in the parking lot and on the sidewalk area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Violette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best middle eastern food ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We found this place back in '06 when we still lived there and I must tell you. The hummus and chicken dish is the bomb. We were just there two weeks ago and it didn't disappoint.

A must go to spot when in Scottsdale!

Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Friendly good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stumbled onto Pita Jungle in Scottsdale and decided to check it out. We should not rate the experience on one lunch, but that's all we have to go on. The service personnel were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure that we were well-served.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Far Away Places with Strange Sounding Names......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This restaurant has it all - Name your destination - Mediterranean, Middle East, Greek, Lebanese, vegan and vegetarian and even "Philly Steak"done Pita style....who would have known? Very casual and loud indoors and always crowded, which is the sign of really good food. Outside patio, though no view, is pleasant and the food makes up for lack of ambiance. Servers are friendly and attentive, even if they are rushed. I need to get my "Pita On" at least twice or three times a month for lunch or dinner. Kids welcome. One of the few places I don't mind waiting a short time for a table. Glad to see another opening soon in my neighborhood - hurry!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGal977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pita Jungle also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Pita Jungle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing