We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brought me back two times in two days”
Review of HIRO Sushi

HIRO Sushi
Ranked #101 of 1,256 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $9
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Scottsdale
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brought me back two times in two days”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is an amazing sushi restaurant. I dont want to say "in Arizona" because it immediately implies the snobbery that exists on either coast. The fish here is great. Period. Have I eaten at every great sushi location on both coasts? No. Do you need to after finding a place like this? Definitely not. The staff is japanese homegrown, and the way they operate in all facets only makes you want to come back. Just make sure to sit at the sushi bar, as their rare items are listed on the board and you'll definitely want to get some (blue fin tuna anyone?) Just go - you'll never go back to RA or stingray ever again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tengl41824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    40
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
114 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Always on there best game!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Hiro Sushi is delicious and most importantly it is consistent. The sushi is first rate but my favorite dish is the "Okinawa Soba." Masa is the family's favorite Sushi Chef who wields a mighty knife but with a personality that is truly joyful!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffbo1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
1 review
“Roy”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I lived in Japan for 8 years and Hiro Sushi is as close to Japan that I found. The fish is fresh and great tasting. They have a wide selection of items to choose from. There is a number of items which are not on the menu but you can get if you ask the secret is knowing what to ask for. You should try Hiro Sushi because you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy85138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I heard that Hiro Sushi was very good. It is a small, unassuming, store front. However, it is very nice inside. The staff is very attentive, friendly and professional. The sushi is excellent! I'm a bit of a sushi snob, but Hiro is not only high quality, but an excellent value.

I hesitate to mention for fear it gets too busy and they raise their prices.

As I was writing this I glanced at a review from someone from NJ. Their title is "Good But Not Great". While I whole heartedly agree the Miso soup is "top notch", but I ordered the Spider Roll. It is excellent. By the way, a Spider Roll is made with tempura soft shell crab, NOT squid.

It is excellent. Not to miss.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good But Not Great”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our second time here. The first in January, latest in June. Sashimi is fresh and tasty but serving was much less than the usual served back East (we're recent transplants from NJ). That said the spider roll was excellent but fried squid tentacles were enjoyable but a bit overdone. Miso soup is top notch. We had salmon cheeks as a special in January which was outstanding but nothing came close to it this go-round. Worth a visit but we'll keep searching for something better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HIRO Sushi also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to HIRO Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing