We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good But Not Great”
Review of HIRO Sushi

HIRO Sushi
Ranked #89 of 1,250 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $9
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Scottsdale
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good But Not Great”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our second time here. The first in January, latest in June. Sashimi is fresh and tasty but serving was much less than the usual served back East (we're recent transplants from NJ). That said the spider roll was excellent but fried squid tentacles were enjoyable but a bit overdone. Miso soup is top notch. We had salmon cheeks as a special in January which was outstanding but nothing came close to it this go-round. Worth a visit but we'll keep searching for something better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    40
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Highest quality food and service”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

For my birthday my wife took me here for omakase at the sushi bar. We were advised by a knowledgeable friend to get seating on the far left of the bar,where the most senior chef works, but it was unavailable. We were with the third chef from the left, and he was superb. Much of the fish is flown in from Japan, and absolutely as good as you can find anywhere, coastal city or otherwise. Spent a lot of money on sushi in New York over the years, and never found a meal as good as this one.

The best thing about omakase is the non-menu items that come with it, the complex, highly imaginative pieces of sushi that you would never know to ask for. Many wonderful, unique surprises. The deep fried butterfish was a special treat. The frying renders even the skeleton edible, and delicious.

It is pricy, no way to sugarcoat it. But if you're someone who doesn't mind paying top dollar for a memorable experience, you can count on Hiro. We were thrilled with our meal, and can now say for certain that greater Phoenix has world class sushi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ptrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Sushi!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

First time in Arizona and looking for a good sushi place. Had tried a place earlier with bad luck but HIRO sushi was amazing. Decent size rolls and wonderful, attentive staff. Looking forward to coming back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Eh”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

maybe i got the wrong stuff, because the reviews are great. but none of my 3 rolls was any good really

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank osubuckeye415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bets sushi place”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I travel a lot and are obsessed with Japanese food. Having been in many places the world over Hiro is one of my favorite all time restaurants (cannot think of many places that come close). We go there at least once a week and always are satisfied. The quality of the fish is outstanding. If you idea of sushi is the best quality so you can have top notch nigiri or sashimi this is the place. Order the fried pompano and many other delicacies. Many places can do rolls and stuff them with eel sauce. Hiro is the real deal. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. While it is not cheap its value is just perfect.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HIRO Sushi also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to HIRO Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing